losing my balance and then finding it again

I was beyond honoured when my friend Kerry asked me to write a guest post on her blog, Winding Road. I really respect her writing. She is honest, funny, poignant and real in the words she shares with her audience.

When she reached out, my immediate answer was, YES! I’d love to!!

But then anxiety set in. What in the world was I going to write about?

As I began to take stock of my journey, I realized there were a few lessons I learned along the way. Lessons that transcend exercise, diet and weight loss — topics perhaps not everyone has as keen an interest in as I do.

I wanted to pick a big AHA! moment, a key learning, which might apply to life in general.

Taking things to extremes.

What’s that they say? Everything in moderation…

For me it was going from a largely sedentary life to one where I went balls-to-the-wall for nearly 9 months of hard-core daily workouts of 2 hours or more.

Source

The softly swinging pendulum of my life started to feel more like an out-of-control wrecking ball, smashing with it my enthusiasm, my optimism and my desire to even continue on the path to my goal.Luckily, I was sufficiently tuned in to my own physical and mental well-being by this point in the journey to recognize this.

I knew I needed to regain balance in my life. I needed to get back to connecting to what was important for me.

If you’d like to learn more about how I turned that wrecking ball back into a manageable pendulum, please click over to read my post on Kerry’s blog here.

And then stay a while. Poke around a bit. Her posts really are awesome. I think there’s something there for everyone.

Thanks so much!

Get moving!

xoxo nancy

p.s. Note that I *could* have used any number of Miley-Wrecking-Ball images for the gratuitous nudity and shock factor. I see it as a sign of huge personal growth that I didn’t go there.  🙂

50 thoughts on “losing my balance and then finding it again

  1. Nancy I admire that you have stayed the course for this long. When we are older it becomes about keeping the body healthy so that we can enjoy our lives. So all that strength, both in boy and mind gives you a great quality of life.

    I have actually used some of the workouts to blend them into my own. So keep swinging the pendulum….um wrecking ball…

    • You’re so right Kelly. Now that I’m more in-the-groove of listening to my body, respecting it – while still continuing to push myself, I recognize that this is about achieving sustainable long term health and wellness. Not about fitting into a size 6.
      As always, thanks so much for reading and taking the time to comment. I really appreciate your words of wisdom.

  2. Congrats on being a guest blogger. I’ll be sure and head over to check it out. Never hold back on the ‘shock’ factor but I think we’re all a little Cyrus’d out, so thanks…..lol.

    • When I hear that I’ve inspired anyone to set a health-related goal it is unbelievably humbling. This Year of Sweat has provided me so many gifts, and this May rank among the most special to me. Thank you for your kind words.

  3. Lmao “balls to the wall”. Love it! Your post was great btw. You are so inspiring and holding on when you wanted to quit is amazing. I’ve been there and it’s not easy to turn it around when you feel like that so well done!!! Xx

    • I loved that quote I included in the guest post: the key to balance is recognizing when you’ve lost it. I’m sure I just messed it up though. 3rd glass of wine. Things are getting foggy.

  4. Pingback: slowing the swinging pendulum | my year of sweat!

Talk to me

