week 47 workout summary

What was that I was saying about finally being back to normal last Friday? It turns out that my return to health was short-lived. Friday, Saturday, Sunday and Monday saw me back in the pink, and returning to BodyPump and other regular gym activities. And then Tuesday Nov 26th rolled around.

I boarded my flight to Vegas at 9am, and shortly thereafter began experiencing strong stomach cramps. In a weak attempt at mind over matter, I shifted my focus to the handful of magazines I had brought with me. Sadly, Vanity Fair and Harpers Bazaar did little to take my mind off the pain.

The cramps got worse. As in, it felt like Satan himself had impregnated me, and his spawn was now clawing away at my insides, fighting for a way out.

Thankfully the other typical effects of a stomach flu didn’t manifest during the 4.5 hour flight. Small mercies. Nobody needs to be doing that in an airplane lavatory.    

I arrived at the condo and spent the rest of the day curled up in the fetal position. That is, when I was not hunched over on the toilet. Praying to die. Seriously.

Wednesday, feeling slightly better, I hit the gym for an excellent cardio + strength workout. And then I attempted some food. File that under worst idea ever.

On Thursday I fasted all day, in the hopes that I could join Mr. Enthusiasm in his Thanksgiving extravaganza. Turducken was involved.

I tried a little bit of everything.

And then I learned what Hell looks like. Thursday night through to Friday afternoon is one big blur. Much of that 18 hour period was spent in the bathroom. Praying for death.

Despite this I was able to get some form of exercise in each day of that hellish ride, including a 90 minute walk Friday night, which I’ve very proud of.

Exercising with a cold was a walk in the park compared to working out while attempting to birth the son of Satan. Through my ass.

Week 47 was, without a doubt, my most challenging week yet.

Workout Summary: Nov 24 – Nov 30, 2013: 

Sunday Nov 24 (Day 328):

  • Cardio:

    • Stairmaster: 30 mins; 94 floors climbed

  • Strength:

    • BodyPump: 60 mins

Monday Nov 25 (Day 329):

  • Cardio:

  • Strength:

    • BodyPump: 45 mins

Tues Nov 26 (Day 330) [travel day + sick day]:

  • Cardio:

    • Walking: 45 mins; YYZ + LAS airports

  • Strength:

    • Push-ups: 30 (10 reps * 3 sets)

    • Tricep Dips: 30 (10 reps * 3 sets)

    • Planks: 3 * 45 seconds

Wed Nov 27 (Day 331) [Sick but slightly better day]:

  • Cardio:

    • Stairmaster: 30 mins, 96 floors climbed

    • Treadmill: 30 mins; 3.5 mph; 5% incline

  • Strength:

    • Chest Press: 3 sets of 12 reps

    • Chest Fly: 3 sets of 12 reps

    • Alternating Arm Press: 3 sets of 12 reps

    • Shoulder Press: 3 sets of 12 reps

    • Upward Row: 3 sets of 12 reps

    • Arnold Press: 3 sets of 12 reps

Thurs Nov 28 (Day 332) [Really sick day]:

  • Strength:

    • Push-ups: 30 (10 reps * 3 sets)

    • Planks: 3 * 45 seconds

    • Tricep Dips: 30 (10 reps * 3 sets)

    • Bicep Curls: 3 sets of 15

Fri Nov 29 (Day 333) [On death’s door day]:

  • Cardio:

    • Walk: 90 mins

Sat Nov 30 (Day 334):

  • Cardio:

    • Hiking: Oak Creek Canyon; 2 hours

 

Time to say goodbye to these past 2+ weeks, where I found myself sick 14 of 18 days. Good riddance November.

Get moving!

xoxo nancy

51 thoughts on “week 47 workout summary

  1. You are a woman of iron!!!! I really hope you feel better soon – that sounds awful. However, I am, as usual, in complete awe of your commitment and energy! X

    • Oh man…last week nearly killed me. Even on Saturday, when I thought I was completely over it, a 2-hour hike (which I would normally have found pretty easy) took every ounce of energy out of me. Finally feeling back to normal(ish) this week. Fingers crossed.

  2. wow….impressive. I would’ve stayed curled up. The heck with exercise. Hope you’re feeling better and able to enjoy some great Vegas weather before a cold front rolls in 🙂

    • We got a 2 hour hike in on Saturday, and it was just beautiful out – not a cloud in the sky and around 65, I think. Yesterday was gorgeous (even warmer), but apparently there is a cold front coming in from Cali, so I better hustle if I want more outdoor play time.

  3. I’m so sorry to hear you suffered a stomach virus over Thanksgiving. How awful. Nothing worse than the pukes and the poops. Must have made for one miserable plane ride, though, as you say, luckily the shoots and squirts hadn’t started yet. (And yes, I’m sure I have endless synonyms for vomiting and diarrhea…)

    • Aww, poor guy! At least it sounds like he did the smart thing and avoided eating on Thanksgiving. I wish I’d had that wisdom. :-S
      Hope he’s on the mend. I’m almost back to normal.

  4. Nancy, Sorry to hear you were so sick last week. Nothing is worse than a stomach aliment that goes on for days. Thankfully you made it to the condo and glad to hear you are on the road to recovery. BTW – The BBQ tri-tip was a big hit with my in-laws as well as my son who was home from college (starving student). This may become a family tradition.

  5. Hey Nancy! Glad to hear you survived…..Satan be damned! I didn’t see many of your posts around the usual haunts so I just figured you were out hiking mountains again…didn’t see that one coming huh? At any rate, now that things are looking better AND it’s December–may the next 30 days be a piece of cake! (not literally of course!) ~Kathy

  6. Man oh man Nancy – you are one DETERMINED woman! Can’t believe the workouts you did while feeling that horrible. You’re a better man than I Gunga Din. — BTW – how was the turducken? Good? Bad? Ugly? — I bet it was actually pretty damn good 🙂

    • The turducken was pretty f’ing awesome Mike, not gonna lie. In fairness though, it wasn’t the real deal. Instead it was branded a turducken breast — so what they had done is roll a chicken breast and a duck breast (side by side) inside a turkey breast – and folded it up like a taco. The chicken didn’t really add anything, but the duck did give it a LOT more moisture than you’d normally get in a turkey breast, plus some more intense gamey flavour.

      I’m definitely open to trying the real deal (chicken shoved up inside duck’s ass, duck shoved up inside turkey’s ass) in the future though. 🙂

  7. oh my word! you really are motivated or just really stubborn, aren’t you? haha! to work out through a stomach bug is crazy…I mean amazing! 🙂 I love this line, “…while attempting to birth the son of Satan. Through my ass.” BEST LINE EVER!

  8. Oh Nancy, how awful! You poor thing!!! I’m going to steal some of your strength training ideas for when I’m at home and can’t get to the gym.. Thanks for sharing! And I’m glad you are finally feeling better. Tummy bugs are hideous 😦

  9. You are my hero. I once attempted to walk with an upset stomach. Let’s just say I didn’t quite make it back to the car………

    Glad you are feeling better now.

    Is the Oak Creek Canyon the one in Sedona? Is your blog theme new?

    • Feeling better, but wondering if my poor ass will ever be the same. Suffice to say I’ve been sitting in my airplane neck roll pillow for the past few days.

      The trail is named Oak Creek Canyon trail, but it’s situated in Red Rock Canyon. An easy 2.5 mile hike, but super challenging for me Saturday.

      And yeah, I switched over to the Suburbia theme after I saw another blogger had adopted this theme. I live that it makes for easy navigation to older posts and seems more streamlined. What do you think of it Andra?

  10. Oh my goodness, how did you bring yourself to exercise through that? You have huge amounts of mental strength! I really really hope that December brings better health for you x

    • Aww thanks Helen. When you’re 330+ days into a 365 day journey, it’s really about being stubborn and refusing to allow it to derail you. 😉
      That said, I am SO glad it’s over, and hope the next 29 days are smooth sailing!

  11. Oh my gosh! That sounds so absolutely terrible :-/ I can’t believe you kept soldiering through it and trying to work out and all of that! I just melt into a big puddle of pathetic when I have the slightest symptom of illness. It’s my masculine side.
    I hope you’ve kicked it and are on the up and up now!

  12. Pingback: oh trust me lady, I’ve got options | my year of sweat!

  13. Oh my gosh, Nancy! If you haven’t had this type of flu you can’t understand a person’s desire to die while going through it. You literally want to end it all! Thank goodness it waited until you got off the plane! “Impregnated by Satan” is the perfect description! I’m pleading that today is a better day though the “Niagra Falls” continue. 😦

    • Maria, natural childbirth (x2) was a walk in the park compared to this. My last line – about birthing the spawn of satan through my ass – was the best description I could offer. Worst. Flu. Ever.

  14. I’ve been there before. Being on the porcelain throne, promising God that you’ll live like Mother Theresa if he would only make this pain go away. My pain was more like the Alien chest burster wanted to come straight out of my belly. Not fun and not pretty!

    • Yes, Alien would have been another perfect analogy. It seriously felt like something evil was squeezing the shit out of my intestines (no pun intended). Horrible.

Talk to me

