week 35 workout summary

As you all know, I have been committed to exercising every day since January 1, 2013. And I can say that I have never considered, even once, missing a workout. That is until this past week. I had to dig very, very deep to stay on my goal.

I wasn’t sick. I wasn’t injured either. Yet, for some reason unbeknownst to me, I completely lacked the energy, passion or desire to do any form of exercise this week. I did so begrudgingly every day, save and except for Monday, when I eagerly embarked on a fantastic hike, high up in the Colorado Rockies. Every single other day was a struggle. Every. Single. One.

And I felt like a fraud. Posting motivational memes on my Facebook page. Acting like an optimist when I was feeling the complete opposite. Trying to convince myself, more than anyone else, that I should and could do it. Even though I felt like I couldn’t.

The return road trip (from Vegas back to Toronto) felt like much more of a grind. And I have no idea why. This time around we had a big-ass truck (with an actual roof and air-conditioning and everything). We made much faster time during each leg of the journey (compared to the same leg we drove in the topless Red Rocket), and we had a 2.5 day layover in Denver, thus breaking up the trip and making it even more manageable. Or at least it should have felt that way.

Yet I found myself exhausted, lacking energy and generally in a very bad mood at the end of each long day of driving (Wednesday night and Thursday night specifically).

So, with that preamble in place, below is the Week 35 Workout Summary. Apart from a great hike on Monday, this was by far my shittiest workout week of the year, prior to Saturday. On Saturday I decided to pull my socks up and get back to business. Job one was to get re-focused on running. I decided to jump on the C25K program (Couch-to-5k) as it does seem a sensible way to train up to the eventual (non-stop) running of a 5k race. Since I have already done a fair bit of running, I decided to jump straight to Week 5, Day 2 for my first C25K session. It went well and I felt strong (which felt good, given I skipped Weeks 1-4 and Wk 5, day 1). This was a good way to end a shitty week and [hopefully] put the malaise behind me.

As always, thank you to all of you for your ongoing support, love and well wishes. I definitely need them.

Workout Summary: Sep 1 – Sep 7, 2013: 

Sunday Sep 1 (Day 244) – [Return] Road Trip Day 1:

*Done at the condo in Vegas at 5:30 am before departing for Denver, CO.

Monday Sep 2 (Day 245) – In Denver, CO:

  • Hike: Herman Lake (Herman Gulch Trail, Colorado), 6.5 miles, +1,815′ elev gain, Max Alt = 12,018′, completed in 3:10

Tues Sep 3 (Day 246) – In Denver, CO:

  • Walk: 5 kms; (outdoor, moderate pace)

  • Push-ups: 10 reps X 3 sets = 30

  • Lateral to Front Dumbbell Raises: 5 reps * 3 sets = 15 (First do a lateral raise, return to start position and then immediately do a front raise, no break. Do 5, take a 60 second break, repeat X 3 sets)

  • Bicep Curls: 15 reps X 3 sets = 45

Wed Sep 4 (Day 247) – [Return] Road Trip Day 2:

*Done at the Holiday Inn Express in Coralville, Iowa after 14 hours on the road.

  • Push-ups: 10 reps X 5 sets = 50

  • Squats: 25 reps X 4 sets = 100

  • Crunches: 25 reps X 4 sets = 100

Thurs Sep 5 (Day 248) – [Return] Road Trip Day 3:

*Done at home after 15 hours on the road.

  • Push-ups – 10 * 3 sets

  • Hip Bridges: 25 reps X 4 sets = 100

  • Crunches: 25 reps X 4 sets = 100

Fri Sep 6 (Day 249):

  • Elliptical: 60 mins, 4.5 miles

Sat Sep 7 (Day 250):

  • Run: C25K Program – Week 5, Day 2 (5 min warm-up / 8 min run / 5 min walk / 8 min run / 4 min cool down); 3.26 kms

  • Stairmaster: 30 mins; 96 floors climbed

  • Rowing Machine: 20 mins; 3,535 meters

 

Get Moving!

xoxo nancy

22 thoughts on “week 35 workout summary

  1. This is even more awesome than your motivated workouts! It might not be “technically” the best set of work outs ever (although they still look pretty good) but they are more impressive because you were not motivated and yet you did it anyway!

    Working out when you are full of drive and motivation and energy is one thing, but you felt lethargic and like not doing anything…and yet…you still managed to do it, that is a much harder thing to do!!

    Well Done 😀 x

    • Thanks Sam. It was definitely a rough week, and I seriously thought on Thursday night after arriving home so very late…”what if I just crawl into bed?…No one will ever know that I didn’t workout today…” I’m so glad that I haven’t had to battle that feeling before last week, and between you and me, I hope I don’t ever feel that way again. It fully sucked having to force myself to do it. As always, thank for your tremendous support! xoxo nancy

      • I haven’t felt like that yet…but I am sure I will at some point, especially as it is getting to autumn and the weather will be getting colder and wetter and I am going to feel less and less like doing anything other than curling up!
        I suspect christmas day is going to be a bit iffy too…
        xxx

  2. Wow. Just wow. You know why. Same page and all that. Perhaps the thing that connects us more than anything is the determination to beat up whatever tries to get us down – even if the source is within…

    You rock. You rock in a hundred ways and I’m constantly impressed by and proud of who you are. Holy shit, it’s September and you’ve been working out EVERY DAY this year. That’s just fucking awesome. Some people would tell you that you’ve done a great job so far and if you wanted to quit that’s fine because hey, it’s September and you’ve been working out EVERY DAY this year.

    But I don’t think you want to heat that. And I don’t want to be the kind of person who says that so here we are. Go you. Fucking GO YOU for sticking to this even when you really wanted to quit. You are a true bad ass for pushing through whatever it is that tried to keep you from your goal. I hope you hear my heart applauding your hard work.

    Your honesty is my favorite thing about you (and your awesome taste in shoes, of course).

    Keep rocking that life, Warrior Princess of Sweat and Determination. I’m rooting for you all the time.

    Thus endeth the rant. 🙂

    • Your rant just brought me to tears. Thank you Ginny for your many gifts — and most of all this one, being a true friend who told me to keep going versus taking the easy way out.
      Bonus points for all the uses (quantity -and quality-wise) of the word Fuck. You know how big a fan I am of that particular word. 🙂

      Thank you, love you, owe you — for all your support.

    • Oh Joan…if you knew how close a call it was each of Wed and Thurs nights. Literally one foot stepping into pajama pants while the other foot stepped into yoga pants. I guess, on the positive side, it is the stubbornness (and pride) inside me that forced me to do it, knowing I had to answer to everyone on this blog if I skipped one. Thank you (always!) for your support and love. It means the world.

  3. Well done. Seriously – it is amazing that a) you pushed through and did it even though you didn’t feel like it at all b) that you stood up and admitted you didn’t want to do it and c) that you took your workouts by the horns and jumped in with a big running commitment. You finished the week really strong and it’s times like this that make us better for having stuck through them. I think you are amazing! X

    • Thank you, Rose, for your kind and generous words. Your support means the world to me. And, as I commented on your last post, after I did C25K wk 5, day 2 – and then saw you had done the same one that same day — I felt awesome and connected to a kindred spirit! Looking forward to rockin’ more C25K with you in the weeks to come!

  4. We all have those weeks. I recently went to an intensive board-review course (12 hour days), and the best I could do for exercise was 30 minutes every morning at about 5:15 am. Had to be in downtown Cleveland by 7:15. Come evening, I was so tired, I was lucky to walk a few minutes on the treadmill if that. But then my body was ready for a tougher routine the following week. I think it’s good for us to have peaks and valleys some times. Keeps the metabolism guessing and revving.

    • And leave it to my favourite writer/doctor to come up with the positive result of my shitty-ass workout week. You, Carrie, rock so, so much. 🙂 Thank you for helping me put it into perspective. I cherish your comments. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

    • So apparently Wed and Thurs of last week weren’t an anomaly. My ass has been dragging this week. The C25K program is giving me something to track progress against, which is good, because I’m still lacking in the motivation department. Hoping it’s just a bug and not perimenopause announcing it’s arrival. Fucker.

  5. You will get through this 🙂 your motivation will return, you have achieved so much, you couldn’t possibly achieve that much without extreme motivation! And now, on top of motivation, you have habit…and me 😀

    Everyone has blah days, it is how you deal with them that really shows the world and yourself how strong you are 😀

    And you are incredibly strong!

  6. Pingback: Hey, Little Engine, are you available for some 1:1 coaching? | My Year of Sweat!

Talk to me

