week 49 workout summary

I got back to Toronto Tuesday evening, and it’s been a whirlwind ever since: buy a tree, put up & trim the tree, add some holiday décor to the fireplace/mantle, dining room, and foyer, reorganize pantry and take inventory for the holiday baking, deal with the first snowstorm… in other words, loads of excuses to skip a workout. So tempting, I’m not gonna lie.

But with the finish line within spitting distance…that. was. not. going. to. happen.

And just when I was starting to feel the boredom of same-old, same-old workouts creeping in, my friends at BLR (Biggest Loser Resort) threw down a 12-Days of Christmas workout challenge. Starting Friday, they are posting a new circuit each day. These are fresh and fun, and give me a little mini goal for the next handful of days. They are not easy, but not really ‘enough’ to qualify for a good sweat for me, so I’m combining them with some cardio.

If you’d like to follow the 12 Days in real time, just check out my Facebook page. I’m posting each new days workout each day.

Workout Summary: Dec 8 – Dec 14, 2013: 

Sunday Dec 8 (Day 342):

  • Cardio:

  • Strength:

    • Lower Body/Legs (Complete entire program with no breaks; Rest 1 min; Repeat):

      • Side Leg Lift (Right leg) – 1 min

      • Side Leg Kick (Right leg) – 1 min

      • Inner Thigh Raise (Left leg) – 1 min

      • Side Leg Lift (Left leg) – 1 min

      • Side Leg Kick (Left leg) – 1 min

      • Inner Thigh Raise (Right leg) – 1 min

      • Hamstring Curls w/dumbbell between feet – 1 min

      • Seated Quad Lifts – 1 min

      • Static Lunge (Right leg) – 1 min

      • Static Lunge (Left leg) – 1 min 

Monday Dec 9 (Day 343):

  • Cardio:

    • Stairmaster: 45 mins; 148 floors climbed

  • Strength:

    • Upper Body/Arms (Complete entire program with no breaks; Rest 1 min; Repeat):

      • Overhead Press – 1 min

      • Bicep Curls – 1 min

      • Tricep Extension (Right arm) – 1 min

      • Tricep Extension (Left arm) – 1 min

      • Bent Over Row – 1 min

      • Front Raises – 1 min

      • Reverse Bridge Dips – 1 min

      • Push-ups – 1 min

      • High Side Plank (Right side) – 1 min

      • High Side Plank (Left side) – 1 min

Tues Dec 10 (Day 344) – Travel Day:

  • Cardio:

    • Stairmaster: 60 mins; 196 floors climbed

Wed Dec 11 (Day 345):

  • Cardio:

    • Elliptical: 60 mins; 5.2 miles / 8.4 kms

  • Strength:

    • Push ups: 30 (10 reps X 3 sets)

    • Planks: 3 X 60 seconds

    • Crunches: 100 (25 reps X 4 sets)

Thurs Dec 12 (Day 346):

  • Cardio:

    • Elliptical: 60 mins; 5.25 miles / 8.5 kms

  • Strength:

Fri Dec 13 (Day 347):

  • Cardio:

    • Elliptical: 30 mins; 2.7 miles / 4.4 kms

  • Strength:

    • BLR 12 Days of Christmas – Day 1 Power Circuit: Do all of these as fast as you can. Rest 1 minute. Repeat. Rest 1 minute. Repeat. (3 Rounds):

      • Run 1 mile

      • 100 Jumping Jacks

      • 75 Crunches

      • 50 Air Squats

      • 25 Push-ups

Sat Dec 14 (Day 348):

  • Cardio:

    • Elliptical: 60 mins; 5.2 miles / 8.4 kms

  • Strength:

    • BLR 12 Days of Christmas – Day 2 Power Circuit: Do all of these as fast as you can. Rest 1 minute. Repeat. (2 Rounds):

      • 20 Alternating Lunges

      • 30 second Plank

      • 10 Mountain Climbers

      • 20 Alternating Lunges

      • 45 second Plank

      • 10 Mountain Climbers

      • 20 Alternating Lunges

      • 60 second Plank

      • 10 Mountain Climbers

 

Only 16 days left in My Year of Sweat so…

Get moving!

xoxo nancy

35 thoughts on “week 49 workout summary

    • Believe me, yesterday when I had a giant kitchen accident that added 2 hours of unscheduled clean-up to my day, the temptation was unbelievably high. I may write a post about it. Not the temptation, but the stupid chain of events that landed me and hubby in drop-everything-all-hands-on-deck-clean-up-now mode. Still shaking my head.

      • Eeek! That sounds unpleasant! It could have been considered functional training and used as part if the work out…but that is a bit if a stretch even for me 🙂
        Well done for not giving in! 🙂

      • It actually was a tad of a workout: lots of elbow grease scrubbing the …mess. My arms are definitely sore today. I suspect that’s more a bi-product of the snow shovelling than the clean-up. Plus yesterday’s BLR 12 days program had some arm work which I went heavy dumbbells on.

  1. This is perfect — I’m about to go to the freezing north for 5 days for the holiday, and I was afraid that my work-out regime would fall apart because there is no way I am going for make it through my usual long runs in below-30 degree weather. With these circuits in my back pocket, I’ll be all set.

    • Oh Jhanis, thank you for a much needed giggle on a loooong day. I woke up at 4:00 am to catch a 6:30 flight to NYC. Now I’m trying to get home (9:30 pm) on a flight that has been delayed 3 hours. Fingers crossed I get out of here at 10:15 and in Toronto by 11:30. (And in my bed by 12:30am). Your comment was just what I needed to being a smile!

Talk to me

