way better than soap-on-a-rope

I just got around to downloading the pics I snapped during Mr. Enthusiasm’s birthday hike at Cold Creek Trail. And, I’m every bit as blown away re-living this hike through the photos as I was while traipsing through this magical place.

Experiences 1, Stuff 0.

Suck it, stuff.

Start of the trail

The weather was unseasonably warm that day, but the evergreens created a cool and shady canopy overhead.

Much of the trail was through heavy forest.

Much of the trail takes you through heavily forested terrain. But then it opens up to a wide open field where the trail alternates between grass, muck and a few rickety wooden “bridges”, like this one.

5

The trail then leads to a small but pretty pond.

And with the veil of evergreen lifted, the sun returned with a vengeance.

6

At first I thought the sun had ruined this picture. Now I think it’s just beautiful the way it is – exactly as I experienced it, sun glare and all.

7

The sense of calm I felt looking over this pond is a feeling I normally only experience when summiting a mountain. Turns out mountains are optional (although I do miss them terribly…)

If I had to describe the feeling…

Peace. Happiness. Hope.

And then I saw this, a simple barn in the middle of a field. And it almost brought me to tears.

8

The beauty of simplicity seems to be hitting me randomly, and often, these days. I think the universe is sending me a message.

It really is the little things.

And back into the woods we went.

I wish I could convince people who shy away from exercise to just try hiking. The beauty of hiking is that it works for all fitness levels. Pick a flatter, shorter trail if you’re still working on improving your health. You can gradually add elevation or trickier terrain. Or not. That’s the beauty of it.

Hike to get active. Hike to get healthy. Hike to nurture your soul.

9

I’m a sucker for nature’s art.

10

I love the juxtaposition of the living moss on the dead  tree trunk.

11

I didn’t want this hike to end.

12

But all good things must come to an end. And Lionel was waiting for us, after all.

Get moving!

xoxo nancy

22 thoughts on “way better than soap-on-a-rope

  1. this looks amazing!! I totally agree experience 1 – stuff 0!!
    I love that feeling you get when it is quiet and you are in the middle of nowhere and everything is so peaceful, it seems like the whole world is there and the rest of modern life doesn’t matter (i don’t think I got that quite right…but hopefully you know what i mean)

    I agree about getting people to try hiking, or even just walking, you can go at your own pace and choose harder or easier terrain and stop for a sit down if you are just beginning. There is no pressure to run or rush and just moving will increase fitness if it is not what you normally do… it is not like “exercise” it is getting out and seeing stuff 😀

  2. This took my breath away. Not just the pictures – they are gorgeous – but also your thoughts associated with them and your hike and exercise and life in general. I know I may come off as a complete kook (it happens more and more these days) but I felt very connected to this post. I mean super connected. I felt like crying when I saw the pic of the barn. Then I read how it made you feel. You added sunshine to a day that was already pretty wonderful. Thank you for sharing your heart with the world. I am one, very blessed recipient of your dedication to a more beautiful, simple life…

  3. Pingback: a grateful nancy is a happy nancy | my year of sweat!

Talk to me

