norma jean’s words

“I used to say to myself, ‘What the devil do you have to be proud about, Marilyn Monroe?’ And I’d answer, ‘Everything, everything’.”  MARILYN-MONROE-1952

Marilyn-Monroe “We should all start to live before we get too old. Fear is stupid. So are regrets.”

“She was a girl who knew how to be happy, even when she was sad. And that’s important.”  marilyn2

“I’m selfish, impatient and a little insecure. I make mistakes, I am out of control, and at times hard to handle. But if you can’t handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don’t deserve me at my best.”

Marilyn Monroe“No one ever told me I was pretty when I was a little girl. All little girls should be told they’re pretty, even if they’re not.”

“I restore myself when I’m alone.”

“Success makes so many people hate you. I wish it wasn’t that way. It would be wonderful to enjoy success without seeing envy in the eyes of those around you.”

“I am trying to find myself. Sometimes that’s not easy.”

Marilyn, a legend, an icon, and forever Norma Jean.

It’s hard to imagine that one of the worlds greatest symbols of beauty and sensuality dealt with life-long insecurity, self-doubt and sadness. This is a good reminder that we all have our own demons to battle. And that we cannot know a book by browsing its cover.

Like Norma Jean, I believe we’re all just trying to do the best we can with what we’ve got.

Get moving…

xoxo nancy

21 thoughts on “norma jean’s words

  1. The words we hear as a child can set the seeds of lifelong insecurity. This is painfully true in eating disorders. Studies have found that seemingly innocuous comments, particularly from fathers or brothers, can set girls up for eating disorders (the findings aren’t as clear for boys since there isn’t as much research with them). Words like, “Ooh, someone’s getting a little extra padding, aren’t they?” even if said with teasing and love can trigger a response. That doesn’t mean we should fill kids up with mindless praise, but we need to be careful what we say around them.

    Sorry if my comment is a little off the topic, but it seemed to fit here.

  2. Marilyn fluctuated between a size 6 and a size 16 during her adult years…..and was amazingly beautiful and adored at all of them 🙂

  3. Hi Nancy…so now that you have stated that you’re a big Marilyn fan then you HAVE to come down to Palm Springs and see our 26′ Marilyn statue. Have you heard of it? It’s set up in a temporary place right down town but the time for her to move on keeps being delayed because she is so popular. Google it!

    I think the reminder with Marilyn is that there is ALWAYS more to the story than just the hype. To get where she got so fast she had to be smart….but there was a big price to pay for that success. Thanks for the great reminders. ~Kathy

    • Kathy, I’ve seen it and I fan-girled all over it! 🙂 Master marketer, she was. But her story just breaks my heart. Have you seen the film, My Week With Marilyn? What did you think?

      • Yes, we saw the movie last year so it’s been a while…but I do remember that it was tragically sad. We’re watching the new “Masters of Sex” on HBO and it is such a good reminder that women had it MUCH different back then (just 50-60 years ago) that it’s otherwise hard to remember how far we have gone. While there are definitely still some hurdles to jump–we’ve sure “come a long way baby!”

      • It was such a tragic and poignant film, wasn’t it?
        And, yes, we are also watching Masters of Sex. Hard to believe how far we’ve come in a relatively short period of time. (But, thank heavens for that!)

  4. You know, I’ve never regretted anything, I’ve preferred to view moments in my life that haven’t gone the way I might like, or didn’t turn out the way I might have expected as simply, a learning experience…regret should be removed from our vocabulary…

    Hey…picking up your hat tomorrow! It’ll be on its way this week! 🙂

Talk to me

