weekly workout recap: jul 27-aug 2

It’s been a long-ass time since I had to work a conference. Okay, not crazy long since I’ve attended one, but REALLY long since I actually worked one, as a booth bitch.

I realized, quickly, that I don’t miss it.

Holy shit.

I can hike up and down a freaking mountain for 8 hours and not complain.

SHUT UP! I don’t complain THAT MUCH, do I?

But ask me to just stand for 8 hours, and HOLY SHIT. No, really. HOLY SHIT. That is back-breaking labour for me.

I can’t even begin to tell you how much my body ached from just standing, for hours on end, at the trade show 4 days in a row.

I think I’d rather pick up garbage at the side of the highway, in the 100 degree Vegas heat. Or run a marathon. And we all know how much I love running, right?

SO glad that is over. Also that my killer hangover from Thursday is gone. I am never drinking again. Ever.

ccC-so-hungover

Source: hotmeme.net

Sun Jul 27:

No air conditioning until late afternoon. This meant another lazy, low-energy day for me. I managed to get a decent amount of walking in, totaling 4.06 miles.

Swimming: 20 minutes – slow laps

FitBit Stats: 10,172 steps

Mon Jul 28:

Day one of my 4-day work convention. My activity was limited to loads of walking (just under 5 miles), in heels, to boot.

Walk: 4.64 / 7.5 kms

FitBit Stats: 11,621 steps

Tues Jul 29:

This was the long-ass day of the conference: 9 hours of booth duty. My back was ACHING! So much so that I actually got on all fours at one point and started doing cat pose, which got plenty o’ looks of judgment from my coworkers. Bite me. I had to release my lower back. When I got home I hit the treadmill for a short run in an effort to alleviate that low back pain.

Run: 5 min warm-up walk; 25 minute slow jog (4.3 mph); 4 min cool down walk

FitBit Stats: 12,274 steps

Wed Jul 30:

Poor pre-planning saw my FitBit battery die in the early evening. This was only a 7 hour day of booth duty, but then involved an evening customer appreciation event, followed by an after party at Light (a nightclub at Mandalay Bay) where I danced to unbelievably annoying EDM (electronic dance music). I blame my total and utter drunken stupor for this complete lapse in musical judgment.

Dancing: 2 hours

FitBit Stats: 8,931 steps recorded before 6:30 pm. Lots of walking and dancing from 9:00 pm to 2:00 am. I estimate I actually did 13 – 14k steps before midnight.

SNOW_WHITE_BITCH_IM_SO_HUNGOVER

Source: waxlounge.net

Thurs Aug 1:

Worst hangover I’ve had in several years. Total amateur hour. Why didn’t I alternate a glass of water with each alcoholic beverage??? GAH! I was HURTIN’ today. Blah. Awful, awful, grossness. Still, I managed to get in some decent movement, between walking the convention center floor and more dancing at the closing concert (Neon Trees) for a total equivalent distance of 6.1 miles.

FitBit Stats: 15,065 steps

Fri Aug 2:

Yay!: A day to recover from the 4-day event while all my colleagues flew home. I took the opportunity to sleep in, laze around, and then go to the gym for a quick run.

Run: 5 min warm up, 30 min run, 5 min cool down

FitBit Stats: 10,372 steps

Sat Aug 3:

All caught up on my lack of sleep, today I went back to yoga! And a bit of lifting!

Yoga: Namaste Yoga 214: Bow to Your Inner Light. This was the next class in the Hanuman series and focused primarily on sun salutations. I loved the variations that Melissa West ran us through during this practice. My back still hadn’t fully recovered from 4 long days of standing at a trade show booth, so the cat, downward dog and others were a welcome release for my back. Poses included: Reclined Side Bend/Supta Ardha Chandrasana, Reclined Twist Series/Jathara Parivartanasana, Cat/Marjaryasana, Downward-Facing Dog Pose/Adho Mukha Śvānāsana, Sun Salutations/Surya Namaskar, Ardha Matsyendrasana/Half lord of the fishes pose, Mudra of Inner Self.

Running: 5 min warm up walk; 10 minutes of alternating 1 min sprint; 1 min walk; 10 minutes of slow jog (4.2 mph); 5 min cool down walk.

Lifting: Lat Pull Downs – 70 lbs; 5 reps x 5 sets; Seated Rows – 70 lbs; 5 reps x 5 sets

FitBit Stats: 14,336 steps

That’s all she wrote, friends.

As I sign off, I leave you with a sample of Neon Trees, who put on a great show for the 5,000 attendees of the convention I was working.

I may or may not have told coworkers that I would do the female drummer of the band. Shut up. I was drunk.

Keep moving…

xoxo nancy

58 thoughts on “weekly workout recap: jul 27-aug 2

    • My issue was mixing. I started with a half bottle if Pinot Grigio at dinner with hubby before I hit the cust appreciation event. Had more wine, of questionable quality at the venue. Then realized it was a full bar, so switched to vodka/soda(s). Somewhere in there, someone handed me a margarita. Went back to vodka /soda(s). That’s all she wrote….

      The drummer was hot. Or drumming made her even hotter, us probably more accurate.

  1. hehehe…inappropriate club dancing is, at least good exercise!

    and standing is supposed to be better for your back than sitting (shame it doesn’t feel like it),…but not for your legs, feet, sanity…I hate standing…I would rather walk for 8 hours than stand!!

  2. I totally get it. Standing is the worst! Isn’t it a form of torture? I actually start to get lightheaded and nauseated.
    … and I’m pretty sure I’ve quit drinking forever … several times. Then the memory gets a bit fussy, and the cycle starts over again 🙂

  3. I know, standing for hours is a killer for the back. A few years ago I did facilitation at a conference for 4 days straight, standing 90% of the time each day and talking non-stop…took me days to recover…from everything. Happy you’re done and over with it now 🙂

  4. When we lived in Vegas, I used to work conventions all the time. I still don’t know how I managed. The money was good and the work was pretty easy except for all the standing. Mad cat-happy dog keeps my lower back in check and sounds like it works for you as well 🙂

    • Normally I would find excuses to shirk booth duty responsibility but my company issued a press release, naming me, and announcing the product launch I’m driving. I kind of had to be there, hungover and all. 🙂
      Very glad it’s over!

  5. Boo both to high heels and hangovers. Both always seem like incredible ideas to me… Until the next day… Then FML. I’m doing the day after high heels tippy toe today. The hangover day was yesterday. Parallel lives, my friend. Fabulous week!

  6. this workout recap cracked me up! My lower back is sooo aching lately. We moved to a split level home and I have to carry my 50+ elderly dog up and down the stairs and outside and whatever. Lots of forward folds help too. Standing for hours is awful torture!

    • Yes! The forward folds were far less inappropriate than doing cat pose! I realized that after I got the judgmental looks for being down in all fours. 🙂

      I remember those days with Molly, our 16+ year old golden. 😦 Hope the move to the new house has been awesome, apart from the stairs.

Talk to me

