almost-wordless wednesday / 17-09-14

Nature has been for me, for as long as I remember, a source of solace, inspiration, adventure, and delight; a home, a teacher, a companion.  ~Lorraine Anderson

untitled

Humankind’s greatest priority is to reintegrate with the natural world.  ~Jonathon Porritt

482960_10151080620588474_1355418762_nIf we are to use our tools in the service of fitting in on Earth, our basic relationship to nature–even the story we tell ourselves about who we are in the universe–has to change.  ~Janine M. Benyus

beefalo

We are the earth, made of the same stuff; there is no other, no division between us and “lower” or “higher” forms of being.  ~Estella Lauder

1016557_10152325644273474_1439487079_nThe more clearly we can focus our attention on the wonders and realities of the universe about us, the less taste we shall have for destruction.  ~Rachel Carson

1904155_10152325644058474_1848569820_n* * * * * *

Empty yourself of everything.
Let the mind become still.
The ten thousand things rise and fall while the Self watches their return.
They grow and flourish and then return to the source.
Returning to the source is stillness, which is the way of nature.  ~Lao Tzu

* * * * * *
57 thoughts on “almost-wordless wednesday / 17-09-14

      • Seriously! I’ll say it is still amazing when I catch a glimpse of the wild mustangs. I’ve seen tons of wild burros, but hadn’t seen any of the wild horses until those I captures in the last two shots. The story there is: during the gold and silver rushes, the miners came in, bringing with them horses and donkeys. When things went bust, the humans all left, but the animals were left behind. They adapted, through the generations, from domesticated, back to wild, and still thrive today. It’s amazing!

      • The North American horses became extinct about 13,000 years go. I think it’s about the same time that the megafauna in North America went extinct. It’s great that the Bison survived and that the horses that arrived here from Europe and Asia became ‘wild’. Now, if these scientists can make soap that floats, then they ought to be able to bring back the mammoths and let them roam free once again. 😉

      • They had no recourse but to become wild, abandoned by their owners as they were. The fact that they survived in the desert conditions is remarkable.

        As for mammoths… I’ll pass, unless I get to carry a big tranquilizer gun with me while I’m hiking. 🙂

  1. AGREED!

    Until we have the courage to recognize cruelty for what it is ~ whether its victim is human or animal ~ we cannot expect things to be much better in this world. ~ Rachel Carson

    The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated. ~ Mahatma Gandhi

    Life is life ~ whether in a cat, or dog, or man. The idea of difference is a human conception for man’s own advantage. ~ Sri Aurobindo

    • Agreed!

      …To an extent, I suppose. I don’t want to come off a hypocrite here because I do wear leather and eat fish, meat, and poultry.

      As much as I hope the animals I eat we’re treated humanely, in the end they became food (and shoes, etc.). For my part, I try to buy local and organic in the hope that those animals were treated less cruelly.

  2. I love your photos!

    I often wonder how different the UK landscape would be without human domestication of livestock!
    I also eat meat and wear leather, but try to buy ethically sourced meat and eggs etc…

    • This is the only place I’ve seen the wild mustangs and burros – and it truly is fantastic. The idea that they were resilient enough to adapt from domesticated back to wild …amazing!

      The cattle and buffalo were, I’m sure part someone’s farm, but you never know!

      • I have to say, I have never seen burros, or mustangs or buffalo wild at all! I need a trip to the foreign to make this happen!!

        animal adaptability is amazing, it makes me feel hopeful that even if humans mess up the world, nature will win out in the end!
        (this doesn’t stop me trying not to mess up the world by the way…)

      • Whenever you are ready for a trip “to the foreign”, let me know! As much as I love Toronto, hosting you in Vegas would be better, because of the mountains (and the wild animals!).

        And funny you say that about messing up the world. I said the same thing the other day: It gives me hope to know that even if (when) we really, royally, mess things up and make this place no longer liveable for humans, the planet will survive. And then maybe it’ll have a chance to rebuild all the goodness without our destruction getting in the way.

      • I am planning a trip…it is just finding the time/funds to make it happen…it will (sadly) have to wait until the current house drama is finished!

        the planet will survive, and I am sure rebuild! you only have to look at how quickly plants grow through and take over abandoned places 🙂

      • So much worse this week. Painters are in, which means EVERYTHING is in disarray. What’s not in boxes is pushed to the middle of each room. GAH! I hate this!

      • me too!! our whole house is still in disarray because the loft is still not finished properly and can’t be sorted really until we get this craziness with our neighbours sorted!!

        GAH!! is right!!

      • the worst thing is now nothing is happening for long periods of time…

        we are just waiting for the roof to be redone and a survey then we can get down to the legal stuff, which won’t be quick…but at least the scaffolding will have gone!!

      • I can only do it by not thinking about it too hard…and pretending that the scaffolding is elaborate decoration and the dining room is supposed to look like a corridor…

        😉

  3. Beautiful words and photos today, Nancy! I immediately thought of the one time I saw wild mustangs along a high mountain road in northern Nevada. We were bouncing along a dirt road in my uncle’s ancient pick-up trying to get to the old homestead where my great grandparents and family are buried. It was a big day for us and full of great memories.

Talk to me

