eye candy – Part II: Mary Jane Falls

Well, I’m still on the road, so here is the second of my pre-scheduled, mostly wordless, hiking stories-told-through-pictures. If you missed Eye Candy – Part I: Fletcher Canyon – just click here. 🙂

The star of today’s post is the Mary Jane Falls Trail at the Spring Mountains in Southern Nevada. I hiked it on Thursday (Aug 29th), my 3rd go at this trail, and my personal best in terms of completion time. The first attempt was way back in November of 2011 – and to say it was a grind would be an understatement. I literally needed rest breaks every 2-3 minutes.

My next attempt was a few months ago, in May of 2013. If you want a refresh of that epic hike and some of my amazing breakthroughs, just click here.

This trail climbs nearly 1,000′ in just 1.6 miles. The grades are quite strenuous, despite tons of switchbacks. Still, it is one of the most popular hikes in the Spring Mountains. The guidebook suggests 2-3 hours completion time. In May, I did it in 1:40 [and felt particularly bad-ass for that accomplishment].

On Thursday I finished it in 1:26, smiling from ear to ear.

Once again, the rain Gods decided to provide some extra challenge, and the rain started coming down hard at the summit, with some ominous sounding thunder rumbling every so often, so we scrambled to get back to lower ground (i.e. the car!).

I was a little snap-happy this time. I hope you enjoy this hike!

Here we go again...

Here we go again…

Even the start of this trail has a pretty decent incline. No rest for the wicked.

Even the start of this trail has a pretty decent incline. No rest for the wicked.

Let the swichbacks begin!

Let the swichbacks begin!

Mr. Enthusiasm on a switchback below me.

Mr. Enthusiasm on a switchback below me.

These pics do not do the incline justice. So hard!

These pics do not do the incline justice. So hard!

Getting close now.

Getting close now.

These stone steps mean you're getting really close.

These stone steps mean you’re getting really close.

A look to the left offers a glimpse of Big Falls and Mt. Charleston

A look to the left offers a glimpse of Big Falls and Mt. Charleston

And if you zoom in, a view of the cave just past Mary Jane Falls.

And if you zoom in, a view of the cave just past Mary Jane Falls.

Final push. God I hate this part. So, so close.

Final push. God I hate this part. So, so close.

Made it!

Made it!

A slice of the falls.

A slice of the falls.

Another shot of the falls. So tall I can only take pics in segments.

Another shot of the falls. So tall I can only take pics in segments.

And another.

And another.

Cool rock formations.

Cool rock formations.

A view straight up.

A view straight up.

Mr. Enthusiasm arriving on the ridge.

Mr. Enthusiasm arriving on the ridge.

Sweeping vistas around all sides.

Sweeping vistas around all sides.

But the rain is crashing down hard now. Time to get out of Dodge.

But the rain is crashing down hard now. Time to get out of Dodge.

One final shot before I risk ruining the phone from water damage.

One final shot before I risk ruining the phone from water damage.

Get moving!

xoxo nancy

12 thoughts on “eye candy – Part II: Mary Jane Falls

  1. That’s awesome Nancy! Achieving personal bests especially… In the wee hours of the morning during 6am boot camp today, I achieved a personal best with my timing during sprints (only by 5 seconds) but damn it felt great! :))

    • This one is pretty great. Big pay-offs for a very short hike. Those last couple of switchbacks + steps are a killer – but so worth it when you get to the falls. 🙂 When you plan to visit Vegas, please let me know. I’d love to hike this with you!

  2. Go you!!! What a beautiful hike. And great photos. I love the way you tell a story.

    Oh switchbacks…I miss the mountains. Thank you for sharing your beauty with us. You light up my life with your success stories, take on life, and tales of your hiking adventures. 🙂

    Hope your trip home is wonderful!

    • I’m in the homestretch now, Ginny. Made a pit stop in London, ON to visit and have dinner with our son (at University) and now it’s 2 hrs to our home just East of Toronto.

      If you think Mary Jane Falls looks like a pretty hike, wait’ll you see tomorrow’s eye candy, from your former stomping grounds in CO. I’m so excited for that post to publish!

      As always, thanks for your sunshine and love. Means the world to me!!

  3. Pingback: Eye Candy – Part III: Herman Lake, CO | My Year of Sweat!

  4. Pingback: owning it | my year of sweat!

Talk to me

