when chickpeas and chocolate chips collide

I’m usually pretty skeptical when it comes to things like flourless cakes, guilt-free ice cream or sugarless candy, so when I came across this recipe, I dismissed it. Well, that’s putting it mildly. I scoffed at it, declared a resounding, ew, and then I dismissed it.

Several days later, I asked myself, what the heck, why not try? What have I got to lose? The recipe is very straight forward, the list of ingredients minimal, so even if it turned out to be a colossal failure, no big whoop.

So I did. And without further ado, I give you…

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Bites

These bad boys are worth a whirl because they contain: NO FLOUR, NO OIL, & NO WHITE SUGAR
Yep, you read that right, friends.

Here is what you’ll need: 

  • 1 1/4 cups canned chickpeas, well-rinsed and patted dry with paper towel
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons (165 grams) of natural peanut butter (Not the stuff you like to use in your sandwiches; the one that looks all nasty and oily, the one with no added salt or sugar.)
  • 1/4 cup (80 grams) honey or agave (I’m an agave girl)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup (90 grams) semi sweet chocolate chips

Here’s what you do with all that stuff:

1. Preheat oven to 350°F / 175°C.

2. Put all ingredients, except the chocolate chips, in a food processor and process until very smooth.

3. Once all ingredients are well combined, add in the chocolate chips. Pulse once or twice, or just manually fold them in with a mixing spoon. The mixture will be very thick and sticky. And not very pretty.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4. Now comes the fun part. With moist hands, form the mixture into 1 1/2″ balls. Place the balls onto a parchment paper lined baking tray. For a flatter, traditional-shaped cookie, press down slightly on the balls. (Well, always take care when handling balls. This goes without saying.)

5. The cookies don’t do much (if any) rising in the baking process, so the size you see raw is pretty much the size you’ll get baked. Shape them accordingly.

6. Place on middle oven rack and bake for about 10 minutes.

7. Cool on a wire rack.

8. Eat them.   

finished

They may not be pretty, but they’re pretty darned easy to make. 

Now, some important things to note:

  • Apparently this recipe should have yielded fourteen 1 1/2″ cookies. I wound up with thirty six. 36!  So um…clearly my one and a half inches is not equal to the rest of the world’s one and a half inches.  
  • This recipe came with the dire warning: ***Don’t even TRY this with regular peanut butter! They’ll come out oily. You MUST use natural peanut butter.***  I can’t vouch for the validity of this threat, but it scared me sufficiently that I went out and bought natural peanut butter. (Plus, it IS a lot healthier than Skippy.)

Yes, but Nancy how do they TASTE?

Well, let’s put it this way, the flavor was actually very good, surpassing my expectations. The texture is more moist/chewy than I’m a fan of, so if I were to make these again, I’d probably make them flatter/thinner to try to crisp them up.

Overall, I think that considering this recipe delivers a decent tasting chocolate chip cookie sans the flour and sugar, it’s a winner.

Give it a try! If you’re a rebel and you use the ‘bad’ peanut butter, let me know how it worked out for you.

Keep moving,

xoxo nancy

82 thoughts on “when chickpeas and chocolate chips collide

    • I know…it’s a mental thing. I get it.
      I have to say though, there is no ‘chick pea’ flavor in the cookie at all. it’s just the moist-and-chewy texture that put me off. I always favour dry/crisp cookies to the moist/chewy ones.

  1. Hi Nancy! I’m afraid someone would have to do a sneak tasting of these to get me to try them first. Just the sound of chickpeas and chocolate chips takes away my hunger! Although I do like the moist chewy texture myself. Hm….I’m safe for now because there is nary a chickpea in the house! ~Kathy

  2. Gah! I’m already altering them in my baking fantasy… adding dried cranberry, for instance.

    I will print this out. Will I actually follow through and buy the chocolate chips? Good question, because that means any left over chocolate chips will be SCREAMING at me from the pantry.

    Unless… I could make a double batch… hmmmm.

  3. This recipe sounds very familiar. I think Trevor, Kevin and I made them one day trying out new cookie ideas for Kevin (the glutin and lactose intolerant “son”). They were ok but I wasn’t overwhelmed by them. To me it was more cookie dough and cookie.
    It got us investigating ‘gourmet’ peanut butters like Monkey Butter. If you’re not familiar with it, check them out at http://monkeybutterpb.com/

  4. Weird at first glance… but chickpeas are the future! Keys right into the protein and gluten-free trends. I might have to write something about that. (For work, not the blog). Ta for the inspiration 🙂

  5. That is the most bizarre recipe. Have you ever tried a peanut butter and bacon sandwich? It is surprisingly delicious (and you can use Skippy).

      • Will do!

        I have everything but vanilla extract . . . maybe I’ll substitute 2 tsp. of rum! Also, I think I’ll use peanuts (or other whole nuts) instead of peanut butter. Natural peanut butter = peanuts.

      • Tried ’em! And liked ’em :mrgreen:!

        I used the whole can of chickpeas (1 1/2 c.), rinsed and drained, but not patted dry. I used 2 tsp. of rum since I don’t have vanilla on hand. I used 3/4 c. of roasted salted peanuts (so I wouldn’t have to measure out sticky peanut butter), 1/4 c. honey, 1 tsp baking powder, and 1/2 c. chocolate chips.

        I processed the peanuts and chickpeas first until almost smooth, then added the rum, honey, baking powder and pulsed until it came into a ball. Tossed it into a bowl, folded in the chocolate, and used an ice cream scoop to make the cookies.

        I pressed the tops down with a fork before baking for 10 minutes. Pressed them down again and baked for 2 minutes more.

        Thanks!

      • It’s been a whirlwind weekend. Hubby’s bday was last week so we waited to celebrate until my son + GF arrived for the holiday weekend. It’s been nonstop eating and socializing since then, with more bday cake today at my mom and dad’s Turkey dinner. 🙂

    • Me too, Kate. It’s nice to get first hand proof that healthier (if unconventional) options do exist. I won’t do “Lite” or “Diet” stuff because they’re usually loaded with known carcinogens and other nasty stuff. Who knew the mighty chick pea could be so versatile? 🙂

  6. when I read the title of this blog, my initial reactio was…I am not sure chickpeas and chocolate chips should collide…

    and, although you sell them well…the ridiculously fussy eater in me remains unconvinced…

    however, I may be more likely to try them if there wasn’t peanut butter in them…do you think that I could substitute it with anything that doesn’t make me gag?

    • Ha! Doubtful you could substitute the peanut butter. Well, perhaps natural almond butter or cashew butter, but I’m guessing any of those would be a problem for you. Probably best to skip this one, Sam. 🙂

      • I have heard that you can substitute almond butter, and I might try it…

        I have just got this thing about peanut butter, even the smell makes me gag…

        I should probably smell almond butter and see it it has the same affect…
        mind you, I am not sure I can randomly open almond butter in the supermarket and smell it just to find out…
        😉

        I might just bite the bullet and buy some…

      • I am not sure…

        It might have been a texture thing originally that my brain then associated the smell with…

        to be honest I was 9 when I tried peanut butter and was sick, so it rapidly developed bad associations… now the smell makes me gag, but I am not really sure why and I never saw the need to find out…
        I will keep you posted…if I decide to try it…or I might just live in my own little nut butter free world 😉

      • Oh dear, Sam… you honestly make me simultaneously laugh and shake my head.

        My daughter had a stomach thing one time when she was little (probably 7 or 8) and we at Chinese food BEFORE we knew she had the stomach thing. She threw up pretty vigorously and refused to eat Fried Rice again for years and years. But eventually she realized that the Fried Rice wasn’t the culprit… 🙂 By the way, she is now 25, but has been eating fried rice for at least 7-8 years now. So there may be hope for you and peanut butter. maybe. 🙂

      • hmmm…maybe…

        to be honest, It is one of my more sensible reasons for not liking stuff…

        at the age of 5 I decided I didn’t like anything that my mum didn’t like (expect sweetcorn) which was quite limiting as my mum was very fussy… and then after that I automatically thought I didn’t like something if I hadn’t tried it…

        I am not like that any more, but I sometimes have to remind myself that I should try things…

        (no no, no craziness here…none at all!)

      • My sister-in-law is the same way. It used to frustrate the hell out of me, but then I realized it really doesn’t impact my life at all. If she doesn’t eat what I prepare, then I guess she goes hungry. 🙂

      • I am not like that now, I had to make a real effort while I was a teenager (and after) to try new things because I know it isn’t sensible!

        I am not so bad now, I just have some wierd left over food quirks which I can generally get round.

        the one that seems to have most impact on other people is not having butter on sandwiches, apparently this is quite difficult!

        It is only really my parents in law that find it hard, they have got it in their heads that I am the most fussy person ever, despite my eating everything they have ever cooked for me with the exception of puddings :-/

      • Tell them to piss off.
        I don’t like animal innards. If someone prepared chicken hearts or cow’s tongue, I’d abstain. If they had a problem with it, I’d tell them where to go. 🙂

      • haha! I am with you on that!!

        I had that very conversation with someone who made haggis for burns night…

        I was happy for other people to eat it, but I really did not want to have any myself…

  7. The protein and food value in these would make them a sure thing for me! Thank you, Nancy. I’m so glad you shared the recipe. I have all the ingredients on hand and can’t wait to give them a try! 🙂

  8. Pingback: Chickpea Chocolate Chip Cookies | Spirit Lights The Way

  9. I love chickpeas, so this sounds great to me, but, and I am almost embarrassed to say this, I don’t own a food processor, or even a blender. Ok, no, I am not embarrassed. I have other good qualities. LOL

    • I wouldn’t have a food processor if not for hubby. He uses it for a lot of his meal prep (dicing onions, crushing stewed tomatoes, etc.). So it came in handy for this. I’m not sure a blender would have been able to do the job. 🙂

  10. All you need to do is think about a jar of peanut butter and I come running. Throw in the thoughts of chocolate chips and I’ll wash your dishes for the next three weeks.
    I’m definitely trying this out.
    Yum, Nancy.

    • Another blogger friend used dry roasted peanuts instead of peanut butter, and also substituted rum for the vanilla extract. She said they turned out pretty awesome! I may try it her way next time. That natural peanut butter was messy to work with!

  11. Pingback: In The Kitchen with Kate: Flourless Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies | Did That Just Happen Blog

Talk to me

