week 45 workout summary

The week started out strong, with a heavier focus on cardio, in preparation for my first ever 5k race on Saturday.

Things went slightly off track on Wednesday when I woke up with a head cold. I assumed that my under-the-weather feeling would lift by the end of the day. You see, since January 1st and embarking on this ‘year of sweat’, I have not been sick.

Okay, twice I woke up slightly congested, with cold-like symptoms, but both of those times I simply downed a ton of water, ate lots of nutrient-rich foods (berries, dark leafy greens, etc.) and got a good sweat in. And both times, I was completely back to normal by the end of the day. 

In fact, it made me so cocky that I’ll admit to a secret belief that I had developed a superhero-like immune system. Nothing could take me down! I even managed to get through flu season completely unscathed.  

Unfortunately that winning streak seems to have ended.

On Thursday the congestion brought with it a sinus headache. Perhaps not using the best judgment, I ventured out to an hour long BodyPump class. About 10 minutes in, it felt like someone was stabbing me in the skull with an icepick. In spite of this, I decided that finishing the class would be a good idea.  Turns out, not so much.

By Friday it was apparent that I wasn’t shaking this cold anytime soon, so I decided to save my energy for the Ugly Sweater Run (5k) Saturday morning. Nothing was going to get in the way of this 5k, since my stupid exploding calves derailed my last planned attempt in Vegas last month. 

I won’t steal my own thunder (race recap blog post to follow), but I will share with you that I had my best 5k run time ever. Head cold or not, finishing a 5k, something I never dreamed possible a year ago, made me feel invincible, superhero-like. And so proud of myself.  

Workout Summary: Nov 10 – Nov 16, 2013: 

Sunday Nov 10 (Day 314):

  • Cardio:

    • Elliptical: Time 01:30:00; 12.1 kms / 7.5 miles

  • Strength:

    • Push-ups: 30 (10 reps X 3 sets)

    • Planks: 3 X 30 seconds

Monday Nov 11 (Day 315):

  • Cardio:

    • Stairmaster: 15 mins; 50 floors climbed

  • Strength:

    • BodyPump: 45 min class

Tues Nov 12 (Day 316):

  • Cardio:

    • Elliptical: Time 01:30:00; 11.6 kms / 7.2 miles

  • Strength:

Wed Nov 13 (Day 317):

Thurs Nov 14 (Day 318):

  • Cardio:

    • Elliptical: 60 mins; 8.4 kms / 5.2 miles

  • Strength:

    • BodyPump: 60 mins

Fri Nov 15 (Day 319):

Sat Nov 16 (Day 320):

  • Cardio:

  • Strength:

    • Push-ups: 30 (10 reps * 3 sets)

    • Planks: 3 * 60 seconds

 

Get moving!

xoxo nancy

38 thoughts on “week 45 workout summary

  1. Boooo at your cold!! Lots of vitamin c and suchlike!! I hope you feel better soon!!

    I ahve learned from experience that body pump doesn’t actually make you feel better if you are feeling under the weather…no matter how much you think it might! this won’t stop either of us doing it again next time mind you 😀

    looking forward to reading about the run!

    • Ugghhh Sam, I hate being sick. I’ve gone 11+ months without it, so I’m mostly just angry with my immune system for letting me down. That said, now that the 5k is out of the way, I’m definitely going to be smart before this develops into something worse. Manageable cardio (elliptical) will be the order of the day. No BodyPump for me. 😦

  2. Way to go! Man, I hear you on the cold front too – why do we all just push through thinking that doing a hard workout will help when our bodies are weakened by the cold and need to rest… but we do. I think we’re way more concerned about breaking the promise to ourselves to workout – and thus losing mental focus, breaking the string of success, and not wanting to let some stupid cold defeat us. That said, look at you – a little rest then killing it on your run! Nice.

    • Well the pushing thru for me is really just about making it to Dec 31 and 365 days if sweat without missing a day. It’s mid November, so even if I was bleeding, dragging a limb behind me, or hooked up to an IV, I will get a sweat in every day. I am not letting anything derail that goal this late in the game. 🙂

      That said, the rattling in my lungs and persistent cough since Saturday afternoon tell me my cold-induced asthma kicked in while running the 5k. I need to be smart over the next few days. No outdoor workouts and no running. Will improvise and *try* to listen to my body. Not getting benched late in the 4th quarter. 🙂

      • Ha-ha! That’s awesome. Going big for the win – I love it! Yeah, but I agree, just try and take the workouts down a notch or two — then really give ‘er when you’re back to full strength and finish STRONG. Cool.

  3. Congrats on your run time but sorry for your cold. I often joke that I have the immune system of a goddess, too. I chalk it up to sleep, exercise, and lots and lots of berries. 🙂

    Unfortunately, it’s my joints that are giving me grief. Still have some fluid in my left knee, and two days ago, I jammed my toe against my son’s heel. Real smooth move. The joint is so swollen, I’m sure it’s broken, but we don’t do anything but buddy tape a broken toe, anyway, so I didn’t bother with an xray. Needless to say no workout for me today. I did upper body weights yesterday, but since there’s no need to do that two days in a row, I took today off. I know you know how hard that is…

    • Ugh – so sorry about your knee plus toe. My biggest fear us that I’ll sustain an injury (broken ankle, wrist, etc) that would derail my 365 plan. I know I’m pushing harder than I should, but with just 6.5 weeks left….I’m sooooo close! Can’t wait til Jan 1 and a more sensible workout plan. 🙂
      Wishing you speedy healing Carrie!

    • Ha! Believe me, the euphoria lasted for a few hours, but then, as my incessant cough kicked in (cold-induced ashthma), and energy level slipped further south, and my sinus headache became a permanent fixture, I began to question the wisdom of my decision. Sorry I’m being a whiner. Today is my sickest day yet – and I’m SO OVER IT! 😦

      • Oh you are so welcome to whine at me. I was sick a month or so ago and I spent the whole time falling over on people and wailing “WHY IS THIS HAPPENING TO ME?!”

        I hope you get to feeling better soon!

      • Brilliant! I should start doing that at the gym. Just to make sure everyone is properly awed by my iron-willed commitment in the face of this ebola-like disease. 🙂

    • I couldn’t believe how much fun it was. Thankfully the weather was warm(ish) at 14C and dry. I think if it was any colder or rainy, I may have bailed. So glad I got it done and can now just focus on trying to shake this cold without being too stupid with workouts.

  4. Hey Nancy….hang in there! I saw your photos of the ugly sweater run and thought you were all well cuz you were smiling! At least you got a little boost from your good time….now take care of yourself!!!! I know we all want to believe that we are so super healthy and “special” that we never get sick, but stuff happens. As you’ve said you are so-o-o close to your goal that at this point finishing is the big reward. You KNOW all of us are cheering you on! ~Kathy

    • It was all downhill after the run, Kathy. I have a condition called cold-induced asthma — essentially asthma like symptoms triggered by exercise in cold weather. I thought I’d be okay with the milder temps, but I think the fact that I already had a cold had me super susceptible. 😦 Today is my worst day yet. Incessant coughing/rattling — but my elliptical session earlier went okay. I’m going to jump on again for another hour after dinner. The sweating feels good. And I’m secretly hoping I can somehow sweat it out. 🙂
      Thank you so much for the positive words and encouragement.
      xoxo nancy

    • Thanks Andra! It felt pretty awesome to finish in a time that smoked any previous 5k time for me. (The cynic in me is questioning if the course was a full 5k…)

      Now that I’m sicker than ever, I’m having a hard time basking I the afterglow. Maybe when I write up the race recap tomorrow I’ll get back in the spirit.

  5. Pingback: week 46 workout summary | my year of sweat!

Talk to me

