and so it begins

This guy makes it look so easy. The tiles just fall away like feathers, don’t they? He barely makes any mess at all.

Break a sweat? Not this guy. Cool as a cucumber.

In retrospect, I probably should have watched this video before attacking my own bathroom remodel Monday. Then I would have been in a position to make some informed recommendations to Mr. Enthusiasm, who appeared to be winging it himself.

Instead, I jumped in beside him, picked up what tools were left over, and adopted his laissez faire approach.

I started out with the patience of an angel. I was all gentle love taps of the hammer against the chisel.

Tap, tap, tap.

Tap, tap, tap.

Tap, tap, tap.

Bits of 14 year old grout and tiny ceramic flakes sprayed towards my unprotected eyes [PSA: Wear safety goggles, kids] but very little actual tile came down.

This went on for all of 10 minutes, at which point I remembered who I really am [impatient and filled with aggression], and became all …HULK SMASH

hulksmashWhile this method was messy, it did prove to be an efficient way to remove both the tile and the drywall behind said tile at the same time. Why take two steps (like the how-to video suggests) when you can do it in one [therapeutically aggressive] fell swoop?

So I hammered and I banged and I smashed until I was drenched in sweat. Home renovation, it’s the latest workout trend, didn’t you know?

No turning back now, mes amis.

The renovation of the main bathroom is step one in putting this house on the market. Things are moving quickly. The new drywall is up and the re-tiling should be finished by end of day today. After that it’s a quick rip and replace of the vanity and countertop, then slap on a fresh coat of paint, and we’re done.

Done and ready for the next project, that is: remodel the master en suite.

Things had better go well or else Mr. Enthusiasm is in trouble.

fear_bathroom

Good times.

Keep moving,

xoxo nancy

90 thoughts on “and so it begins

  1. Pingback: weekly workout recap: jul 10 – 16 | my year[s] of sweat!

  2. Pingback: home | my year[s] of sweat!

Talk to me

