weekly workout recap: aug 31 – sep 6

This was a straight forward workout week. No migraines, no drama. Just more of the never-ending home renovation project, and an inexplicably fast-moving clock.  

Sun Aug 31:

Strength: Fitness Blender’s Barre Workout followed by Fitness Blender’s Bodyweight Upper Body Workout

YogaNamaste Yoga Benefits of Yoga Series #192Relaxation and Stress Relief.

BwZcOiRIMAEU2AbHouse-hunting, beach strolling and hostess gift shopping. Another Sunday, another string of disappointing open houses. The Toronto real estate market is totally cray-cray y’all. $800k for a tear-down. Methinks I’m going to have to look in different areas. But… the beach. I’ll miss it. WAAAAAHHHHH.

While I may not have found a new home, I did find a dorky but cute little hat which will serve to contain my humidity hair in Charleston, SC next weekend. I also found (what I hope to be) the perfect gift for my Charleston tour guide, Andra Watkins, so all in all, a productive day.

FitBit Stats: 10,115 steps

Mon Sep 1:

More Home Reno Fun!: Paint main floor powder room

Run: 3.1 miles / 5 km outdoor jog/walk intervals

FitBit Stats: 10,557 steps

Tues Sep 2:

Yoga: Namaste Yoga: Benefits of Yoga Series #194: Flexibility.

Strength: FItness Blender’s: Biceps & Triceps Superset Strength Workout This class featured 6 exercises (3 each for biceps and triceps), performed as 10 reps in 3 sets. The slow execution of each move is ideal for building muscle. Nice burn for the bis and tris. I’ll bookmark this one for future use and recommend it for you to try.

Power Walk: 2.9 miles / 4.7 km

FitBit Stats:  7,986 steps

Wed Sep 3:

motivationRun:  6.2 miles / 10 km outdoor jog/walk

I’ve been meaning to snap a picture of this graffiti, on the side of the building housing the lifeguards’ equipment, right at the start of my Waterfront Trail jogging route, for some time now.

Today, at the end of a 10k loop that KICKED MY ASS, I paused to read it again, “Hey, you look good. Keep it up!”, and smiled.

FitBit Stats: 16,630 steps

Thurs Sep 4:

Yoga: Namaste Yoga Benefits of Yoga Series #195. Bone Density.

Strength: Fitness Blender’s 100 Rep Lunge Challenge, followed immediately by Fitness Blender’s 100 Rep Squat Challenge.

FitBit Stats: 10,048 steps

Fri Sep 5:

Run: 4.25 miles /  6.85 km outdoor jog/walk

FitBit Stats: 13,131 steps

Sat Sep 6:

Rest Day

FitBit Stats: 10,084 steps

Another week gone. Where does the time go? Is it just me, or is anyone else feeling like the clock/calendar are racing forward these days? Let me know what you think. And don’t forget to…

Keep moving…

xoxo nancy

19 thoughts on “weekly workout recap: aug 31 – sep 6

    • I never feel cool enough to pull off a hat (other than baseball caps, which I wear religiously when working out). The only motivation to wear this one is that I have a feeling the humidity in Charleston will be off the charts, and even with my very short hair, that will be a huge problem. 🙂

    • I will definitely provide a recap post of my weekend trip, Lisa!

      My goal is 10k steps every day – but some days it just doesn’t work out. On Saturday (rest day) I was out and about all day researching granite countertop options. Scored a fantastic deal (YAY!) so it was worth it, but it was a lot of walking around. Then we decided to head downtown for dinner, and took the opportunity of great weather to walk around a whole bunch there as well. It didn’t feel like exertion, so I’m considering it a rest day, but the steps added up, I guess.

  1. This post didn’t come up in my reader! Thank goodness for facebook!

    I love the hat! Hats are awesome, I wear them often!

    Excellent work out week, I am going to have to have a looke at this barre workout you mention…it is intriguing!
    🙂

    • Okay, this one I actually know why it didn’t come up in the reader. I always keep the weekly workout recaps in draft mode while I fill in the week’s activities and then I usually end up scheduling it to hit on the Monday morning. Last night, when I finished editing, I knew I had a post scheduled for Monday morning (part 3 in the series) so I just hit publish on this one. Unfortunately, when you hit “publish” on a post that’s been in draft mode, it reflects the date of publishing as the date you started the post. In my case Sept 4th, I believe. Anyway, I think if you were to scroll back in your reader to Sept 4th, it might actually be in the queue there, but why bother. 🙂

      Seems to me this feature is a system flaw in WP. If something is in draft for days or weeks or months, and you hit publish, shouldn’t publish date (and reader appearance) be at the moment you hit publish??

  2. I have a very similar hat and wore it last weekend, first time in ages! 🙂

    I really wish I were closer to Charleston, would love to bust in and meet you, but alas, it’s 7 or so hours and the weekend is already booked. Please post lots of pics and tell us all about your meeting IRL!

Talk to me

