ignoring sound advice may mean the death of this blog

…or the death of me.

Just a very brief post to announce that my publishing schedule will be a bit wonky the next few days. I’m off to tackle my biggest challenge to date, a hike of the Bright Angel trail (AKA Rim to River) at the Grand Canyon on Thursday.

This trail is 16 miles total; 8 miles from the south rim of the Grand Canyon down to the Colorado River, and then another 8 grueling miles straight up to the rim again. Every source I’ve looked at suggests that this is not a hike you would attempt as a day hike in the June-July-August timeframe. I’m doing it on May 29th. As a day hike. Technically it’s not June yet, so I should be fine. Right?

Oops. I just found this little tidbit on the National Park Service website:

“Over 250 people are rescued from the canyon each year. The difference between a great adventure in Grand Canyon and a trip to the hospital (or worse) is up to YOU. DO NOT attempt to hike from the rim to the river and back in one day, especially during the months of May to September.”

May to September. Oh boy. I’m fucked.

No.

No negative thinking.

I can do this.

It will involve starting at an obscenely early hour to avoid as much of the mid-day heat as possible on the ascent to the rim, but I can do this.

Source: Wikipedia

Source: Wikipedia

The hike down should be a piece of cake. It’s the 4,380′ elevation gain on the way back up that has me concerned.  The most elevation I’ve gained in a hike to date is 2,300′. This is nearly double that. In Arizona. In almost summer.

Source: National Parks Service

Source: National Parks Service

I am going to attempt to capture some of the hike on video, and then cut it down to a few short minutes of highlights that I’ll share as a vlog as soon as I get back to a laptop Sunday or Monday.

All of this assumes, of course, that I don’t die of a coronary on the trail.

Wish me luck.

Keep moving,

xoxo nancy

 

106 thoughts on “ignoring sound advice may mean the death of this blog

  1. I’m a bit behind with my reading so you are already on your way! Just Googled the weather for the South Rim and it’s a good day to go. Hope it’s going well. Looking forward to your next post.

  2. Pingback: I’m not broken, just bent | my year[s] of sweat!

Talk to me

