aging with grace or freezing your assets?

I’ve spent more time thinking about aging these past few days than I have the past few years, likely due to my impending birthday.

Everyone, it seems, is getting injected with something to plump up lips and cheeks, and to erase those pesky lines. I fear that at soon-to-be-47, I may be the last un-injected woman in the Western hemisphere.

Being pop-culture obsessed, I watch with horror as one good actress after another fills her face with so much shit that it can no longer move. Emoting is a pretty big requirement of the job, so it seems counterproductive to freeze your face to the point that it becomes immobile.

It’s also completely creepy.

And then there’s my girl-crush, Susan Sarandon, a total bad-ass – and the best example of aging with grace that I can think of. Strong, beautiful, real. And confident enough to embrace her lines, her curves, her age – and still be dead sexy in the process – at 67 years old. 67! Sexy bitch.

The ruins of this formerly stately home, in Crete, inspired today’s Haiku. So did Susan. And, no, I’m not inferring that she is in ruins. The contrary.

IMG_0520

‘tho age robs beauty
façade crumbles to reveal
gem of foundation

Get moving…

xoxo nancy

29 thoughts on “aging with grace or freezing your assets?

  1. I will absolutely salute your decision of aging genuinely with nothing fake on your face. I think if we keep ourselves happy and contented, we’ll be beautiful inside out.

  2. i think I finished that last sentence in the wrong place…but I can’t remember how it was going to end…

    I think actual age means nothing, outlook, lifestyle and attitude play such huge parts in how we are perceived. I am 37, most people think I am younger (these days they think I am about 30) I am sure it is more to do with attitude than anything else…I have no idea how old I look because there is no benchmark look for each age…
    not at all how I thought it would be when I was 7!

    • I think you’re right Sam. Age is about who we are, how we live, what we put out into the world. When I talk about aging with grace, I’m just referring to what seems to be a panicked dash for every beauty cream, syringe of botox or any other youth-in-a-jar promise out there. It makes me sad that so many women feel the need to address the exterior – when the exterior is just one small part of who we are – and certainly doesn’t define our beauty and worthiness.

      • that I completely agree with!
        The thought if injecting poison into my face to make is smoother fills me full of terror!
        from that point of veiw I am all for agineg with grace…
        behaviour wise…I thing I am going to go with aging with disgrace :-p I can’t break the habit now! I have the wrong boots for grace :-p

  3. Our culture/society is at fault for many people not willing to accept the fact that as we age our body changes. Unfortunately I got the gene that lead to being bald on top. I refused to do the stupid comb over so for a while I just cut it real short. About a year ago I just shaved it all off (it happen to Breast Cancer Awareness Month and the most difficult thing I did during my wife’s treatment was to shave off her beautiful red hair). I was surprised by the number of women, and a few guys, who commented that it looked good…which was a relief. I like to watch people and the most attractive people I see are those who take care of their bodies and just accept the wrinkles and gray hair that come with being older and wiser.

    • A bald head will always beat a comb-over in my books. Always.
      Owning the baldness or owning the lines on an aging face — it all stems from having the confidence to be yourself. A bi-product of the healthier lifestyle I’ve embraced is the knowledge that while my body is stronger and firmer than it’s been in a long time, I will never have 6-pack abs. And I’m 100% okay with that. I’m closer to 50 than 40, and while my body won’t land me in the Sports Illustrated swimsuit edition, it carries me up 12,000′ mountains. And I’m proud of that!

      Thanks for taking the time to comment, Pat — and especially for sharing your very personal and intimate story. Sending positive energy your way for good health to your wife.

      • Thanks Nancy. I’ve passed the 50 mark but not far enough to get the senior discount at Denny’s…now that is health eating at its best! 😉

        I think it is very cool that you are sharing on your blog that we can be older and accept the fact that this is who we are. You have also been a motivation for me to “get moving” even when my back does not want to go along on the hike.

  4. You are NOT alone Nancy. I’m 58 and haven’t touched my face…which may seem very obvious to others but my beloved husband of 36 says I am even more beautiful to him today than I ever was so as long as he continues to believe it, I have no intention of doing anything extraordinary to it. I do believe like you that my health (mentally, spiritually and yes, physically is much more important.) BEsides, I honestly believe that a smile and a good attitude is the best thing we can ever put on our face…and I agree that Susan is amazing…and if you can remember her…Katherine Hepburn was amazing too! Stay the course!…~Kathy

  5. “I may be the last un-injected woman in the Western hemisphere.”—Nope, there are still a few of us around. I think my fear of anesthesia and my aversion to injected foreign objects other than vaccines or needed medications will keep me aging ‘gracefully.’ But I’m okay with that. If I could end up looking half as good as Helen Mirren, I’d take it. Susan Sarandon, too!

  6. Uninjected. Raises hand. Also in the Western Hemisphere.

    I’m 44. While I can certainly see hints of what’s coming for me, I saw two movies on the plane yesterday that made me shriek. Poor Nicole Kidman’s face never moved in “Stoker”, even when she was being strangled with a belt. And Julie Christie……….DAMN. (Susan Sarandon was also in that movie. While I’m convinced she’s done something to her neck/jowl area, I don’t fault her for it. Her face is still so lovely and expressive, expressive, expressive.)

    • Don’t even get me started on Granny Freeze (Kidman, as Lainey Gossip has coined her). It’s a crime how badly she’s frozen that face. And sweet baby Jesus, that 3rd lip of hers. Look at her mouth in Days of Thunder and look at it now. Scary.

      And Meg Ryan…tragic.

      Too many of them, actually.

      Anyway, colour me shocked to hear how many of you are injection and “cut”-free. Gives me hope for us as a gender. I actually had nightmares about a bunch of Stepford Wives with matching noses, cheek bones and lips, walking around with blank stares because we couldn’t smile (or frown).

      Yes, I have weird nightmares.

  7. Love this post. Love your attitude and totally agree. I’m not past forty yet but I do have some serious grey streaks showing (and oh bless those eye wrinkles that get deeper and deeper every year). I love it. I really do. While there are those in the world who have been through worse, I’ve had to wade through my own mire of bad times and I’m glad I’m alive (grey hairs, wrinkles, spider veins and all) to talk about it. I’m very glad I’m just an ordinary woman and not a celebrity. Such pressure. I can’t even imagine. No thank you. Even for a paycheck with a lot of zeros…

    So much for brevity (or coherence), huh? Oh well…it happens 🙂 You know I just love what you write and it sparks all kinds of lovely, deep thoughts. Can’t help but just go off sometimes.

    When is your birthday? I’ll turn 37 in December…

    Cheers to you, Beautiful, Soul Sister!

Talk to me

