giving thanks

In Canada we celebrate Thanksgiving Day on the second Monday in October, thus making this Thanksgiving weekend here in my home country.

A non-Canadian friend once asked me what Thanksgiving means in Canada. I didn’t have an immediate answer. So I did some research. The Canadian holiday celebrates the harvest and other blessings of the past year. It was declared a holiday on January 31, 1957 by the Parliament of Canada, where they proclaimed, “A Day of General Thanksgiving to Almighty God for the bountiful harvest with which Canada has been blessed – to be observed on the 2nd Monday in October.”

So, it seems our sentiment for this holiday is linked quite closely with that of our neighbours to the South.

In the spirit of taking a moment to just be thankful for all the blessings in our lives, I dedicate this post to gratitude.

I am grateful for my family.

I am grateful for my health.

I am grateful for the abundance that this life has offered me. And I’m also grateful for the struggles I’m currently facing. It makes me realize just how fortunate I have been in the past.

I am grateful for my friends. And I’m grateful that the tough times have provided me the clarity to know who the close/deep/forever ones are.

I am grateful to have had the good fortune to travel many places. I am grateful that I learn so much every time I venture out of my backyard.

Whether it’s the eerie display at Stonehenge, the colourful wooden vessels carrying Port wine in Porto, Portugal, the majestic peaks at Zion National Park in Utah, the wonder of a lone poppy growing amid the ancient ruins in Turkey, the azure waters kissing the shore in Sicily, or the architectural wonder of Santa Maria de Montserrat monastery high above Barcelona, Spain, I am richer for having experienced it.

Stonehenge9Fuji Pics 284IMG_0156IMG_0424IMG_333Fuji Pics 359

I am grateful to have discovered hiking. And for the fact that it has helped me feel more connected to the universe.

I am especially grateful for the feeling of peace I experience when climbing a mountain and taking in the majesty of nature, a feeling I have never had in any house of worship. The mountains are my ‘church’.

I am grateful for laughter. And tears. Both make me feel alive.

I am grateful for this journey of mine. I started out to lose weight. In the process I found myself.

I am grateful for this blog. What began as an online diary morphed into a hobby and then a passion.

And finally, I am grateful for you, my dear readers. Every visit, every comment, means more than you know. It fills my heart with joy that you would take the time to stop by and read my silly words. Your comments teach me, they make me think, they help me grow.

Wishing you all a joyous Thanksgiving, if you are celebrating it here in Canada. If not, I simply wish you joy.

Keep moving!

xoxo nancy

42 thoughts on “giving thanks

  1. Happy Thanksgiving Nancy to you and the family! I’ll be ready for a massive get together when you get back from LV. Big hugs! xoxo

  2. I am grateful that I found your blog which is interesting and inspiring and that you are such a lovely person who writes such nice things on my blog 😀

    And (inspired by your stonehenge pic) I am (in advance) grateful that I get to dance with Mythago inside this amazing monument as part of the Druid ritual for the winter solstice. This is exciting and slightly scary!

  3. Pingback: giving thanks | catching up with my year of sweat! | Hey Sweetheart, Get Me Rewrite!

  4. All wonderful things to be grateful for. It’s amazing how many days can fly past us without us taking the time to stop and just be grateful for what we have. Your post has reminded me to do that today, even if I no longer live in Canada. 🙂 (Lived there for five years as a child. Saskatchewan. In a trailer home. On a cold, empty prairie. Brrrrr….)

      • I’ll bet! I’ve never been to Saskatchewan, but have been to northern Alberta on business in the winter months. During one flight there the plane had to circle the skies until the sun rose to make it warm enough to land. Something about the equipment (can’t remember if it was landing gear related or something else) prevented us from landing while it was that frigid (pre-dawn). Crazy!

  5. Happy Thanksgiving Nancy! I hope you have a wonderful time with both of your families….and congratulations on your 100th post! That is definitely an accomplishment to be proud of…and that you found it to be as rewarding as it certainly can be is just icing on the cake. So how long will you be in Vegas? You know you are only about 5 hours from where we live…if you decide to do some hiking in Joshua Tree National Park…which is pretty amazing…let me know and we can plan a meet up! If not this time maybe a future visit. At any rate have a weekend overflowing with gratitude and thanksgiving! ~Kathy

  6. Happy Thanksgiving. May the turkey be juicy and tender, the wines plentiful, and the family peaceful. I’m glad you’re writing, and that I found your blog. If you like Thai food, check out Lotus of Siam while in Vegas. Do not let the neighborhood deter you. 🙂

  7. Pingback: The Second Annual SMART Living 30-Day Gratitude Challenge-2013

  8. Pingback: a grateful nancy is a happy nancy | my year of sweat!

  9. Reblogged this on my year[s] of sweat! and commented:

    Happy Thanksgiving to all those celebrating today. I’m sharing last year’s Thanksgiving post because all the things I was thankful for last year still resonate for me. I would add to this list that I know consider many, many “dear readers” to now be real friends. I would also add that having rejoined the working class and become the recipient of a paycheque is also something I am very grateful for!
    Keep moving! (Especially after a big turkey dinner)
    xoxo nancy

    • Thanks Rob! I am also grateful that I generally get to celebrate Thanksgiving north and south of the border, something which I never take for granted. Fingers crossed this year won’t be an exception!

Talk to me

