weekly workout recap: aug 17 – 23

Let’s start with the good news: The folks at FitBit asked me to supply a copy of my purchase receipt, which I did late on Friday. Monday at mid-day they notified me that a replacement device was being shipped to me. Said device arrived at my front door less than 24 hours later.

BvaauLUIMAASEpk

Now THAT, mes amis, is customer service.

I heart FitBit!

Sun Aug 17:

Fotor0824220145Today was mainly a rest day. Any effort exerted was related to entertaining a group of 10 for a sit down dinner in honour of Ed’s aunt and uncle who were visiting from Portugal.

Other than the usual cleaning, prepping, cooking, serving and clean-up, I also managed to get a 5k walk in. But make no mistakes, this was no Nancy style walk. The pace was verrrry leisurely, and I was primarily acting as tour guide and group photographer.

Walk: 3.1 miles / 5 kms

FitBit Stats: 10,534 steps

Mon Aug 18:

Run: Outdoor – 5.6 kms (alternate short sprints and jogs)

Yoga: Namaste Yoga: Hanuman Series #218: The Strength of a Warrior. This practice looked at brains versus brawn and learning to think before you act. This one provided some good challenge with the following yoga asanas: Baddha Konasana Star Pose, pigeon, Goddess Victory Squat, Forward folding Goddess Victory Squat, Garland pose, Half-moon Balancing, plank, side plank, Warrior one, Warrior two, among others.

FitBit Stats: 12,125 steps

Tues Aug 19:

photo 1Home Reno Fun! With the main bathroom now finished, We finally started the demolition of the master en suite. Today was spent ripping the tile from the shower area.

God, I love smashing shit. I think I missed my calling.

At the end of the day, this is what my former shower looked like.

Elliptical: 45 minutes

Walk: 3.5 miles

FitBit Stats: 13,502 steps

Wed Aug 20:

I found a killer upper body dumbbell workout on Fitness Blender called Tank Top Arms (not to be confused with the Tank Top Arms program I have listed on my Get Moving/Strength page on this blog). This 25 minute workout packed a LOT of punch in a short amount of time. The rapid fire exercises, done in sets of two, with the second set ending in a crazy burn interval of shorter (range of motion) reps until the muscle was fully exhausted. I loved this — and felt it, big time, the next day. I’ll be adding this routine into my regular rotation. I really liked it.

Power Walk: 3.9 miles

FitBit Stats: 10,115 steps

Thurs Aug 21:

Yoga: Namaste Yoga: Hanuman Series #219: Listen to Your Body. This practice was all about tuning into your own body and focusing on listening to what your body is telling you. Poses included: Dead Bug Circle with Ankle and Wrist circles, Keyhole Stretch, Bridge/setu bandhasana, Foot Series, Rock the Baby, Cat Pose/Marjaryasana, Downward Facing Dog/Adho Mukha Śvānāsana, Eagle/Garuḍāsana, Prasarita Padottanasana/Wide Legged Standing Forward Fold, Salamba bhujangasana/Sphynx, Child’s Pose/Balasana, Cow’s Face/Gomukhāsana, 1/2 cow’s face forward fold, Savasana. This was a great practice for me on this day; a great reminder to listen to my body’s cues, respectfully and lovingly.

After yesterday’s great Fitness Blender workout for my upper body, I knew the perfect counter-workout would be a lower-body focused workout. I had about half hour between conference calls, so I went back to Fitness Blender to look for something for my legs and glutes – and I found two winning workouts.

First I did the 100 Rep Lunge Challenge. At 8 minutes, this was FAST-PACED and challenging, almost a bit of a cardio hit as well as strength/toning. Since I still had 20 minutes before my next meeting…

I followed that up with the 100 Rep Squat Challenge. This one was a 10 minute workout, also very fast-paced. Doing this immediately following the lunge workout, with no breaks, provided a GREAT lower body workout AND got my heart racing (and sweat pouring). Lucky for me my meetings are phone only, with no video requirement. I was looking quite the sweaty mess at the end of these 18 minutes.

FitBit Stats: 8,847 steps <– I’m not going to even whine about not hitting 10,000. With the yoga plus the back-to-back lower body workouts, I did not feel like a slacker today.

Fri Aug 22:

photo 2Still More Home Reno Fun! <– Insert sarcasm here.

Because I wanted to do some sleek bi-directional glass doors, that half wall had to go (see Tues pic).Unfortunately when we removed the half wall and, subsequently, the vanity, we discovered that the builder hadn’t finished the floor tile all the way to the wall.

STUPID FUCKERS.

This completely changes my plans as I now need to stay with one very long double-sink vanity, versus the two separate units I was planning to replace it with. I had a very clear vision of what I wanted to do in this room to make it look fantastic without spending a ton of money and now I have to rethink everything. Pisses me off.

Oh, since this is a workout recap, I should note here that the shower floor tile came up along with 3 inches of cement. I carried blocks of said tile/cement from the second floor down to the garage. In about 47,000 trips. Workout complete.

FitBit Stats: 11,522 steps

Sat Aug 23:

Power Walk: 4.5 miles

FitBit Stats: 14,069 steps

my shitI have a feeling that hitting my daily step count goal won’t be much of an issue now that I find myself walking back and forth between my bedroom and the main bathroom due to the fact that all my shit from my now-removed vanity is sitting on my bedroom floor.

This picture only represents the contents of the 3 drawers. The stuff that was in the two main cabinets is dispersed among 3 laundry baskets, in another part of my room.

Please let this reno be over soon.

Keep moving…

xoxo nancy

78 thoughts on “weekly workout recap: aug 17 – 23

  1. yeay for fitbit!! I guess they are trying to make up for all the bad press they got over the force! despite that I always thought they had good customer service, they replaced my band when it broke no questions 🙂

    wow! your renovation looks like hard work! and I would be really pissed off if I discovered that the tiles didn’t reach the wall!!

    • The reason I’m so pissed is that we’re trying to contain costs by not re-doing floors (except for the shower stall floor). When I saw that they hadn’t gone all the way back with the tile I ranted for 15 minutes. I need to either keep the exact same footprint of vanity to cover the bare floor – or- re-do the entire floor (and oversized Jacuzzi tub surround (which is also done in the floor tile at the other end of the bathroom). It will be a big job, and more money than I hoped to spend (considering this is all an effort to just sell this house for the highest price possible). ARRRGGGHHH.

      But, on a happier note, YAY FitBit! 🙂

      • I can completely understand why you are angry! It would be different if you were planning to stay!

        also…why would anyone not take the floor all the way up to the wall…stupid!!

      • Three words: To save money. (and time). Okay, 5 words. Oh – the other thing they did was to bring the copper pipes up from the floor, versus from the rear wall. (see bottom photo). This further screwed up my plans because it means that even if the tile was finished to the wall, I still couldn’t install the vanities I had chosen (floating vanities) because the DAMNED PIPES ARE STICKING OUT OF THE FLOOR!!! GRRRRRR

      • grrrrr!!

        I feel your frustration!!

        I have decided that any building work is now not worth the effort…

        I may change my mind when (if) mine is ever
        sorted out!!

      • I actually really love home renovating – and would do this as for money (flipping houses) IF I thought money could be made. I love taking something that doesn’t look super great and making it beautiful.
        That said, when I encounter shoddy work (like this) it really tests my patience…

      • I like it if I am in control of it…but at the moment it is all dependent on other people…

        I think it is a hard thing to make money out of too, in the current market anyway! (at least it is over here!)

      • There are areas (like in Vegas) where the market crashed so hard, you could pick up properties for a song. The question is, if you fixed them up, is there a buying audience who can afford them. That’s the crap shoot. You wouldn’t want to be sitting on an extra mortgage too long before selling…

      • yeah there are places in the uk where you can get houses so cheaply, but they are not affluent enough to get enough return to make the work worth it!

      • And therein lies the issue. Still, I do know of some who have turned a pretty penny doing a smart flip. It’s something I’d really love to try, but won’t consider the financial risk at this point.

      • At the rate we’re going, with house hunting (for where we’ll live after we sell this place)…I may be buying quite the fixer-upper… so… there may be a LOT more renovation in my future. 🙂

      • Haha true 🙂
        Ours are “allegedly” finished bit there are still lots of things that need sorting and some that need redoing because our neighbours are causing a huge fuss over 1 tiny mistake so we haven’t really done anything with it yet…in fact until it is somehow sorted I hardly feel like it is real 😦 nearly 20 weeks in scaffolding now! Supposed to be 8!!

      • 2″ of tiles on a bit if wall 18″ high and 4′ long overhangs their house. It doesn’t rest on their house, but because the party wall is narrow (Victorian architecture) the tiles have to overhang! They just keep finding really petty things to complain about and called the planning department, which is now causing a problem even though it had been signed off and approved already! It is really stupid!

  2. Awesome week, Nancy. I would imagine that the renovation work in of itself is pretty good physical exertion. Be careful lifting that stuff! I moved 4 pallets of retaining wall blocks and I believe that it was a key factor in my burst disc. Keep moving!

    • The side benefit of being so exercise-focused for the past 20 months is that my core strength and lower back are much better. (Also, I try to remember to lift by squatting, not by bending at the waist :-))

  3. Another excellent week in the books! I’m sorry to hear about your renovation snafu – I hate setbacks! Keep on trucking… Thank goodness for your fitbit replacement at least!

  4. I had to laugh at the verrry slow walk pace with guest. That’s how I feel too sometimes walking with others. The Tank Top Arms workout looks really good, I peeked and it went into favorites. I need to take that on so I can use tank tops again, thanks Nancy! And good luck with the renovation…hope you don’t find anymore builder’s gifts.

    • Tank Top Arms was fantastic! And now that I’ve done it once, I have a better sense of how much weight to use next time. (Now I just need to buy some more dumbbells at different weights… Or – I could buy the cool ones she uses, that adjust on the fly!)

  5. I’m doing a Fitness Challenge and we are upto 110 squats and 45 lunges, and then like 70 crunches and 30 push ups – and every day that tally goes up. By the time I’m done, I’ve worked up a big sweat! Of course, I can’t do push ups, but I’ve managed to move from an elbow plank to a push up plank and I just add 5 to the push up number and hold the plank for that long!
    I’ve also been great at yoga 6 days a week! 🙂
    Loving that Fitbit replaced the unit!

    • What I like about these 2 Fitness Blender workouts (the lunge and the squat ones) is that while they are high in repetitions, they alternate the types of lunges and squats and do them SO FAST that it’s a real cardio workout too. When I was doing the 300 squat challenge in May, I was doing hundreds of squats, but there was no specific time constraint (I could go as slow or as fast as I wanted/needed to) so it felt like less a challenge. Doing these videos back to back without a break felt like as tough a workout as any I’ve done in a gym class. Highly recommend you give them a try, Kate!

      And good job on all that yoga – it’s great stuff, isn’t it? 🙂

  6. Looks like you are making progress on the house Nancy…it’s definitely not fun and always full of surprises but when it’s done you will proud. And the family dinner looked fun and cheerful outside in the yard. And in my book just cooking at entertaining for 10 people is a workout.

    • These renos aren’t for us, per se, Kathy – rather to get the top dollar we can for this house – so I’m more budget conscious than normal as it relates to these renos. I’m just so angry that the builder chose to cut corners in these sneaky ways that you’d never know about (until you start demolishing stuff).

      The family get-together was lovely, and I learned to chill out on my usual standards for entertaining. We were using folding tables, mix and match chairs and 3 different table cloths. The Nancy of 2 years ago would have had a nervous breakdown if things weren’t perfect. Glad I’ve relaxed a ton in this regard.

  7. Go you! I’m waiting for a video release of your smashing and trashing of the OLD to make way for the NEW. Glad you got a new FitBit ~ you’re the best advertisement they’ve got!

    • I should have had Ed video me wielding that rubber mallet and crowbar. 🙂 It would have been more child-friendly than the profanity-laden rant when I uncovered what was going on underneath the vanity…

  8. Woo hoo for Fitbit! I remember so clearly the day my dad gave 9 yr old me a sledgehammer (probably a mallet) and let me help smash down an old fence…it was great!!! Sorry about the floor issue though, we have a similar problem with our bathroom and it’s one of the things keeping me from starting a reno. Have to save a little more first.

    • I am still fuming! On the one hand, replacing the floor tile would let me go wherever I want style-wise, but with the stupid pipes coming straight up from the floor, I am still limited to a flush-to-the-floor vanity versus something with legs or floating (my original plan). GRRRRR. And then if I do rip out the floor tile, I have an oversized Jacuzzi tub on the opposite wall that has tile all around the box it sits in, and up around 18 inches from the top of the tub on the surrounding walls. A big job… 😦

  9. Having done dozens of reno jobs, I know exactly how you feel about the unexpected – and unwelcomed – discovery that the floor and pipes were not what you were planning on. I think we’ve had one of those on EVERY reno … it never seems to work the other way around though 😦

    You had a busy week, my friend, very busy indeed! Glad to hear Fitbit did the right thing and you got it so quickly!!

    • I was pretty wowed by the level of customer service. It made having to charge my old FitBit 4x/day just to keep it tracking Saturday/Sun/Monday worthwhile. 🙂

      The reno surprise sucks because it forces me to re-work a plan I had fully baked (with a budget that was baked) and will add cost and time to the equation – which sucks as I was hoping to get this house listed by early September. The new goal is before Sept 20th. Wish me luck.

    • I just finished ripping down the tiles surrounding the Jacuzzi tub on the other side of the room (this was not part of the original plan but it did allow me to salvage some tiles to put on the floor in case my new vanity isn’t the exact same footprint as the old one.) Now i’m officially over the whole smashing things thing. I think.

      Maybe I’ll be feeling it again in a month, but for now, I’m kind of over the dust and shit. 🙂

  10. “I love smashing shit” – quote of the day 🙂 That is great customer service from FitBit – impressive stuff! I’ve started using Fitness Blender as well – did my first push-up burpees today – I hope the feeling that I’m dying passes soon 😉

  11. I think I need to go get a construction job and just be done. I sometimes wish I could find a job that forced me to move. 🙂 That bathroom is going to look awesome when you’re done.

    • That bathroom will look awesome even if it kills me. Kitchens and bathrooms sell houses, and this is all in the name of selling this house. The fact that it’s giving me a decent workout is just gravy. 🙂

  12. Entertaining a group of 10 is enough of a workout for the week! I’m exhausted from the pictures you posted. Smashing shit sounds fabulous! Smashing grapes with my tender feet might be more up my alley. 🙂 What? A Tank Top Arm workout??? Praise the Lord. My arms haven’t seen the light of day since I was 25! They are not allowed out under any circumstances. 🙂

    • Ha! You just made me snort!
      Try the Tank Top Arms link I provided. I just did it earlier today and it really is fabulous. Short and sweet. But not really sweet…

  13. Ha, I think I would be happy smashing stuff too, but I agree, I would prefer that the mess be in someone else’s house. Renovation is only fun for so long…

    So, I have to ask: when do you work? I am lucky to get in 30 mins in the morning before work and then an hour yoga in the evening. I can’t imagine doing all you do and working too.

    • I am VERY fortunate to have a home-office based role. So, as it relates to workouts: I do a bit in the morning, then usually try for my cardio at lunch. No one cares if I’m sweaty and gross for the rest of my workday, as all my meetings are web or phone based. As long as no one requests webcam be turned on, I’m safe. 🙂 With respect to the home reno stuff – I do some at lunch and then most around 4 or 5pm.

Talk to me

