week 51 workout summary

I am so excited to report that after 3.5 days without power due to a massive ice storm that hit Toronto on Saturday Dec 21st, our power came back on early Christmas morning.

Friends, I don’t know how our forefathers did it. (Or how the Amish do it today for that matter…) Call me spoiled, I don’t care. Having hot water and a warm home in the dead of winter isn’t a luxury, it’s a necessity.

I am so very grateful to have things almost back to normal here. There is the small issue of half a tree resting on my roof while it’s sister-limbs  block the walkway to my backyard, but when you have heat and light, it’s unbecoming to complain of such things.

Thanks to a giant snowfall Christmas Day, the ice-encrusted trees are now covered in powdery white snow. My backyard looks like a Currier & Ives Christmas card! It’s gorgeous, but I know that lovely blanket of white is hiding some damage. I suspect we’ll have some costly landscaping repairs in the spring as many of the ornamental trees look damaged beyond hope.

That said, my family is fortunate. We are all together. We’re healthy (except for me and my darned head cold that refuses to die), happy and (finally) warm!

Workout Summary: Dec 22 – Dec 28, 2013: 

Sunday Dec 22 (Day 356):

  • Cardio/Strength:

    • BLR 12 Days of Christmas – Day 10 Power Circuit: This is a timed workout. Do all of these moves over and over again for 20 minutes total. You are going for maximum # of rounds/reps in 20 minutes:

      • 10 Push-ups

      • 10 Sit-ups

      • 10 Burpees

      • 10 Alternating Lunges (5 per leg)

      • 10 Air Squats

Monday Dec 23 (Day 357):

  • Cardio/Strength:

    • BLR 12 Days of Christmas – Day 11 Power Circuit: Do all of moves, rest one minute, repeat.

      • 1 Box Jump

      • 2 Pull-ups or Jump Ups

      • 3 Squat Jumps

      • 4 Wall Balls (*I improvised and did wall push-ups)

      • 5 Jumping Jacks

      • 6 Burpees

      • 7 Overhead Press

      • 8 Sit-ups

      • 9 Medium Ball Slams (*I improvised and did push-ups)

      • 10 Dumbbell Walking Lunges

      • 11 Kettle Bell Swings

Tues Dec 24 (Day 358):

  • Cardio/Strength:

    • BLR 12 Days of Christmas – Day 12 Power Circuit: Do these 3 moves, increasing # of reps each round until you get to 12 rounds (12 reps per move) for a full pyramid.

      • Round 1:

        • 1 Sit-up

        • 1 Air Squat

        • 1 Burpee

      • Round 2:

        • 2 Sit-ups

        • 2 Air Squats

        • 2 Burpees

      • Round 3:

        • 3 Sit-ups

        • 3 Air Squats

        • 3 Burpees

Wed Dec 25 (Day 359):

  • Cook, Serve and clean up for a sit-down dinner for 9 people

  • Bonus Activity:

    • Squats: 50 (10 reps * 5 sets)

    • Sit-ups: 100 (25 reps * 4 sets)

    • Planks: 3 * 45 seconds

Thurs Dec 26 (Day 360):

  • Cardio/Strength:

    • BLR 12 Days – Day 5 power circuit (which I skipped last Tuesday): 500 Total Reps – as quickly as you can complete:

      • 100 Dumbbell Swings

      • 100 Wall Balls

      • 100 Step Ups

      • 100 Plank Up & Downs (hands to elbows)

      • 100 Bent Over Rows

Fri Dec 27 (Day 361):

  • Cardio:

    • Elliptical: 60 mins; 5.25 miles / 8.5 kms

  • Strength:

    • Standing Leg Raises (Side): 45 per leg (15 reps * 3 sets)

    • Standing Leg Raises (Back): 45 per leg (15 reps * 3 sets)

    • Squats: 45 (15 reps * 3 sets)

Sat Dec 28 (Day 362):

  • Cardio:

    • Elliptical: 45 mins; 3.9 miles / 6.34 kms

  • Strength:

 DSCF0873

Only 2 days left in My Year of Sweat so…

Get moving!

xoxo nancy

28 thoughts on “week 51 workout summary

    • See the previous post to get a summary of the year and then in the ps a teaser if what’s to come. 🙂

      I think I had a link in the previous week’s workout summary post to burpees. I guess it didn’t copy over in this post. Give it a google. Burpees were basically in wanted by the devil. Mountain Climbers too. 🙂

      Welcome back from Ireland! Hope your Christmas was lovely!

  1. Glad to hear you’ve got power. Isn’t it amazing how much we depend upon power and how it’s something we take for granted….until it’s not there. Your workout routine has been an inspiration. I’ve put the sugar away and vowed not to light up the over for awhile. All that’s left are a few more Christmas cookies to devour and my New Years resolution shall commence 🙂

  2. Nancy,

    I have a chain saw (how unexpected) but it is probably too far away to be any use. Sounds like the house escaped serious damage. That is a good thing.

    Patrick

      • I’m sure I’ve heard variations of it from many sources, but I just threw the words together myself and superimposed them on a photo I took of the far right corner of my backyard.

    • I actually wrote the preamble to this post a few days ago, and since then Mr. Enthusiasm borrowed a neighbours chain saw. The debris from the side walkway is gone, and most of the stuff on the roof too. Some was still caked in with ice, and he didn’t want to risk upsetting the roof shingles so he left the remaining up there until it melts. Damage seems pretty minimal at this point. Thankfully!

  3. Hey Nancy! Glad to hear your power is back on and you are warm and toasty! Nothing like a little shutdown to make us appreciate what we normally take for granted huh? Hope your stuffy cold gets cleared up by tomorrow so that you can celebrate properly! Happy New Year to both you and Mr. Enthusiasm! ~Kathy

  4. So pleased the power came back in time for Christmas but boo to lots of damage. I love these posts even more now as I’m going to be using some of the routines for my increased exercise this year. I have to google what some of the exercises are though 😉 LOL

    Btw it is officially 1 Jan here which means it almost is for you. You made it Nance!!! You bloody legend. What an amazing achievement. I hope 2014 is equally as amazing for you. Happy New Year!! Xoxo

Talk to me

