with a little help from my friends

Fourteen months ago I decided to start a blog. The initial catalyst was a desire to document my journey through 365 days of sweat in 2013.

I could have also done that with paper and pen, and kept it totally personal. In publishing my words I made my story public, which added a layer of governance.

Type-A me knew that failing on my own would be a tough pill to swallow, but failing in front of others was not an option. So really, dear readers, I used you to hold me accountable. And I’ll bet you never even knew it!

Little did I know, 14 months ago, that my words would reach so many of you. More than I ever imagined or dreamed possible.

In the beginning I thought the most important measure was the total number of followers.

A handful of friends were gracious enough to subscribe, and slowly (very slowly…) that small number grew, until it was in the hundreds. And then it hit me that many eyes were potentially reading my words.

Potentially being the operative word.

I came to realize that while some blogs had thousands of followers, readers didn’t seem to be engaged, as evidenced by very few comments.

And even though my numbers weren’t crazy high, the level of animated conversation, in the form of reader comments, told me that you were engaged and supportive!

So THANK YOU!!!

youre-awesome

That you choose to read my often inane, sometimes wildly inappropriate and usually profanity-laced words is so humbling.

So, once again, THANK YOU.

You have generated over 4,000 comments in 14 months. You have visited this silly blog nearly 25,000 times.

WHAT?

25,000 views??

Mind = Blown

Mind = Blown

But wait…there’s more!

You came from all over the world! Sure, the ginormous bulk of you visited from North America [and by ginormous bulk I refer to the quantity of views, not the girth of the North American people] but just look at some of these amazing and exotic locales you live in!

Wowza! No, seriously!!

Wowza! No, seriously??!!

There are too many of you to thank by name. All my UK peeps know who you are and that I adore you! Same goes for the Aussies!

At the risk of sounding all cloyingly Taylor Swift’ish circa every award acceptance speech she has ever delivered…

….You guys!!! I am blown away by your support!

And I love you very much.

All I need in this life is friends like you.

Well, I need the friends, the food and the clothes, the car, the house with the pool… 😉

Thank you for continuing to support my meandering journey. Thank you for your words of encouragement. Thank you for sharing your stories with me.

You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you.

~Ray Bradbury

Keep moving,

xoxo nancy

76 thoughts on “with a little help from my friends

  1. Well done, Nancy, and it seems like you’re having fun, which, I think is the whole point, regardless of how many views/followers a blog has.

    Although, I must confess I was hugely delighted last week when I finally managed to get a follower in Greenland. That huge white blob on my world map had been bothering me. Now it’s a pleasant shade of yellow. YES!!! LOL, how sad am I?!

    Keep it up 🙂

  2. Latka was my favorite character from Taxi…beside Jim

    I have to admit, now I’m feeling a bit used. 😉

  3. Man! 25k views or a year plus of dedicated sweat? On top of that, being a great support to bloggers and fitness folk alike. I know I sure have appreciated your support. You’re something. Glad to be part of your tribe. John

  4. I have to offer an explanation. To your success. It’s simple. YOU are very human and very engaging. And the humor doesn’t hurt 🙂 Reader experience: happiness all over 😉

  5. There’s a reason you have so many visits and comments …. you and your blog are great!! I’m looking forward to a LOT more 🙂
    Congratulations! / Félicitations / Congratulazioni! / Gefeliciteerd! / Herzliche Glückwünsche!

      • thank you for the nice compliment!
        I love school and the classroom environment. I’ve learned so much with the wonderful group I’ve shared this winter with in this course. I’m sure we are all going to miss each other when this course ends soon.

      • The course was in Personal Narrative at U of T and 10 weeks long.
        There are 2 certificate programs available at the School of Continuing Studies – Creative Writing – Non Fiction and Creative Writing – Freelance. The Personal Narrative was part of the non fiction program but I’m going to be switching to freelance which offers more of what I’m interested in.

  6. So glad to have added LV to your list of weird countries!! 🙂 Also totally agree with you on the followers stuff – I don’t have that many really but the comments on each post keep people coming back! I’d rather have a few hundred followers who read and comment regularly, than thousands of anonymous names!

    I absolutely love your blog and the concept behind it – I think it was Mike Major who hooked us up in the beginning? So glad he did before falling off the face of the earth! 🙂

  7. Pingback: with friends like these though… | my year[s] of sweat!

  8. I’m late…no connections at the river which is awesome except that I missed this great post! 25k? wow!!! We all love you…and I love your posts because they ARE engaging, makes us all feel like we’re just hanging out with you 😉

  9. By posting about your journey, you are also giving others encouragement! And it shows in your comments and views and the flags on the photo. I’m there! I see our flag! LOL I know I missed so many of your wonderful posts already. My apologies. Had I known getting self hosted would cause so much trouble I would have stayed with wp. UGH!
    Congrats and looking forward to reading more of your posts!

Talk to me

