week 32 workout summary

As promised on Friday, today is the first in a series of Monday morning posts where I’ll be sharing a summary of the previous week’s daily workouts. And here we go.

Workout Summary: Aug 11 – Aug 17, 2013:

Sunday Aug 11 (Day 223):

  • BodyPump – 60 minutes

  • Speed Walk – 5 km (3.1 miles) in 45:37 (no running; outdoor, paved sidewalk)

Monday Aug 12 (Day 224):

  • Rowing Machine: 5,000 meters in 27:05

  • Stairmaster: 62 Floors climbed in 20:00

Tues Aug 13 (Day 225):

  • BodyPump – 60 minute class

  • BodyCombat – 60 minute class

Wed Aug 14 (Day 226):

  • Elliptical – 4.96 miles in 60:00

  • “Load Your Guns” – Dumbbell Arm Workout  [Completed circuit with no rest; took 60 second rest, and repeated the entire circuit.] Note** In this workout I used 2 X 15 lb dumbbells and 2 X 5 lb dumbbells. For the tricep extensions I went with one dumbbell only (15 lb total).

    • 10 push ups
    • 10 shoulder press – 30 lb
    • 10 arm circles (front) – 10 lb
    • 10 arm circles (back) – 10 lb
    • 10 shoulder press – 30 lb
    • 10 push ups
    • 15 dumbbell rows – 10 lb
    • 15 lateral raises – 10 lb
    • 10 dumbbell rows – 30 lb
    • 10 push ups
    • 15 overhead tricep extentions – 15 lb (1 dumbbell only)
    • 10 bicep curls – 30 lb
    • 15 tricep kickbacks – 10 lb
    • 10 push ups

Thurs Aug 15 (Day 227):

  • BodyPump – 60 minute class

  • Stairmaster – 57 stories climbed in 20:00

  • Brisk walk – 5 km (3.1 miles) in 53:14 (No running; outdoor – paved sidewalk)

Fri Aug 16 (Day 228):

  • Run – 5 km (3.1 Miles) in 39:03 (interval run/walk – outdoor trail unpaved)
  • Elliptical – 3.25 miles in 40:20
  • Planks – Hold 60 seconds, rest 60 seconds (x 5)

  • Push-ups – 10

Sat Aug 17 (Day 229):

  • Run – 4.02 km (2.5 miles) in 30:30

  • BodyFlow – 60 minute class (Yoga/pilates/tai chi)

 

Get Moving!

xoxo nancy

9 thoughts on “week 32 workout summary

  1. You really ARE a hoss! Do you feel like you have more energy since you’ve been working out every day for the past eight and a half months? I run three to four times a week and I do – don’t laugh – five minutes of Tae Kwon Do a day. My diet is pretty healthy. But I find that I’d like a little more energy. Might be a matter of motivation (or the the super hot summers we have) but I wonder if having more muscles would increase my energy level…? I’m already considering adding some more muscle so I can drink more tequila and maintain my current weight :P.

    What do think, oh great Princess of Sweat?

    • Being a northerner, I’m not familiar with the term hoss, but I assume it’s akin to “beast” or “monster” (as in, You are such a total beast for crushing that workout!”), and not Hoss as in the gross, fat brother in the old Ponderosa TV show? 🙂

      As far as energy level AND results — the single biggest difference was when I shifted from virtually all cardio to a lot more weight training/resistance. That was definitely the catalyst for the biggest changes. When I moved to 3x/week BodyPump classes, I saw a consistent weight loss of 1 lb/wk. Beauty!

      One of the biggest tips I learned at the Fitness Ridge week of hell 🙂 was that the purpose of muscle in our body is to burn fat. The more muscle mass you have, the more fat your burn. So, all things being equal, if you had a 40% lean muscle mass and I had a 55% lean muscle mass, I would burn more calories (fat) doing exactly what you’re doing (including just sitting around loafing). How great is that??

      I eat pretty much everything I want — trying to make healthier choices when possible — but I don’t deprive myself of anything. I’m losing weight because I’m burning more calories than I consume – consistently. yes, the daily workouts are tough, but dieting and deprivation are tougher (in my opinion). So for me…I’m embracing this new lifestyle.

      Love that you’re keeping up with your Tae Kwon Do. That is awesome!

      • Sorry I never got back to this (and it really deserves more of a response than what I have time to offer) but I wanted you to know that “hoss” to me means “horse” more like super strong work horse. To some it might refer to the fat brother in that show but for me (and most of my friends) it does mean “beast”.

        I’m going to see about adding strength training. I hear it makes for better running. 🙂

        Thank you for your expert input. I agree that dieting and deprivation are tougher. Wears down the mental faculties much faster, that’s for sure. No “willpower” left at the end of the day.

        Sorry for the brevity. Mainly just wanted to let you know that “hoss” is a good thing. 🙂

        Cheers!!!

Talk to me

