on third and ready to run home

Yesterday marked 10 months complete in my goal of an entire year of daily workouts. In baseball terms I would be just tagging third base.

This is a big deal, right? 304 consecutive days of sweat.

Yet I recall being much prouder of achieving Day 17, Day 39, Day 121. I remember WOOT WOOT’ing my achievements during those early days. But yesterday I was kind of, oh yeah, another month down. woohoo. Lower case.

On the one hand, I suppose I could look at my general ‘meh’ attitude towards this latest milestone as me no longer being excited that I’m sticking with the program because this is the new normal for me. I workout every day. It’s what I do. It’s my lifestyle. Nothing to see here. Move along.

And that is totally wicked cool.

On the other hand, WTF? When did I stop celebrating my successes?

Perhaps it’s because I noticed that I had gained a pound (as in exactly 1 lb) a few days after arriving in Vegas a couple weeks ago.

Or maybe it’s because I am frustrated that I haven’t seen more dramatic weight loss after 10 months of hard sweating and making better food choices.

If so, that’s pretty shitty. And also shallow.

Now I can hear the chorus of voices from you, dear readers, kind in tone – but aggressive in message – telling me to get real.

So it’s time for me to reality check myself.

Here’s what I can do, 304 days into this journey:

  • I routinely climb 200+ floors on the stairmaster in a single session. By comparison, the CN Tower (formerly the tallest freestanding building in the world) is 147 floors.
  • I can now complete workout DVDs in their entirety. The same ones that would see me taking breaks after first few exercises several months ago.
  • I can run for 30 minutes without any rest or walk breaks. I may not be the fastest, but I’m proud all the same. A year ago I couldn’t run more than 3 minutes without stopping.
  • I can climb mountains of 11,000’+, despite living, for the most part, at sea-level. My lungs rock!
  • I am able to let go of anger and stress so much quicker now. My default position is one of optimism and happiness.

I have so much to celebrate.

304978_10151237800823474_73672513_n

Thank you all so much for your words of wisdom these past 10 months. When I need answers, or a reality check, I know I can come here and expect to get it from you.

That said, it’s pretty cool that today I was able to find my way on  my own. Thank you for training me so well.

Get moving!

xoxo nancy

27 thoughts on “on third and ready to run home

  1. Congrats! 304 days of sweat is a HUGE deal! And try not to let the scale bother you – although I know it’s hard because weight is such a focus in our world. Since I started working out, I’ve only lost a few pounds (and I never weigh myself but my doctor sort of forced me into it at my physical) but I know I am more toned, stronger, and healthier. The achievements you noted at the end (running for 30 minutes non-stop, climbing mountains) are worth so much more than what a number on the scale says!

    Congrats again 🙂

    • I know you’re right Jackie. The way my clothes fit now (not to mention the two sizes I’m down) plus the way I feel when I move now –priceless. Oh, and seeing muscles in my triceps and shoulders and other random parts — visible to the naked eye… totally cool!

      thanks for your support all along the way!

  2. 304 days is awesome, and actually the fact that it is the new normal is even more awesome because you will keep it up 🙂

    I agree with the other commenter, the achievements you have listed are so much more important than the scale number…they are huge achievements! You have come such a long it gives those of us at day 132 hope!

    • Nancy your achievements are fantastic! I feel so motivated how you have taken each day in stride. I need to get to it!….thanks for sharing

      • Oh Jean…some days were MUCH harder than others. I tried not to whine too hard on this blog, but trust me, there were a handful of days (particularly at the end of Aug/beginning of Sept) where I literally had to have hour long conversations with myself to motivate myself to get out and workout. Thankfully most days aren’t like that, and I just routinely schedule it in, the same way I’d plan to eat or sleep. 🙂

        Thanks for your support – it means the world!

    • I have zero doubt that you will make your 365 goal (and then some!). I’m so glad we found each other here Sam. You have been a tremendous supporter AND a giant inspiration. xoxo nancy

  3. I think it’s smart to assess things on what you CAN do now that you couldn’t 10 months ago. We’re always too quick to focus on the negative, when in reality, what you’ve accomplished and gained is truly impressive! And you motivate others along the way. What could be better? 🙂

    • I know you’re right Carrie! Sometimes those negative thoughts creep in for a fraction of a second — but I know, deep inside, that everything I’ve achieved these past 10 months is so much more important than a specific number on a scale or the ability to run a 20 minute 5k (not gonna happen…). 🙂

      Thank you, as always, for the love and support you share so generously.

  4. Huge stress relief, 2 sizes down, feel AND look much better – compared to the number on a scale………. I’ll take the first category hands down!!
    Congrats & keep it going, Nancy! Your tenacity and enthusiasm are showing 🙂

  5. Wow, you are strong in so many ways! Those are some major accomplishments. So now I’m curious…what will happen at the end of this year? How will you celebrate and will you begin a new year long daily challenge?

    • Interesting question, Kerry. I know I’m committed to a lifelong lifestyle conducive to healthy living. What that’ll look like exactly, I’m not sure yet. The truth is that daily (strenuous) workouts are really hard on your body, and you run the risk of injury as a result. I’m thinking of adopting Bob Harper’s motto which is: 3 Days On; 1 Day Off; 52 weeks a year. So basically you commit to never going more than 1 day without a workout, and the formula is 3 consecutive days, then rest, then 3 consecutive days. That said, I’m a big walker, so even on ‘rest days’ I’ll probably still be putting in 3-5 kms of moderate to brisk walking in. Anyway, that’s the general plan at this point.

      The other challenge that I’ll probably be getting more structured around is a list of mountains I’d like to climb in 2014. With that goal, it will keep my workouts very focused on the combination of cardio + strength + endurance required to hit 14,000+ peaks.

      Thanks for asking!

  6. Pingback: This Month’s Jaw-Drop Comments « Hacker. Ninja. Hooker. Spy.

  7. Pingback: week 43 workout summary | my year of sweat!

  8. Pingback: This Month's Jaw-Drop Comments - Aussa Lorens

Talk to me

