my new obsession

Rain drops on roses and whiskers on kittens,

Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens…

Settle down, Oprah, I know the whole “Favorite Things” thing is your gig. Some things are just too good not to share though.

Preface/Disclaimer: I’m trying really hard to tame the avid consumer inside of me, but every now and again I find a product or company that is so worthy of my love (and money) that I have to whip out the ole credit card and snap some of their shit up.

Indigo Wild is one of those companies.

Run by a bunch of dog-loving, cancer-hating hippies, Indigo Wild creates beautiful and natural products for your body and home. In their own words…

Our people were born to be Indigo Wild. And — guilty as charged — every one of us is a true nature’s child. We’ve banded together to thump and bump the rock and soul into every batch of Zum Bars, Glows, Rubs, Kisses and more. Individually, our peeps are virtuosos who are oh-so major to helping our ingredients sing. But together, We’re fusicians who ensure the holistic is always greater than the Zum of its parts.

We make our stuff rock, balancing the rhythm that forms the backbone: Goat’s milk, soy wax, jojoba oil, shea butter, argan oil, dragon’s blood. We add stuff like meadowfoam seed oil, rosehip oil and botanical extracts for bass vibes you can feel. Then we bring out the 100% pure essential oils to lay down a melody that hits the high notes.

I was on the hunt for a good, natural, muscle rub after my recent return to strength training, and a few dates with my new 20 lb kettle bell. My friend, Sam, had spoiled me during my visit to London with a hot ginger muscle rub which was absolutely fantastic, but is sadly no longer being sold because the parent company has gone tits up.

The Interwebs served up some Indigo Wild, and I danced with glee when I found Zum Rub for Muscles.

21640-zum-rub-muscle_1

credit: IndigoWild.com

It’s an all-natural mix of menthol, shea butter and organic extracts that soothes sore muscles. Best of all, you can pronounce all the ingredients. #Winning.

Since I was already there, credit card in hand, why not pick up a couple of other items?, I asked myself.

Why not, indeed.

2015-06-15 13

credit: myyearofsweat

I bought Zum Face, an awesome serum based in argan oil. This tiny package packs a lot of punch, toning, softening and promoting cellular rejuvenation. Best of all? You guessed it: I can pronounce all the ingredients.

I also bought a special two-pack of their Zum Bar goat’s milk soap. One is Frankincense & Myrrh, which – I kid you not – I previously believed to be fairy-tale stuff from the Bible. Turns out they are real. And they smell divine. The second in the two-fer is Sea Salt, which I’m told will banish my dry skin through its mineral properties. Also, I can pronounce all the ingredients.

So far I’ve tried the Zum Face and the Zum Rub, and both exceeded my expectations. The Zum Bar real-world test (read: use it in the shower) is up next. So far though, just the scent it fills my bathroom with is enough to justify the purchase. If it makes my skin feel good, that’ll be gravy.

Keep moving,

xoxo nancy

p.s. As if it needs to be said, but I’ll say it anyway, I have no affiliation to Indigo Wild. They did not ask me to promote their products, nor did they provide me with any free products (although that would have been really nice). Why can’t a cool company like this make me a brand ambassador??? Waaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhh 😦

83 thoughts on “my new obsession

  1. ooooh oooh!!
    I will have to try the muscle rub!! the ginger stuff is running out fast and ebay wants to charge me a million pounds for the only ones left in existence!!!

    also yeay for kettlebells!!

    I was using one this morning…

    when I say one, I mean mostly pairs and all the weights 8kg, 12kg, 16kg and 20kg (17lbs, 26lbs, 35lbs and 44lbs)
    Matt had a kettlebell thing going on in PT!

  2. I’ve been using Zum Bars for years. They don’t last as long as other soaps, but they smell divine. I didn’t know they made the muscle rub. I shall be looking that up. 🙂

  3. Hi Nancy! They SHOULD pay you to be a product sponsor because you’ve convinced me to look into them….. And one thing I’ve learned is that a BIG BENEFIT of cutting back and anti-consumerism is that we get to spend our money on things that both support and nourish us (instead of stuff just to placate us) AND we can support companies in alignment with our goals. It sounds like ZUM is one of those. Thanks! ~Kathy

  4. Sounds great, Nancy! I need to find some new skincare options since I am running out and the stuff I have been using is expensive and doesn’t seem to have special benefits. I will be checking out Indigo Wild for sure! We should all tell them “Nancy sent us…” 🙂

      • I got my shipment in two days and I am loving the face care kit, serum, and free zum soaps!!! The first soap I tried was patchouli and spearmint and I am seriously in love with all of it!

        And better yet, Indigo Wild products are not only available at two grocery stores within 25 miles of us (when you live in the sticks, that’s close, lol), they are available at our natural products store right in Dahlonega!!! I am headed over there this morning to see which products they carry.

        Thanks so much for sharing your new obsession! Xoxo

      • Yay! I’m looking forward to heading to Vegas on Monday so I can order a whack of stuff without having to deal with duty/tax and excessive shipping fees (when crossing the border). Can’t wait!

    • I was skeptical of oil for the face, but I started using a chia seed oil /serum a few months ago and really liked the effects. This stuff by Indigo looks like it’s just filled with natural goodies. How could that I go wrong?

  5. The rub sounds really good! I’ll definitely be on the hunt for that. But, no thanks on the Julie Andrews ear worm. Just for doing that to me, let me leave you with another song with raindrops in it:

  6. I’ll write in and nominate you for an ambassadorship! I have a secret dream that Starbucks will hire me. John

  7. Oprah got serious competition here, Nancy! I think I need to go take a look. I like when I can pronounce (or being an implant, at least understand the meaning of) the ingredients 🙂

    • I like everything about these guys, Tiny, from the natural makeup of their products to the charities they support through a portion of their sales. Very cool group!

  8. First – I choked on the 20lb kettle bell. 20lbs!!! My little 5-pounder is feeling a bit inadequate right now.

    2nd – I’m thinking I might have to try this muscle rub … I predict some very sore muscles in my foreseeable future as I re-embrace the bike 😉 With your glowing endorsement, hopefully it will also become my miracle worker too 🙂

  9. Keep working on them to be a brand ambassador! Like you have time for that…lol When I order mine, I will tell them where I heard about it. Have to have the F & M soap! 🙂

  10. Do you like the face serum and are you only using it at night? My mom had a small organic body line going for about five years, so I had all of the soap and lotion and salve I could use… But it never developed beyond trade shows, so they closed it and my supply is dwindling! I’ve used essential oils since I was a teenager, so this speaks to me, I’m glad you shared!

  11. When I saw the packaging I knew it looked familiar! I looked it up and the products are carried at my Whole Foods. I’ve obviously noticed the unique colors and packaging before. How appealing! I’d love to try some of these products. See? They really should think of hiring you to be an ambassador–at least a basket of samples! 🙂

    • Now that you say it, Debra, I think I recall seeing Zum Bars at Wholefoods. Now I have to be on the lookout to see what other products in the Indigo/Zum line they carry!

  12. Those sound great, Nancy. I wish there were more companies producing stuff like this with pronounceable ingredients and wonderful natural smells. I make a lot of my own skincare stuff but sometimes it’s nice to have the work done for you. Do you have Olbas Oil over there? It’s a mix of lots of different minty oils and it’s fab on sore muscles. You can use it straight from the bottle (it comes in a bottle with a dripper like essential oil) or mix it with coconut oil or any moisturizer. You can also put it in the bath – wonderful after a long hike. It’s very flexible and quite inexpensive. (And I don’t even work for them!)

    • I’ve never seen Olbas Oil, but – thanks to you – I’ll now spend the next 30 minutes of my life doing much research on Google. 🙂

      It’s funny, years ago it would never cross my mind to look at a label for anything other than food items. Now I’m obsessed with investigating anything I put on or in my body. so hard to find anything that’s not polluted with chemicals.

      Thanks for the tip on the Olbas!

  13. “…the parent company has gone tits up.” Ha,ha! You have a way with words, my friend! YO. QUIERO. TODO. I want it all! I am heading over to the site to burn a hole through my credit card. You should get something for the referrals. Contact them! 🙂

  14. With that kinda plug, you gotta be dubbed an honorary ambassador(ess!)

    Methinks this is something to see if can spot on travels to London, Canada-land… suspect won’t be so readily accessible in Mumbai. 🙂

  15. Dragon’s blood and meadow foam … god, I love these people. I’ve been buying their products at my local heath nut store for years. I’m pretty sure every drawer in my house has one of their bars of soap in them, but you showed me two products I’ve not seen on the shelves yet. BONUS!
    I’m so heading into town tomorrow to ask my shop to stock up on a few new tidbits for my basket. The rub? Oh, that looks divine.
    Dragon’s blood. *snort*

Talk to me

