weekly workout recap: aug 10 – 16

There were some highs and some lows last week. I attempted to ease myself into more intense exercise by adding some running back into the mix, along with a bit of HIIT. After my body’s initial shock at being SLAPPED awake following last week’s coma, it responded pretty darned well.

More stuff that fell into the it’s-been-a-good-week column: I had stellar step counts all week, with really great results Wed, Thurs and Fri. And my energy level finally seems to be back to where it was pre-travel.

On the not-so-great news front, what I initially thought was just an annoying (but relatively minor) issue with my FitBit (the silent alarm/vibration stopped working on Tuesday), turned out to be a catastrophic failure on Saturday. The device shows no sign of life. I’ve been trouble shooting with the FitBit support team, but the news is bleak.

They are evaluating my case to see if they will replace my unit as ‘a gesture of goodwill’. Um, how about you replace it because the unit is less than 6 months old and is clearly defective??

Come on FitBit, do the right thing.

Come on FitBit, do the right thing.

My Type A personality is having a tough time not knowing exactly what my step counts and calorie burns have been the past 2 days. I may have a psychotic break if I don’t start measuring this stuff soon.

Sun Aug 10:

Home Reno Fun: Almost finished the main bath. You know, the one I told you we would finish 3 weeks ago. I sanded down the drywall patches/repairs. I painted almost all the walls and ceiling. Couldn’t finish as we had to apply fresh putty to some areas of drywall, and they weren’t dry enough to sand and paint. Then a new lighting fixture got installed as well as the new mirror. Looking pretty spiffy, I gotta say. p.s. sanding and painting are excellent arm workouts.

Pool: It got awfully hot and sticky up in that second floor bathroom during what turned out to be a very hot/humid day. Jumped into an unheated pool (something I’d usually never dream of doing) because I felt so gross and sticky. After the initial 20 seconds of WTF??? THIS IS COLD!!! I acclimatized to the water temp – and it actually felt pretty good. Swam laps for about 10 minutes and then did some in-pool standing leg exercise (side raises, back raises).

Walk: 3.1 miles / 5 kms

FitBit Stats: 10,569 steps

Mon Aug 11:

Kickboxing HIIT Workout: Decided to finally throw myself into some high-intensity sweatiness, so I went with my friends at Fitness Blender. Have you checked this site out yet? It offers full length fitness videos free of charge. Love the site and the instructors that lead the classes. This one featured a combo of kickboxing and Tabata-style HIIT intervals, along with a good warm up and cool down/stretch.

Yoga: Namaste Yoga: Hanuman Series #216: Remembering Who You Are. This practice focused on the following yoga postures/asanas: Little Boat/Knees to Chest Pose/Apanasana, Hanuman Kneeling/Ardha Virasana, Lunge Pose/Anjaneyasana, Mountain Pose/Tadasana, Sun Salutation/Surya Namaskar, Half Moon Balancing Pose/Ardha Chandrasana, Standing Forward Fold/Uttanasana, Puppy/Uttana Shishosana, Thread the Needle and closed with a mantra for Hanuman super powers.

FitBit Stats: 10,553 steps

Tues Aug 12:

Walk: 4.65 miles / 7.5 kms

Bodyweight Exercises: Squats (100), Lunges (100), Push-ups (40)

FitBit Stats: 11,880 steps

Wed Aug 13:

Yoga: Namaste Yoga: Hanuman Series #217: Healing Pilgrimage. This practice was gentle and restorative, focusing on the following postures/asanas: Supta Baddha Konasana/Reclined Bound Angle, crocodile pose/Makarāsana, Dying Warrior Pose, Sun Salutations/Surya Namaskra, Vṛkṣāsana/Tree Pose, Mountain Pose/Tadasana, Lunge Pose/ Anjanayasana, Ardha Matysendrasana/Half Lord of the Fishes Pose, and closed with a Naga Mudra.

Run: Outdoor jog 3.1 miles / 5 kms

Walk: 2.95 miles / 4.75 kms

FitBit Stats: 16,402 steps

Thurs Aug 14:

More Home Reno Fun: Decided that the near white walls weren’t doing it for me, so I slapped some colour on one feature wall. This involved lots of taping, lots of brush work and lots of rolling. Painting is, most definitely, a good arm workout. At least for your dominant arm it is. Feeling a little lopsided, I tried rolling with my left arm, but promptly realized I am the clearly not ambidextrous. So I finished up the painting with my right arm, and then…

Walk 4.5 mile 7.25 km power walk at 4.0 mph average pace

FitBit Stats: 14,815 steps

Fri Aug 15:

Run: Outdoor jog 3.1 miles / 5 kms

Elliptical: 45 mins

FitBit Stats: 17,278 steps

Sat Aug 16:

Rest Day – Other than general household chores and some walking, this day was pretty exercise-free.

FitBit Stats: My Fitbit has died. WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.

Why did you have to die??? WHY???

Why did you have to die??? WHY???

Since I have no FitBit to track step count/distance, I may go lighter on cardio running/walking and attempt a return to heavy lifting this week. Seems as good an excuse as any to get back to that.

Keep moving…

xoxo nancy

54 thoughts on “weekly workout recap: aug 10 – 16

  1. awesome workouts!! Glad you are back to full energy!
    painting (especially rollering) is definitely a good arm work out…but it does help to be ambidextrous!

    Fitbit should definitely replace your device! they replaced my strap when it broke!

    I know what you mean about hating to have no tracking device…last week I left my basis charger at work when I was on a course and therefore it ran out of battery…panic panic!!

    • I knew you would get it, Sam. It’s not that I can’t/don’t exercise without it, it’s that I’ve become very reliant on the data to tell me how hard I’m working. I think it’s very easy to assume you’ve done more than you’ve really done…

      • it is so easy to overestimate what you have done!!

        In theory, after all this time we should be able to work out how hard we are working, but it is nice to have something to quantify it!!

      • Absolutely! The good part about doing so much outdoor walking running along the lake (same route) is I now know exact distances for my “short walk”, “medium walk” and “long walk”. Now if only I knew the exact step counts. 🙂

      • hahah true, 🙂

        there is an advantage to walking the same routes often, I know about my lunchtime walks in the same way.

        Step counts are a different matter mind you…the basis is quite annoying and seems to count less steps than the fitbit in some situations, it has a higher lag between starting walking and it starting counting (to stop false reads apparently), which means I can walk across my small office without it actually registering steps…it is frustrating!

      • yes I do 🙂

        it tells me so much stuff, like skin temp and perspiration

        it also automatically knows when I am running or walking based on steps per min!

        the counting lag is only a problem on very short journeys, if you carry on walking, it adds on the 20 or so steps it doesn’t count it is only if you do 10 steps, then stop that is looses them…so it is only really a problem sometimes 🙂

      • My BodyMedia Core Armband did the perspiration/body temp thing too + an accelerometer, so the stats were fantastic. But…you had this big, ugly elastic band around your upper arm… 😦

      • the good thing about it is you can see the data right there in front of you, and the time and date which I find useful!
        also heart rate is handy…although it doesn’t actually read you heartrate continuously while exercising, something to do with too much information…

  2. Showoff. I’m lucky if I make it to the gym twice a week.
    But when I do go, I work out hard enough that the walk down the subway stairs is enough to fill me with dread.

  3. I found myself nodding my head repeatedly about plastering, sanding, painting as major arm workouts. Oh yes!! … and then there is the stretching, squats and lunges that go with trimming and baseboards!

    Sorry to hear about the Fitbit though. You’re the first person I’ve heard with a problem. When the battery died in mine a few months ago, I didn’t replace it. I decided I was becoming a bit compulsive about the numbers. If it’s the last thing I wanted, it was to become compulsive about one more thing!

    I’m impressed by the cold water therapy though 🙂

    • It’s funny, some people track/count calories they consume, something I wouldn’t dream of doing. Yet tracking exercise /movement is something I feel I need at this point. Obsessive? Yes. Effective? For me, yes. 🙂 But I get what you mean about becoming compulsive with it. I definitely am – but feel it’s critical to my health journey at this point. (Is it, really? Probably not. But the fact I THINK it is…) 🙂

  4. For me the worst part of tech-fail is how helpless I feel because while I can’t do a single thing to revive anything electronic I rely on my little devices all day… 😦 Usually I pass on the extra warranty protection in stores but I did buy the package for my fitbit and iPad just in case they have a bad day and leave me before I’m ready. I’m going to check out Fitness Blender tonight, thanks for another great resource!

    • I’m hoping that FitBit does the right thing, given the age (or lack thereof) of the device. I did get the protection on my iPhone purchase last year, and that came in handy, as they replaced my phone when the demonic possession started.

      I have a friend who also offered to come through with a replacement one, based on a little stock pile she is sitting on, if FitBit (the company) falls through for me. I’m still hoping they do the right thing, just because it’s the right thing to do…

  5. If you can’t track it with your fit bit, I heard it doesn’t count 🙂
    I’m just teasing, but sorry to hear about your luck.
    Otherwise you had a fantastic week. Those home Reno projects really do put a beating on you. I swear if we don’t finish this baseboard up today I might just move.

    • I hear you, sister! We are FINALLY done the main bathroom. The en suite is next, it needs to be finished yesterday, and yet we’ve done absolutely zero work on it today. :-S

  6. Seems like a great week, Nancy! Apart from the death case. I hope they replace it pronto, so that you don’t lose it over the zombie….but yoga should help to avert the worst 😉

    • Did I publish twice?? How did that happen? I know the original publication was full of errors (wrong week in title, wrong days of week) so I corrected and updated, but that shouldn’t have resulted in another publication. God, I correct my shit about 30,000 times after publishing, spitting typos, etc, and haven’t run into a problem before with multiple pubs. Sorry!

      • It was in my reader twice anyway, but I only opened one of them! Maybe the other one is the typo-filled one 😉 I’ve almost published by accident several times with this new format. Going back to the old one I think!

      • Hmm – weird! I went back to look at my reader and only saw one in the feed. Only one fed into FB and Twitter too, so I’m thinking maybe your Reader went wonky. Sometimes when I’m reading posts on my phone, my Reader starts repeating the stream of posts – but it’s not just one, it’ll be several that appear twice. Phew – I’d hate to be spamming people with double publications!

  7. Oh no!! I saw you comment on Twitter about FitBit doing the right thing!! Good thing because I was going to give them a piece of me if they didn’t. Don’t mess with brickhouse, she won’t let things just slide.

    Whenever I read your weekly recaps I am amazed all over again. That is a lot of activity, woman! And doing the home renos on top of that. Wow. I think I love you.

    Nothing better than doing water exercises. I miss doing it, it’s time I check into it once again. The only thing is that I need the water to be at least 95 degrees! 🙂

    • My water was far from 95 degrees, I can assure you! The weather has been pure crisp for most of the summer so Mother Nature certainly isn’t helping with the heating situation!

      Yes! FitBit emailed me yesterday to advise they are shipping me a new unit! It will be hell between now and then though! I’ve found that it will hold a charge for a few hours at a time, so I’ve been able to capture some data (hit step counts Sunday and Mondsy – but I’ve literally been charging twice a day (ridiculous!).

  8. Hi Nancy, just checking in…need some time to come catch up! Just reading this post made me tired. 🙂

    Hubs and I had fitbits but took advantage of the recall a while back and got refunds. We know how much we need to move, and that thing just annoyed us. Ha. Maybe we are lazy. Certainly lazier than you! 😀

    I look forward to catching up more soon and glad you are getting your fix back!

  9. Pingback: out with the old… | my year[s] of sweat!

Talk to me

