mairzy doats and I eat oats

I realize I am very late to this particular party, but I’m writing today’s post for those unfortunate souls who have yet to be introduced to the virtues of overnight oats.

I’m a long-time fan of traditional oatmeal – but generally only found myself eating it during the winter months. Even then, it was never very often because, let’s face it, making good REAL oatmeal from steel-cut oats is a pain in the ass. And, it takes way more time than most of us have in the morning. The instant varieties are convenient, but if you read the labels, you’ll probably want to avoid most of them. So, sadly, my oatmeal-eating days were few and far between.

Until I discovered the world of overnight oats, that is. 🙂

The smart and very funny Ruth at Well Being Nut first blogged about overnight oats in July. And, while her post did pique my curiosity, I procrastinated [shocking, I know!] until early September before I tried them for myself.

But now I’m hooked.

So on the days when you don’t find me drinking my Green Smoothie for breakfast, you can bet you’ll find me eating this tasty sludge, as Ruth refers to it. 🙂

The general premise of overnight oats is that you take a base of liquid (I use almond milk), combined with any number of yummy ingredients which you blend together, and then add that to a bunch of raw rolled oats. You mix them together in an airtight container, and then shake, shake, shake and refrigerate overnight.

In the morning you have a chilled pudding-like breakfast treat that is both yummy and super filling

The finished product doesn’t look pretty, but it does tastes good. And it’s super healthy, to boot. (That is, provided you don’t load it up with a ton of honey or jams or jellies as your optional ingredients!).

If you click on the link to Ruth’s post above, she provides a fantastic recipe – along with a plethora of optional ingredients.

The combinations really are endless!

Last night I started with my bag of Trader Joes Rolled Oats:

Wheat-free, Gluten-free, Sodium-free. What more could you ask for?

Wheat-free, Gluten-free, Sodium-free. What more could you ask for?

And then I put the following in the blender:

  • almond milk
  • 1 banana
  • 1 tsp of natural peanut butter
  • 2 tsp of chia seeds
  • 1 tsp of ground flax seeds
  • 5 walnuts
  • 1 tsp of cacao powder

After blending a few minutes, I put the liquid ingredients into a jar, added the oats on top, and then gave it a shake, shake, shake.

This is the morning’s final result.

Don't be afraid. It tastes really good.

Don’t be afraid. It tastes really good.

As I said, it doesn’t look pretty. In fact, I almost hesitated to add this shot. The smears up the sides of the jar are from the previous nights shake, shake, shaking.

Despite the off-putting in-jar appearance, I decided to scoop about a half cup into a serving bowl, then topped it with some fresh sliced strawberries, and voila, breakfast! Dee-licious!

Come on, this looks pretty good, right?

Come on, this looks pretty good, right?

Come on, don’t be scared…give it a try!

Get moving!

xoxo nancy

22 thoughts on “mairzy doats and I eat oats

  1. I tried to buy almond milk last night…but my fear of trying new things kicked in and I ran away!
    I saw other people writing about overnight oats…I had no idea what they were and for some reason I didn’t think to look it up…so thank you 🙂

  2. Do you heat it before you add fruit or eat it like cold cereal? I like my oatmeal hot in the morning…..I was headed to Traders Joes to get rolled oats for a ‘healthy’ blueberry scone recipe this morning…now I’ll have more options!! Thanks 🙂

    • I don’t heat mine, but you can absolutely heat it (and top up with more milk to make it less sludge-y :-)) if you like.

      I eat mine as a cold, lumpy pudding. 🙂

      I’d love to see your healthy blueberry scone recipe!

  3. As a gear-head, I almost tossed my cookies at “sludge” but I read on. I think I will give this a try because it sound intriguing…and softer than a granola bar.

    • You’re right Andra, the rolled oats do cook quickly. It’s the steel-cut ones that take forever. And they’re supposedly the really good-for-you kind. Let me know if you give this a go. It’s a very different finished product than regular oatmeal – just to set expectations. But it’s really good!

  4. Pingback: Getting reaquainted with my rose-coloured glasses | My Year of Sweat!

  5. I would like to ask you about almond milk… I have never even tasted it… It is not something I have ever seen when I was growing up in Hungary and though I did live in four other countries… it never occurred to me that I am “missing something”… What is the advantage of it if I may ask? Or do you prefer it because of the taste?
    And: could you please explain to me the difference between roller oats and steel-cut-ones? Thanks!!!
    xoxo, Eszter
    http://kukolina.wordpress.com/

    • Almond milk is just a dairy substitute, similar to Soy milk or Rice milk. I prefer the taste and consistency of Almond myself, plus it’s low calorie and nutrient-rich. Just a personal preference though, as I don’t like drinking cow’s milk.

      As far as rolled oats versus steel cut oats. Rolled oats are easier to prepare (shorter cook time), so they are more convenient. Steel cut oats are in their “whole” state, and thereby healthier for you, but definitely more work. Hope this helps!

      • Thank you! I did not know almond milk is a dairy substitute. I will try it out (once we will not live on an island where even plain yogurt is hard to find) for sure now that I know this. I would love to substitute cow’s milk with something tasty.

        So what do you think: how much longer would your recipe take with steel cut oats? Two nights? Three? Because it might be worth it and if it is in the fridge… You just have to put a sticker on it to know which one you can eat in the morning and which ones need a few more days…

  6. You’re right, this looks unpleasant, but I can get past it – I’m going to give it a go (and try almond milk into the bargain!) I’m not too keen on cow’s milk so I’m just going to follow your recipe until I find things to add 🙂

    • I’ve never been a big fan of cow’s milk either. Finding almond milk was one of the best things to happen to me! 🙂
      Let me know what you think of the overnight oats!

  7. Pingback: Food I Never Thought I’d Try | 26 to 12 - another weight loss blog

Talk to me

