50 shades of green

No spinach? Arrrgghhh! How did that happen? I always have fresh spinach in the fridge. Well, always, except for today, that is.

That was the start to my day.

I was thirsting for a smoothie, was short on time – needing to hit the gym before a manicure/pedicure and then afternoon wedding.

So I decided to improvise with the ingredients that I did have on hand. It could have gone very, very badly. It didn’t. 🙂

Here’s what I came up with.

I started with a ton of previously chopped (and quickly becoming over-ripe) watermelon, and piled that into my trusty blender. I then added a bit (maybe 1/4 cup?) of cold water to help the blending process and gave it a whirl.

Boy, do I wish I had thought to take a picture, it really was the cutest vision of pink, frothiness. Kind of like a ballerina. In a blender.

Then I added the only leafy green I had on hand: baby bok choy. I was skeptical, but decided to try it, tearing the dark green ends and piling them on top of the pink froth.

Blend, blend, blend.

Now I’m glad I didn’t take a picture of that, because it really was a putrid colour.

Now the fun stuff… I threw in a bunch of ripe strawberries, and a handful of fresh mint leaves from the garden.

I sampled my concoction, and it tasted….DELICIOUS! 🙂

Don’t be afraid…it’s totally f’ing awesome!

Since I didn’t use any frozen fruit (nor did I add any ice), I ended up with a juice; not a smoothie. But it was the best green juice I’ve ever tasted! Take that fancy overpriced juice bars!

I drank this, ate a Greek yogurt and then headed off to the gym. The perfect fuel for a quick workout.

Lesson of the day: Excuses are everywhere. Don’t play into them.

Forgot to prepare your overnight oats? Don’t have any spinach on hand? So what!

Instead of throwing in the towel and reaching for something unhealthy, or worse still, skipping breakfast, just improvise.

What’s the worst that could happen? Well… it could taste like crap, that’s what!

And if it does, then just dump it and start over. I won’t tell anyone. 😉

Get moving!

xoxo nancy

18 thoughts on “50 shades of green

  1. Love this. I did something similar this morning – I wanted a green smoothie but ONLY had spinach and oranges (if only we were neighbours!) Oh well, how bad can it be I thought. Eugh. It was like pulpy spinach-flavoured orange juice (big strong adult leaves, not even the yummy baby ones). Bleurgh. But you’re totally right – no excuses!!!! X PS Ballerina. In a blender. Ha ha ha ha ha hah!

  2. That sounds like a great juice – I usually have greek yogurt on hand and would of put that in too. I don’t compromise healthy breakfasts, unless I’ve planned it in advance (like brunch or something), which has lead to some questionable breakfast items like leftover grilled veggies or a salad. I’d rather eat weird than wasteful.

  3. I substitute smoothie ingredients all the time ( more because of lack of planning than because of creativity)! Sugar snap peas, watermelon, celery, carrots, raspberries etc, have all made it into my blender if the standard- spinach, coconut water, cucumber, soy milk, stevia, protein powder, strawberries & 1/2 banana aren’t readily available. They are all yummy 🙂

  4. Bok choy is actually easier to find here in Thailand than spinach but that was not the point of your story. I get what your saying and I really, really want to go to the gym today without anything stopping me.
    Oh and leaving out breakfast is plain sinful. 😛
    Nice to meet you by the way!

    xoxo, Eszter
    http://kukolina.wordpress.com/

  5. Pingback: a grateful nancy is a happy nancy | my year of sweat!

Talk to me

