just like home, minus the cold

Who says you need to be in the Great White North to go tobogganing?

I found a snowy hill right here on Fremont Street.

20141126_191528

In fact, this guy found out just how much speed you can pick up on the right sled.Β 
20141126_191612
Don’t worry, the bails of hay provided some cushion for his crash.

I know what you’re thinking: …Nancy, there’s no way it’s cold enough for an ice rink for skating.

20141126_191621Well, maybe so, but it seems some strange plastic surface will workΒ just fine in a pinch.

The best part of sledding and skating in Vegas? When you’re all done you can grab some popcorn and settle in on these comfy couches to watch a free outdoor movie. No blankets necessary. It’s a lovely night.

20141126_191844

Or, if you’re like me and not into cold-weather activities like sledding or skating, you can still feel the holiday spirit while you’re out hiking.

20141126_151713

Keep moving! (6 hikes in 7 days and counting! #winning)

xoxo nancy

78 thoughts on “just like home, minus the cold

      • Vegas is always in a state of transformation. We were never at a loss of things to see or do. I’ve already been talking to hubby about staying in the desert southwest next winter….. Vegas being a bit longer of a stop than our recent Lake Mead excursion.

      • True on the constant state of development, but the seedy downtown area was the one exception – until Tony H put the money and ideas behind this project. I’ve seen so many positive changes in the past 2 years, in particular helping bring local artists to a bigger/safer stage. I’m a big fan.

  1. How fun! I could zoom down that hill on a toboggan!

    Glad you’re getting your hikes in, NT. We didn’t fit a walk in today with the driving, cooking, eating, cleaning up . . . but we’ll double up tomorrow.

  2. Last weekend we got to do some tobogganing on real snow for the first time this year, fun! But skating on plastic sounds interesting… an you circle etc quite as easy as on ice? How fun to watch an outdoor movie after “winter” activities!

    • There were 3 people out there, on real ice skates, and they seemed to be doing okay. I understand it can be a bit trickier to navigate on the plastic stuff though. They’ve got a few of these fake ice rinks around the city, but I’m hearing rumor that they’re planning to put an actual ice rink at the new mall they opened near my condo. I am not sure how they’ll manage to keep it frozen. Should be interesting to see. πŸ™‚

  3. Looks like a blast! Leave it to Vegas to improvise on ice. How was it skating on the plastic “Ice”. I have to think that doing winter sports without freezing your toes off has to be a bonus!

  4. I love how Vegas gets into the spirit, that is awesome! Those couches look inflatable. And I love the decorated tree on your hike. So do you have a long cookie line up for this season? I remember last year’s mishap πŸ˜‰

    • The couches appeared to be upholstered in pleather. You know, to protect against all that rain Vegas gets. πŸ™‚

      Haven’t even started thinking about Mass baking yet. I’m sure there’ll be at least a few varieties on this year’s menu. πŸ™‚ Not likely that any will be raw though. πŸ˜›

  5. I adore the cold. Not just nippy, but lip numbing, mind-blowing cold. The kind of cold where when you breathe in it actually hurts your nose and lungs a little. Growing up in Wisconsin, this was how we defined winter. It was bracing and brutal, but the contrast of stepping into somebody’s toasty warm home made you deeply appreciate them and the contrast of temperatures. It just made me feel alive (and occasionally nearly dead, but mostly the alive bit). You really have every excuse in the world to build up some winter pudge. Boy, do I miss that.
    Great job on the hikes, Nancy!

  6. Love that last picture, Nancy. Kind of Charlie Brown-ish. Also the one of the guy wiping out. Looks like he’s about .5 seconds from smacking the back of his head. Peace, John

  7. My kind of winter, Nancy! Sign me up. Who needs the real stuff anyway? You are back home by now (as I am behind on my reading), how is the real stuff treating you? I have spent the past two days in my bed where life is cozy and warm and relatively pain-free. That’s what I call winter!

    Miss you and I hope you have a wonderful weekend! xo

    • Back home and happy that there is no snow. It was mild the first few days back, but now we’ve hit a cold snap. I. Hate. The. Cold. So. Much. 😦

      Stay warm and pain-free my friend. xoxo

Talk to me

