happy anniversary, RP

One year ago, at the end of a decadent weekend of debauchery, I embarked on what would prove to be the most challenging week of my life, both physically and mentally. I am so grateful that I got to share that experience with my dearest friend, the Russian Princess.

Her relentless drive, boundless energy and inexplicably positive attitude throughout the torture inflicted upon us that week kept me on task. Sometimes her spirit motivated me, in that infectious way positive energy can often do. At other times it just pissed me off and made me move out of sheer anger. As in, how can you possibly be smiling when we’re in this much pain??? I need to punch something!

She was a rock star that week, and continues to be a positive influence in my life, and a source of ongoing motivation. If for nothing else, it gives me a reason to train hard so that I have a shot at beating her ass down the next time we decide to visit BLR Fitness Ridge.

Happy Anniversary, my beautiful friend. Thank you for helping me expose my vulnerability, admit my struggles and ask for help. I turned a corner on that Thursday and I couldn’t have done it without you. Thank you, love you, owe you.

Fotor1114150423

 

Get moving!

xoxo nancy

p.s. I will OWN you next time we go back!

16 thoughts on “happy anniversary, RP

  1. Yup, yup, yup. Keep the positive people in your life and shed the negative ones (if you can). It’s so great you have such a fantastic and supportive friend – nice 🙂

    • Kathy, I’m not sure I would have survived the week without her. 🙂 As I said in an earlier comment, I think one of the biggest benefits of growing lord is that we do eventually get smarter about choosing friends. She’s a keeper!

  2. Pingback: lost and found | my year[s] of sweat!

Talk to me

