week 50 workout summary

The highlight of this week had to be the strength it took to get in a workout on Tuesday night (technically Wednesday morning).

Tuesday for me began with a 4am wake up time so that I could be at the airport by 5:30 for a 6:30 flight to New York. Clearly there was no working out before my flight, as that would have necessitated a 3:00am wake up. Not happening. Ever.

I had planned to spend the day in New York for some meetings, and then fly back to Toronto at 4:15pm, leaving plenty of time for a workout that evening back at home.

My meetings went very well — so well, in fact, that I ended up meeting with several more people than were originally planned. And then they asked if I would also attend their Christmas party. The decision was made and flights were changed.

My new flight was scheduled to depart at 9pm, still giving me the opportunity to do a decent workout upon arriving home around 11pm.

The best laid plans…

9pm came and went. My plane hadn’t even left Toronto yet (i.e. the one I would be needing to fly back home in). My flight eventually left around 11:15, arriving into Toronto around 12:45am.

I made it home by 1:30, exhausted.

I knew I had put in a fair bit of walking between the airports themselves, plus a short walk (6 blocks) from Penn Station to the building I was visiting, but felt that it wasn’t enough to qualify for a real workout. Despite the fact I did it in boots, with heels. 🙂

I decided to forego the Day 6 workout from BLR’s 12 Day’s program because, frankly, it was freaking late and I was bloody tired. So instead I did a bunch of push-ups and a few planks.

If you are interested in seeing the Day 5 workout just check out my Facebook page, where I’m posting each of the 12 Days workouts as they are published.

Workout Summary: Dec 15 – Dec 21, 2013: 

Sunday Dec 15 (Day 349):

    • Cardio:

      • Snow Shovelling: 30 mins

      • Elliptical: 30 mins; 2.7 miles / 4.4 kms

    • Strength:

      • BLR 12 Days of Christmas – Day 3 Power Circuit: Do all of these as fast as you can. Repeat 3X in total for total time.

        • 12 Bicep Burls

        • 12 Air Squats

        • 12 Chest Press

        • 12 Mountain Climber

        • 12 Bent Over Rows

        • 12 Jumping Jacks

        • 12 Tricep Kickbacks

        • 12 Jumping Squats

Monday Dec 16 (Day 350):

  • Cardio:

    • Elliptical: 60 mins; 5.25 miles / 8.5 kms

  • Strength:

    • BLR 12 Days of Christmas – Day 4 Power Circuit: Do all of these as fast as you can. Repeat for 4 rounds in total.

      • 12 Dumbbell Walking Lunges

      • 16 Pull-ups or Jump Ups

      • 13 Burpees

Tues Dec 17 (Day 351) – Travel Day:

  • Cardio:

    • Walking: Estimate 45 mins total; brisk pace, in heels. 🙂

  • Strength:

    • Push-ups: 50 (10 reps X 5 sets)

    • Planks: 3 X 45 seconds

Wed Dec 18 (Day 352):

  • Cardio:

      • Do all of these moves in succession (High knees/March is the recovery move) with no rest, for 7 rounds total (28 mins)

        • Butt-kickers – 1 min

        • Jog on the spot – 1 min

        • Jumping Jacks – 1 min

        • High knees (marching) – 1 min

  • Strength:

    • BLR 12 Days of Christmas – Day 6 Power Circuit: Do all of these as fast as you can. Repeat for 6 rounds in total.

      • 6 Push-ups

      • 6 Thrusters (Combo Squat + Overhead Press)

      • 6 Crunches

      • 6 Pistols (One-legged Squats)* (Note: this was the prescribed move. It is VERY advanced, and I couldn’t do it in good form, so I substituted single leg lunges instead – switching legs on each round)

Thurs Dec 19 (Day 353):

  • Cardio:

    • Elliptical: 60 mins; 5.25 miles / 8.5 kms

  • Strength:

    • BLR 12 Days of Christmas – Day 7 Power Circuit: One movement done for maximum reps

      • Burpees – 7 minutes – no rest!

Fri Dec 20 (Day 354):

  • Cardio:

    • Elliptical: 60 mins; 5.3 miles / 8.55 kms

  • Strength:

    • BLR 12 Days of Christmas – Day 8 Power Circuit: Do all of these as fast as you can. 8 Rounds in total. Rest 30 seconds between each round.

      • 8 Burpees

      • 8 Jump Squats (or Air Squats)

      • 8 Sit ups

Sat Dec 21 (Day 355):

  • Cardio:

    • Elliptical: 60 mins; 5.25 miles / 8.4 kms

  • Strength:

    • BLR 12 Days of Christmas – Day 9 Power Circuit: Two moves repeated for 9 Rounds, for total time.

      • 30 Second Sprint (outdoor or treadmill)

      • 12 Thrusters (Combo Squat + Overhead Press)

 

Stop saying I can’t and start saying I’ll try.

Only 9 days left in My Year of Sweat so…

Get moving!

xoxo nancy

***p.s. A quick footnote to add. Toronto has been hit by a massive ice storm, paralyzing parts of the city. I have personally been without power for 42 hours (as of mid-day Monday), with no phone service (Land line) and spotty cell service. If I do not comment or like posts – please know I’m thinking of, and missing, you all — I just don’t have the connectivity. Looking forward to catching up when power is restored.

27 thoughts on “week 50 workout summary

  1. I believe your walking on tuesday would have qualified…mind you…I have no idea how far 6 blocks is…blocks don’t really exist in the uk…it sounds a fair way though…

    but I probably wouldn’t have counted it either…if it isn’t a designated “walk” then it doesn’t count in my head…so really really well done for doing extra despite being worn out and it being ridiculous o’clock!!
    😀

    • If there was dancing, I’m thinking it would have happened much later, after more lubrication. 🙂 I left at 7:30 to head to Newark to make my scheduled 9pm flight. The walking likely would have ‘qualified’ but I just felt like I needed a little bit more to feel really good about ticking the box for that day. 🙂

    • The airport walking is the worst. I wished I had my pedometer on. The Toronto airport, in particular, is crazy long. I think the pilot parked in another town for the amount of brisk walking it took to get to the customs hall and then finally out. 🙂

  2. Absolutely count that walking. It is moving. Sometimes even sweating, given the odd heat wave NYC has been having.

    Sorry it will be Friday before power is restored. Fingers crossed that Santa will work a miracle.

    • It’s definitely not the Christmas I had planned, but I’ve got my family all here, we are keeping relatively warm and can grab a shower if we drive half hour to my mom’s or mother in law’s. Lots of folks have it much worse, I know.

  3. Walking to the office, meetings, hustling to the subway, up and down the stairs at the restaurant, then back to the airport- all in a very long day- definitely expended lots of energy. Still- I am glad you did the push ups and planks. Speaks to your commitment. Next time we can walk up the stairs to the 10th floor while we work 🙂 and then down later 🙂

  4. Wow, push ups and planks at 1:30am after being up since 4am! That is some dedication. I am imagining you’ve been huddled by a fireplace since you’ve been home. Hope you’ve gotten power back!!

Talk to me

