58 thoughts on “mixed messages

  1. Maybe you are supposed to unload your gun on that sign before you start hiking… Just get it out of your system and stuff.

    • We didn’t, Ingrid. I actually turned back as soon as I saw that sign. 🙂 Kidding, but not really. We decided we’d have more fun (and be safer from random gunfire) by just heading to the river and watching the Spring Breakers. 🙂

  2. Great shot, Nancy. 🙂 I made John stop the car a few months ago so I could snap a picture of a sign that said “Public Hunting”. I can only hope they didn’t mean fair game on the public. 🙂

  3. Hey Nance – I don’t know how close that is to the border, but a couple of years ago I was in Tucson, and it can get pretty scary down there! The checkpoints were a trip to drive through with all the dogs, and there was a government warning to not drive on route 8 especially at night. Definitely some shooting going on down there, and that sign is hilarious!

  4. Obviously the sign was shot on this side of the line and it does not say do not to shoot the sign. Would shooting the sign be considered expression of the First Amendment in the Bill of Rights?

  5. Crazy is right…I say with a smile. My sister-in-law iived in AZ and although only one state away, I always felt like coming in as a Californian made me suspect of something. LOL! I never relaxed–I thought it was the guns, but maybe it was just the heat! A great sign….I think it says it all. 🙂

Talk to me