stuck between a rock and a hard place

Work-life balance, my former arch nemesis, decided to throw a pop quiz at me this week.

Not only am I still finding my footing in a new job, but my son and his girlfriend came to visit.

And so did a colleague from work.

20140220-072017.jpg

That’s right, Scooby, Ruh Roh indeed.

I couldn’t help but visualizef the universe kicking back with a big ol’ bowl of popcorn and enjoying the show as I scrambled to make everything fit.

Initially I felt like I had it all together. In fact, the day after the kids’ arrival I put in a full day of work AND made it out to a Barre class, followed by a 40 minute run.

I was all, “I got this!”

20140220-073640.jpg

Nah nah nah nah nah, Universe. You can’t shake me!

Isn’t it funny how we always feel that way right before the walls start closing in on us?

And sure enough…

20140220-073756.jpg

Back off, Universe!

I was determined not to fall into old habits and, most importantly, not to allow toxic stress to enter my psyche.

This meant staying present and conscious in every moment. It meant being aware of each choice I made. It meant holding myself accountable to me, and not just to others, as had been my previous modus operendi.

So even when the universe put me, quite literally,Β between a rock and a hard place, I was able to smile, breathe and experience gratitude for how far I’ve come.

20140220-074751.jpg

Suck it, Universe. I am in my happy place, regardless of my surroundings.

“Most folks are as happy as they make up their minds to be.” Abraham LincolnΒ 

Keep moving!
xoxo nancy

48 thoughts on “stuck between a rock and a hard place

  1. πŸ˜€
    It makes me happy to read this πŸ˜€

    It is so good to see you are managing to make things work in your favour and remembering to take time to do the life side of the work life balance πŸ™‚

    I love the pictures too πŸ˜€

    • Thank you Sam! I’m feeling pretty awesome about this too. I can’t believe how different my life is now versus 2 years ago. I know it’s unrealistic to think I’ll never get stressed out again, but if I can just try to stay attuned to the signals my mind and body are giving me, I know I’ll be in a position to better control it from here on in.
      xoxo

  2. Nancy,

    I really like how you tied your story to the pictures. Great job!!! Your comment about “staying present and conscious in every moment” really struck me due to the fact my mind keeps trying to solve an impossible problem. A good reminder to be in the moment.

    Patrick

    • Thanks Patrick! I think I can probably guess what impossible problem your mind keeps trying to solve, and I understand why. Yours is a really tough position to be in. Wishing you continued peace and happiness — along with a healthy dose of living in the moment.

  3. Ah, yes, that ever-elusive work-life balance. I remember it well. I also remember how I ended up on acid blockers to combat the stress I got buried in. Kudos to you for holding onto the gains you made. You can serve as a role-model for us all. πŸ™‚

    • So far the tests have come in short spurts, but I’m still grateful I have been able to stay mindful of the traps and pitfalls. The true test will be when things are going full force at work… I’ll revel in the on-ramping period as long as I can.

  4. Great photos and Abe’s words for your post! I want to see the photos of your Pure Barre class (as you made me look it up to see what it was) with your foot up over your head. After your year of sweat you must be at least as fit as those 15-year-old figure skaters! πŸ˜†

    • I’m not sure anyone has ever taken a selfie during a barre class. I am sure I won’t be the first one to do that. It’s enough work trying to keep a small ball squeezed between my upper thighs while I do unnatural things with my torso.

    • Aww thanks Kerry! You’re very sweet! I’m amazed at how (relatively) easy it is, IF you keep a cool head and don’t spaz out the second you can’t be all things to all people. (Something I did with frequency in the past.)
      xoxo

    • Hi Kathy! Thanks so much for your kind words. The funny thing is, when I took all the pics on Sunday I was just mucking around. But when I went to write this quick update post this morning I realized I had the perfect visual to accompany my narrative. πŸ™‚

  5. I never doubted you, Nancy. You’ve got this. You’re going to keep getting this. I’m so glad you had fun with your son and his girlfriend. I think it’s great that they wanted to spend 21st birthdays with you. How many kids want that?

    • Thank you, beautiful! It took a bit of juggling but I wasn’t going to sacrifice this amazing time. It’s been absolutely wonderful to share time with them and experience the sweetness if their love. Made me a very sappy and happy mom. ❀

  6. You are doing a great job! It is very stressful to start a new job and then have life butt in. I always stop exercising and watching what I eat when I start a new job! You are taking the best approach! I always talk my guests into hikes now so I know will get some exercise and then figure out how to work in walks to our activities. Keep at it, you are a rock start!!!

  7. The photos are just perfect! I DO understand, completely! I’ve been feeling that same squeeze. I have felt like a rubber band about to break…flexibility to the max, but it does reach a point where I can’t expand to include one more thing. I hope you have a good weekend, Nancy, and perhaps regain some of your schedule!! Me, too! LOL!

    • The kids were dropped off at the airport late last night for their red-eye flight back home. I was asleep by 11:30. Felt completely rested and energized at 7:30 this morning. On my second load of laundry already and just about to head out to my Pure Barre class. Oh happy and relaxed weekend!! 😦

      Hope yours is great Debra!

  8. I really like that part about being conscious of decisions we make and staying accountable to ourselves, not just others. A great reminder!
    I like the pictures but I’m pretty sure I would feel very uncomfortable sandwiched between rocks like that πŸ™‚
    Happy Weekend!

  9. Pingback: clarity, peace and joy | my year[s] of sweat!

  10. Pingback: pure hell at Pure Barre | my year[s] of sweat!

Talk to me

