coming up for air

Hi.

*waves sheepishly*

I’m still alive.

I know I’ve been very, very quiet lately. Life has thrown a lot of stuff at me. Mostly work stuff. But hey, that’s why it’s called work. Otherwise it would be called vacation. And no one would pay you to do it.

There was travel. Lots of travel.

There wasΒ a massive head cold. And a flight during the height of said head cold.

There were exploding sinuses and ear drums courtesy of said flight.

Which happened to be on my birthday.

Happy birthday to me.

73cbcc5dbfe9595476a2150211f7646dde2d3172d18dde43ef8954d91218d190But there is hope in sight.

This evening I head to Vancouver, for my last business trip before vacation. Nothing like cutting it close. Vancouver Sunday night through Thursday night. Off to vacation destination at 7:00 am Sunday morning.

If you can call Fat Camp v 2.0 a vacation, that is.

Yep, you read that right. I’ve held this secret about as long as I can.

After multiple false starts, including:

  • Booked for the week of May 10th. >> Cancelled mid April due to my killer gallbladder.
  • Rebooked for the week of Oct 11th. >> Realized that would mean being away for both Canadian Thanksgiving and my birthday. Cancelled early October.
  • Rebooked for the week of Oct 18th. >> Russian Princess throws her back out and is advised no heavy exertion for 3 weeks. Cancelled mid October.
  • Rebooked for the week of Nov 1st.

On Sunday November 1st, come hell or high water, we will arrive at Movara Fitness Resort. We are now in it for way too much money: cancelled flights, change fees, and an ever weakening Canadian dollar being used to pay for a US dollar adventure.

Ready or not, here we come.

ButΒ we’re so not ready.

Between her damaged disk and my stupid travel schedule and illness, we will be arriving at fitness camp more unfit than ever.

What better time to get a reboot.

Or die.

Nope. It’ll be a reboot.

all-the-thingsAnd we will be warriors.

Keep moving,

xoxo nancy

96 thoughts on “coming up for air

  1. Happy belated birthday Nancy! It’s chilly here in Van but sunny so still decent hiking weather if you decide to take on the grind before your boot camp vacation πŸ™‚

  2. Good luck, Nancy and happy belated birthday! Enjoy your week in Vancouver, it might be a little damp but it’s been a beautiful fall in the PNW. πŸ™‚ Oh, and I vote for Vlogs too. πŸ™‚

  3. Be strong Nancy! Something tells me this vaca will be exactly what your mind and body needs to get back on schedule. You work like a demon (IMHO) so you so deserve a place to get back into entrainment! However, just know that we expect to hear back from you soon about your glorious time! Happy Belated BD and bon voyage! ~Kathy

  4. ^^ Everything Kathy said! I’m going to look up that place – lord knows I need fat camp. Sorry you’ve had health issues and crazy travel – UGH. You are a trooper warrior in every sense of the word! Have a great last trip and an amazing time at the resort. Can’t wait to hear about it! xoxo

  5. Oh wow good luck with that. It’s gonna buuuuurn but hopefully in that good way. I have a freaking head cold right now and it is awful so I feel your pain. Can’t believe you had to fly with it. Hideous. You poor thing. Have fun on ‘vacation’ xx

  6. you know I think this is going to be awesome!!

    I am looking into UK equivalents to give myself another kick…although i have so much DOMS right now I don’t want it to be a hard kick!!

    You will be totally awesome on this camp!! you will be better than you think…the rest of us know it!!
    I am looking forward to updates…lots of updates I want to live vicariously though you exercisey “fun”

  7. Happy Birthday!
    I have a feeling this “camp” is going to provide you with lots of blog post material. It’s not the kind of camp where they administer kale juice enemas, I hope?

  8. Happy Birthday Nance!!! So good to see you resurface! Can’t wait to hear all about the camp – keep us posted… I know you will have stories that will make my life worth living! xoxo

  9. That’s exciting! I hope you have an amazing time and learn all sorts of nuggets of wisdom to share with us all! Glad you’re back on here – I’ve been gone for a long while myself. Enjoy!

  10. Uh welcome back, I suppose and bye again. Maybe, I should go to a fitness camp myself. God knows, my otherwise boyish good looks are marred by a decidedly un-svelte figure. Un-svelte? Hmm, make that pythonesque, a python who’s just swallowed a buffalo whole. πŸ™‚

    Not fun to be sick and flying around in those mouldy airplanes. I can vouch for that!

    Good luck!

  11. So THAT’S where you’re going on vacation!!! You are even more kickass than I thought you were (and that was super kickass). I thought for sure you would be home doing some renovations and enjoying being in your ‘new’ place. But no, you book a bootcamp! Unbelievable, seΓ±orita! You rock! Can’t wait to hear all about it.

  12. I’ve been following your crazy travel schedule. I know how hard it is to find time to workout on the go. My chiropractor bitched at me late last week because of crazy schedule/lack of exercise. I’m now on a similar “I may die exercising” regime. You and the RP will help each other through the vacation, and you’ll be rebooted at the end. Vlog and curse as much as necessary. We’ll love it!

    • Well, I know YOU will survive my potty mouth because you had to listen to my indiscriminate f-bombs in person for 2.5 days. I’ve broken you in. The others though… oooooh eeeeee They are in for a rude awakening. πŸ™‚

  13. Hooorrray for the reboot! You so deserve that “refreshment” offering. Have fun…and then tell at least a few of the stories. Those that are fit for print πŸ˜€

  14. You’ll rock!! I’m just awed you are getting back to it on the fitness front. I’m in full on lazy bones mode. 😦 And its that vicious cycle where don’t work out, then keep getting sick so don’t work out, etc. Had a nasty Delhi belly (except mine was the Mumbai-Kolkata version!) so even cancelled a bday party. So I completely connect with your grumpy cat pic! πŸ˜‰

  15. Pingback: let the games begin | my year of sweat

Talk to me

