speaking of letting go, it may be time for a break-up

Running has been on my mind a lot lately. Mostly I’ve been pondering my love/hate [okay, mostly hate] relationship with this activity.

I’m also trying to better understand why it is that I even care to keep running as part of my regime, considering I [mostly] hate it.

My hope is that once I sort all of that out I will be in a better position to decide how, or if, running actually fits in my life going forward.

I have much to explore on this topic but, in the spirit of brevity, I’m going to break my thoughts up into a series of shorter posts.

Probably two.

Does two qualify as a series?

No? Never mind then. Let’s just call it a two-part post on running.

The first question I started with is, why is running so important?

Sure it’s a great activity for cardio conditioning, but as I wrote in this post from March 2013,

I know running is not the be-all, end-all exercise in my weight-loss and fitness journey, but it certainly is the one activity that people seem to take the most pride in. Think about it. When was the last time you heard someone bragging about their killer workout on the elliptical?

My perception has always been that running is what makes a true athlete.

Runners are fit. Runners are healthy. Runners have low body fat.

Okay, maybe. But how many people are actually running when they claim they’re running?

As it turns out, I, for one, am not.

According to decals displayed on the treadmills at my gym:

      • 2.0 mph is a walk
      • 4.0 mph is a jog
      • 6.0 mph is a run

Since I tend to ‘run’ at approximately 5.0 mph, I am not, in actual fact, running at all. I am jogging.

mefnirV

Gobsmacked! Credit: reactiongifs.com

Oh. Okay. So maybe that changes things.

I decided to investigate, and found a great article on the Health Me Up site, titled: Is Sprinting Better Than Jogging?

As it turns out, there are many benefits to both sprinting and jogging — but let there be no doubt, they are quite different.

Since I know you are unlikely to actually click on the link, I’m copying the meat of the article here:

Sprinting: Quick Results
Jogging: Slow and Easy
Weight loss
Sprinting is a must do if you want to lose weight. This is because sprinting stimulates HGH (human growth hormones) and helps build lean muscle. This increases metabolism. Once your metabolism increases it stays that way for a long time and you will be able to burn fat even if you take a break from working out for a while.
Time
Sprinting takes less time.You can do quick 100 meter or 50-meter sprints in 15 or 20 minutes. All you have to do is sprint (run as fast as your legs can take you) for 50 meters, walk till you get your breath back, then sprint again for 50 meters and so on. 
Fat loss vs weight loss
Sprinting is a pure fat loss tool. Sprinting does not eat into your bones for weight loss, nor does it eat into muscle. In fact sprinting adds to bone density as well as lean muscle mass, and sprinters though they look lean probably weigh a lot more than they look.
Physical shape
A sprinters body will mostly be tight, athletic, toned, and lean. A sprinter mostly has flat tight abs and even female sprinters hardly have feminine curves, as their bodies are very athletic in order for them to run fast. High bone density and lean muscle mass with very little body fat percentage makes up a sprinters body.
Weight loss
Jogging helps you lose weight too but relies on the calorie in – calorie out method. So if you eat food high in calories you can burn it off by jogging. But this would mean that you would have to continue jogging all your life. If you continue eating your regular diet and if you stop jogging you will gain weight.
Time
To burn the same amount of calories, you will need to jog for a lot longer. At least 45 minutes in a day of jogging will burn similar calories as compared to 10 minutes of sprints (as fast as you can run), thrice a week.
Fat loss vs weight loss
Running slowly for a longer period of time is more of a weight loss tool. Jogging burns the calories that you have consumed and jogging for long periods of time eats into your lean muscle mass. Therefore jogging must be supplemented with weight training and yoga to ensure that your muscle is conserved.
Physical shape
A long distance runner or a daily jogger on the other hand may not have firm and taut bodies. Many runners, who are not professional, but run for the love of running, risk being skinny fat. A long distance runner will come across as thin but  may have higher percentage of body fat as compared to their weight because running depletes bone density and lean muscle mass.

Let’s recap, shall we?

  • Jogging may promote weight loss, but not specifically fat loss. It’s fat loss I’m after.
  • Sprinting in intervals will get me to my desired calorie burn faster than a straight out jog. And I can finish the workout that much sooner.
  • Sprinting will boost my metabolism and help me add more lean muscle mass. Jogging just sucks the life out of me. And hurts my knees.

Add to this list the fact that I really hate don’t enjoy long, slow, laborious ‘runs’ that see me out for 50 to 60 minutes at a time and it’s a no-brainer.

1349299387383_4020523

Buh-bye jogging.

It’s not me; it’s you.

You just don’t give me what I need.

Unless…

Could there be more to my attachment to the idea of running than the physical and health benefits alone?

More to explore in part deux, mes amis.

Keep moving,

xoxo nancy

Related post: See part two of this “series” here.

 

84 thoughts on “speaking of letting go, it may be time for a break-up

  1. I totally get and believe in the science behind what you are posting. It is very true that from an aesthetic standpoint, running can be a pretty crummy weight loss tool.
    I only do it because I love it. If I couldn’t stand running, there would be no way in hell I would even consider it. That goes for anything in this life!
    Good for you for recognizing that running is not the only option, or even one that needs to be brought up. I don’t think you should feel confined to do something you hate just because it seems like the norm. You gotta do you and get what you love!!

    • This comment is the perfect segue into part two of my running post. There are those who truly LOVE running (like you!), and that is awesome. And then there are others who hate it but do it anyway (I was one of them). I am fascinated by the psychology around this, because I don’t see it with any other form of physical fitness. i.e. You don’t see people who hate bike riding jumping on their bikes and going for a spin. You don’t hear of people who can’t stand kickboxing signing up for classes. Yet you see people, looking absolutely miserable out there jogging all the time. 🙂

      You are so right Martha, if you don’t love it, don’t do it!

      Cheers!
      Nancy

  2. Nancy,
    I’m with you when it comes to running. I have always HATED running (I’m not afraid to admit the truth in all caps). Now I have a really good excuse not to run…2 spine surgeries. WARNING: I would not recommend this as a way to get out of running. Cycling is the way to go. You can cover a lot of ground and it does not tear up the knees. But that leads to a question: Why is my bike covered in dust? I have no excuse. Guilty as charged. But Maggie and I do walk every morning before work and at the very least a short walk in the evening. I figure quality time with my dog on a walk is a good excuse for a dust covered bike.
    Patrick

    • Good grief, Patrick – that is a very valid excuse! I hope you’re back to 100% after the two surgeries.

      Quality time with Maggie, while doing something you enjoy (walking/hiking) is a fantastic reason for a dust-covered bike. I like changing my routine up – so I find that having a variety of cardio activities I *enjoy* makes it less monotonous. Some days it’s walking, some days elliptical, some days rowing, some days interval running. What I’m FINALLY giving up is this obsession with jogging for longer periods. Turns out it’s really not doing me as much good – AND I hate it. 🙂

      • Life is too short to do something we HATE. The back will never be back (no pun intended) to 100%. It is what it is. Walking is the best thing to keep the pain in check which Maggie LOVES.

  3. If you don’t like it, don’t do it. Find something you enjoy and don’t force yourself to carry on, especially as you have been injured.

    With regards to the speed of running/jogging, the only reason running burns more fat is because it burns more calories in the same amount of time. I go by how I feel rather than how fast I am going. I also do a lot of interval running as I run with my son at parkrun and he isn’t at the stage where he will run continuously for more than 5 minutes. That said, his intervals are fast enough to be classed as running!

    • Haven’t been injured, Fi. And I’m not saying I don’t ever enjoy running. I have had runs I fully loved, like the one I did in New York City a few months ago, or my 5k race. These were awesome memories and enjoyable exercise outings.

      What I’m inspecting here, and in the follow up post I’ll publish in the next day or two is the psychology behind why people who don’t LOVE running choose to run. And when I say ‘choose to run’, I use the term very loosely. The truth is, when people are running at 8+ mins/km, that is not running. So why, then do they “run”. If it’s because they believe that it’s a great fitness activity, again, I just look at the science which refutes that.

      HIIT training – which for me/running would look like this: Warm up walk for a couple of minutes, Run HARD for a minute, go back to baseline for a minute or two, then run HARD for a minute. If I follow this practice, my runs are real runs — at 7.0 or 7.5 mph. The results are better for fat burning because the HIIT style workout is increasing my metabolism. A slow jog – even if I do it for an hour at a time won’t do for my metabolism what a 20 minute HIIT workout will.

      Really though, it all boils down to one thing: some people LOVE running (or even jogging) — and for them, regardless of the physical benefits, they just love the act itself. And more power to them. I’m just not one of those people.

    • I know what the right decision is from a purely physical aspect. It’s clear that short spurt sprints in a HIIT style workout will give me the results I’m looking for. What I’m still struggling with is the psychology behind why I even debate this. There’s a bizarre ego-aspect to this whole running thing. Bragging rights, I guess. I plan to explore that further in part two…

  4. My knees are what decided the issue for me. I can jog/run for short intervals interspersed with fast walking without having any problem with them. But if I run for longer times, my knees swell up. Doesn’t matter though, because I don’t miss it except when I’m at a beach. Then I kind of wish I could keep running without stopping to walk.

    By the way, I thought of you for 80 straight minutes today when I did a barre workout. I was cursing. (Not at you–at the exercises!)

  5. I think you are right, if you don’t enjoy it there is no point in doing it 🙂
    There are plenty if more efficient / effective ways of gaining cv fitness and for fat loss and body composition change lifting heavy stuff is arguably more effective.
    There is certainly no point in forcing yourself to do something you don’t enjoy!

    As for jogging vs running I have been reading about that today strangely. I don’t know it there is a simple speed definition of running and jogging. According to my book on barefoot running, historically there is no such thing as jogging, there is walking which is heel – toe motion and there is running which is primarily mid to fire foot striking (as you would if you were to take you shoes off and try to run) jogging was a recreational running activity that is a sort if speeded up version if walking with a heel toe action that is facilitated by big padded running shoes.

    I don’t know if this is 100% true, but it is an interesting read 🙂

    I have no idea why people run when they don’t enjoy it, I enjoy it about 50% of the time and I enjoy how much I can improve and being outside and I enjoy having been for a run…but saying that, I am not doing it as much as I was…

    • I guess that’s the difference I’m trying to describe. There are people who LOVE running. They genuinely get that endorphin rush, that runner’s high, and that is awesome. While I don’t always hate running, and at some times it has been enjoyable (even during the run, but certainly after I’ve finished), I’m confident that I’ve never felt that runner’s high I’ve heard of. I’m pretty sure it’s impossible to achieve at the speed I go. 🙂

      So yes, I agree that being outdoors, enjoying nature, getting some exercise in are all positives, but maybe call a spade a spade. If it’s mostly really slow jogging, then it’s pretty much fast walking. And hey, I’m all about the fast walking! Remember when I did that 10k in 01:26 just walking alone? Now THAT I’m pretty good at. 🙂 So I guess I wonder why I try to do the other, which is clearly not as fun, and doesn’t even seem to help me meet my fitness goals.

      For now I’m focusing on lifting heavy and doing HIIT style sprints. We’ll see how that goes. But at least I’ll enjoy it more!
      xoxo

      • I don’t think I get the same sort of runners high as other people, mor sort of pleased that I have improved and survived!
        I definitely don’t love it, I LOVE dancing, and I LOVE lifting, I get massive endorphin rushes after those!
        You are so good at walking/hiking and that is awesome! The fact that you can walk a 10k faster than I can “run” one is awesome!
        I think you are right to make this move, and I am interested to read the next in the series (I think 2 can be a series…maybe a mini series!)
        When my year is up (tomorrow eeeek) I need to start deciding what my priorities are and if there is anything I want to focus on…I may rethink my running at this point in a similar way 🙂

      • Yup – and there’s the difference – you know what LOVING exercise feels like; you get that from dance and lifting! I get that from hiking and am starting to get it from lifting too. When I first picked up running/jogging early last year it was because I just wanted to get to a point where I could consecutively run (okay slow jog) for 20 minutes. And then I did it for 30 minutes. I met my goal and then some. (And important to note that neither of those things made me thinner, stronger or healthier… at least not as compared to the other activities I was doing — those that were adding lean muscle mass) Still, it felt great to know that if something or someone was ever chasing me – that I at least had SOME chance to outrun him/it. Not likely, but still technically possible – now that I could run for 30 minutes straight. Then for some reason I wanted to go farther/longer. For no reason other than because I had already achieved the first goal I set out. I guess that plus the fact that I still did (do?) see runners as the elite athletes. This is a faulty perception and one I need to start to reset my thinking on. I really need to set and strive for goals that are either a) enjoyable, or b) meaningful to my personal health/fitness aspirations – and preferably both a and b. 🙂

        I can’t believe you are SOOOOO close! And I can’t wait to hear about what you do in Year 2. Hopefully you’re transition to year two will be less stressful than mine. I obsessed for weeks over what my year 2 would look like. 🙂

      • I stick with running because it is the only purely cardio thing I do except dancing…I believe (perhaps wrongly) that it makes me fitter for dancing…
        It increases my cardio endurance and cardio efficiency which is an important thing when you need to dance for hours on end. Endurance vs sprint is based strongly in physiology, with the fast twitch vs slow twitch muscle fibres.
        I am not built for endurance…I am more successful at short intense bursts but endurance can be increased with training and that is what I get from running.
        I think, that unless you love running, you have to use it for what you want, you set yourself goals and achieved them and have decided that that is enough…This is far more sensible than continuing with something that you don’t enjoy!
        I can’t believe I am so close either…it doesn’t seem real! I don’t know exactly what I am going to do next…but I have some plans at least for a couple of months…
        I am seriously considering continuing the whole thing for another year… and doing another 365 with more focus… 😀

      • And I suppose that’s where I’m now fixating on the interpretation of ‘running’. I guess I wonder, Sam, if you wouldn’t get just as much endurance training benefit from fast walking? I guess I am just more fascinated with why people (myself included) were so bent on declaring themselves as runners – or having ‘run’, when the pace suggests, at best a fast walk. Like I said before, I think what I’m most interested in exploring (just for my own edification) is why ego seems to factor in so strongly in this one fitness activity.

        I do like the idea of just continuing with another 365 – and basically I’m doing that anyway. Even on my rest days I’m still at least getting my 10,000 steps in — but I guess I’m still struggling to find ‘what’s next’ for me. I think the heavy lifting might be it. I’m excited to dig in further on this new shiny thing! 🙂

      • I know there are people who can walk as fast as my run/walk times combined.
        My definition of whether I have run or walked comes purely from the gait and action used, If I have made progress in a style where both of my feet are off the ground at the same time, I have run.
        for me there is no debate about that…I have run very slowly indeed but it is still a run (or a jog possibly but the definition of Jogging is very sketchy and a jog is a sort of run.)
        As for me personally…my HR increases considerably more during the run intervals than fast walking, cardio endurance comes from this.
        I think the speed of run/jog etc is personal and related to rate of perceived exertion, I am putting more effort in, breathing harder etc when using a running motion than a walking one. Same as the difference between marching on the spot and jumping up and down…
        I think my point it, that overall pace is not as important as the exertion and motion used to achieve it.
        I personally don’t get as much out of a brisk walk as a run / walk interval run…but then…I do still do intervals and the run ones are faster than the pace I would have to go to do continuous running for 20+ minutes… on top of that I am a very slow walker…

        I know what you mean about the ego factor involved in running. I still don’t call myself a runner…I don’t do it enough for that, I am someone who sometimes runs. same way I don’t call myself a kickboxer, or a gymnast or a climber (at the moment..) to call myself that I would have to do them regularly enough. for me it is not ego as much as science…but I am more literal than most 😀

      • Okay so maybe I’m getting caught up in semantics. You are doing intervals anyway – run/walk. I guess for me I’ve found that if I go in with a mindset that I’m doing sprints – and therefore it is not a ‘run’ per se – it’s clear I’m doing an interval activity. I run way faster, knowing that I’m only doing this activity for 30 minutes max – of which maybe 12 – 15 mins max is actual fast running.

        Even when I was going out for my run/jogs – like when training for the 5k and 10k’s — I was still doing intervals – but my run intervals were way slower than I was capable of because I felt I had to store energy to go the distance. (And I did! No way I could have run at 7 mph /11.3 kph – even 1 min at a time if I was going to go out for an hour..).

        So I hear you — the run intervals definitely boost the cardio element and make me feel like I’ve gotten a great workout in. For me though, I’m now decoupling activities. If I want to experience the great outdoors, I’ll go out for a really great (fast) walk and get my hit of nature. If I want to get a really great CV activity in, I’ll hit the treadmill and do sprint intervals going full-out, as hard as I can go. For me, I think, this is probably the answer.

      • I think the decoupling is a good idea, the problem comes from thinking a run has to be a certain way.

        If I want to really enjoy the outdoors, a walk is definitely a better way to go… I can’t decouple mind you…because I am still scared of treadmills! I don’t think this will change 😀

      • Dude – YOU aren’t afraid of anything. You have gone back to climbing after a horrific fall. You have taken on a personal training course in spite of your fear that you might not be taken seriously. You have signed up for and completed crazy trail-hilly 10k races.

        YOU SHOW THAT TREADMILL WHO’S BOSS!!

  6. I hate running. Haven’t done it since I was 12. Still remember the burning lungs. Ugh. I guess I ran when I was gymnast but the tricks and flips at the end of a run made it worthwhile. Now, I feel lucky to get up out of my chair unassisted! lol

  7. I’ve decided that while I really wish I could love running as much as some people do it just isn’t going to happen for me. I hate it, my knees hate it and I get bored – not a great combination for success. 😦 Mixing it up is the best choice for me and maybe I’ll give sprints with rest periods a try. 🙂

  8. Great post! – thank you for finally summarizing why sprints are important. When I had a coach, they were part of my training program but it was never explained that way. Now I’m much more inclined to do an honest sprint workout.

    I can’t say I enjoy running. I don’t. I keep going back to it because I like how my body feels because I run. I use the word ‘run’ rather loosely since it seems that I too am not a runner but a jogger.

    • Ooh, I’ve been wanting to sink into this topic with you, in particular, Joanne – because you take on such crazy long distances. Would love to chat more on this over beverages one day!

      In part two I hope to delve into the idea of really LOVING running. I know it when I see it in people. And I also know when it’s more posing/posturing. I’m fascinated by why we feel compelled to pretend we love it. I just love how complex an issue it is for some (read ME!).

      • I am always open to making changes and this post was a game changer for me. I was not happy with my race at the beginning of the month given the effort that went into my training. I was at a total loss as to what I did wrong. Add to that, the fact I’ve never been able to achieve the fat loss that other runners have enjoyed.
        I now know what I’m going to do differently 🙂
        Thank you!!!! *Big Hugs*

        btw – half marathons aren’t considered crazy long distances. I should introduce you to ultra runners who race 100 milers – yes, miles. They are crazy.

  9. As someone who absolutely, utterly, and totally refuses to jog/run/sprint, I understand your loathing of the activity. From everything you’ve posted here, I can see you liking to sprint much more than jogging/running. You really don’t even have time to think about how tired you are while you’re doing it. You just blast through it and recover somewhat and then do it again.

    • And I get to actually feel like a “real” runner for those 60-120 second intervals. There is something very cool about catching a glimpse of myself in the mirror when I hit those faster speeds on the treadmill.

  10. I also know people who just LOVE running, or at least that’s how I interpret their addiction. They absolutely compulsively fit running into every day. I can’t imagine, but that’s another story! 🙂 I think it’s more important that you find exactly what works for you and make it a lifelong commitment. I don’t want anything in my life every day that I dread. Part Deux will be interesting. Let’s see what you decide!

    • I think the decision’s been made, frankly. 🙂 Part Deux will be more about the thoughts that had been gurgling below the surface over the past couple of months – and were heightened by a 24-hour relay race I happened upon, driving through southern Utah. it was the game changer for me, I think.

  11. Interesting.

    I’ve been thinking I need to give up running/jogging because everytime I think my ancle and heal are well, I go for an easy jog, and the pain and infection is back. (and yes, I have consulted doctors several times, and they say I can do anything I feel like within the limits of the pain. A few shots improves the situation for a while but then the problem is back. Nobody knows why)

    I wonder now wether they’d be ok with sprinting especially if I’d only do it a little to start off with? The one thing I enjoy about running is the feeling I get at the end, I usualy always sprint at the end, where I really feel I’ve done something with my body. Maybe I’d get the same thing with walking and having a few sprints as well? i need to try, thanks for the idea!

    • Oh Vilma, please be careful! It sounds like running is causing you some major grief. Take care of that heal and ankle. I’m not sure if short sprints would cause the same damage. I guess maybe test just a few short ones and see how it feels?

      Yesterday I hit the gym for some heavier lifting with barbell – but to warm up I jumped on the treadmill. I warmed up with a brisk walk for 2 minutes and then I did 1 minute sprints at 7.0 mph (11.3 kph), then back to walk for a minute and so on. I did this for 15 minutes, got my heart rate nice and high and then hit the free weights area. When I finished my lifting, I went back and repeated the sprint intervals for another 15 minutes before heading home.

      I felt like I got an excellent workout in, AND got to enjoy the feeling of running really fast (for one minute at a time!). 🙂

      • Sounds like a workout I’d like 🙂 But yes, I definitively need to take it a little at the time. The weird thing is that walking, even longer distances, is ok as long as I have proper soles on my shoes. So I’m hoping a bit of sprinting would work… let’s see how it goes!

  12. Nancy, several people said this, but life is just too damn short to do anything you hate, even if it makes you fit. Besides, my orthopedic said “no running” and I am obeying. 😀

    Yoga, walking, even the interval training, I can do those and be happy. That is all I can ask for.

  13. I am glad that you are coming to the realization that,”Jogging is just NOT that into you”. In fact, I didn’t want to tell you that I’ve seen him with other women…on more than one occasion. He’s so demanding, exhausting, predictable and too much of a player – you deserve better, girl! Time to send him packing! Sprinting, on the other hand seems sexy, spontaneous, wild and quick to please. It’s a no brainer! 🙂 xo

  14. Hey, thanks for this, Nancy. This pretty much seals the deal for me. Sprinting and walking with the occasional jog (i.e. slog). Hope all’s well with you. John

  15. in the last few years my journey to health has led me down many paths but the one I can’t seem to stay on is running. I have tried so many times and so many ways to become a “runner” but nothing makes it happen. It’s okay though. I’ll brag about how many burpees in a minute I can do or awesome my squats are. Sure I’ll sound ridiculous but who cares?

  16. What a terrific article and post, Nancy. I’d actually give my left lung to be able to run or jog–and used to–but having a bummer of a back has nixed those options. I’m left with walking. But in spirit I am sprinting!

  17. Holy crap, that seems fast…. I don’t run or jog, my family has shit knees. I took up boxing though, on a bag, and it’s wildly fun. Just get in front of a bag and beat the crap out of it, move around, spin, deliver an occasional kick all the while listening to Rage Against the Machine. Keeps the brain going as you respond to the bag, it’s awesome and hardly a knee problem to be found. The fat burning thing though… no idea if it accomplishes that, I will have to research.

    • Boxing is a fantastic workout, Trent. No doubt about that. I’ve got a huge stable of workouts that are great for fat burning and muscle building. I suppose I’m still fascinated by why running specifically is such a prized and respected activity. More to come as I wrap my thoughts in part two.

  18. Pingback: Day 364: Runner? | Midsummer 365 Project

  19. I have never been keen on running as an activity itself, even when I did a lot of sport when I was younger I only ever ran as part of a different activity (tennis, squash or whatever). I’m inclined to think that running is popular because:
    a) you don’t need much to do it and you can do it anywhere
    b) there are a lot more available achievements for runners (5Ks, 10Ks, etc etc) that other people understand

    I hope you come up with an answer you’re happy with!

    • This comment seems to have fallen between the cracks! I’m sorry for my tardy reply, Helen!

      I think you’re spot on with your observations here. Running is definitely a convenient sport, and one which is relatively low-cost to pursue (if you exclude the cost of proper/good running shoes). I hadn’t really thought about item b) above – but you’re absolutely right! Sharing the easy-to-understand and relate to achievements/milestones in running is far more natural. i.e. Telling family and friends that I’ve run a 5k is easier than telling them “I lifted 50 lbs in a clean and press at the gym” or “I did 9 miles on the elliptical today”.

      Smart woman, you are!

  20. Pingback: Very Inspiring Blog Award | Winding Road

  21. Pingback: run or don’t. your choice. | my year[s] of sweat!

  22. I obviously haven’t gotten to Part Two, but there is SO MUCH more to running than just the general physical health benefits. It is critical to my mental health. When you first start running, it’s hard. No doubt about it. But, if you just keep at it and pick the right pace for you, it starts to become comfortable. Pair that repetitive physical movement with some lovely outdoor scenery, and, at least for me, my mind relaxes, frees up, and focuses. Much as the physical poses of yoga are designed to focus your mind so that you can meditate, I find the physical process of looking into a running rhythm also allows me to meditate. I also finish a run with much less stress than when I started.

    And that’s why I look forward to my post-work run — I know that, once I get home, I’ll be relaxed and present enough to enjoy making dinner and hanging out with Country Boy without nary a thought about work, bills, commitments, etc.

    • So, 4 weeks after part two and swearing off running, I have found myself running more than ever. You just hit the nail on the head about pace. Outdoors I push myself with too fast a pace and then burn out quickly. I don’t have the discipline to self regulate, even with my running app telling me my pace. I’ve been running on a treadmill lately, and have found that my comfortable pace is 4.5 mph. At that steady speed, as controlled by the treadmill, I can go forever (not that I do, mind you) but I am not hurting, bitching or whining about it. Now if only I could transfer that to outdoors, life would be grand.

Talk to me

