it’s funny because it’s true… sometimes

Many of us have preconceived notions about the differences around how men and women approach exercise. I recently saw a video (parody) which, at various points, had me laughing out loud and nodding enthusiastically, and then shaking my head, yelling at the screen, “BULLSHIT! We (all females) do NOT act like that!!”, all inside of 3 minutes.

The truth is, many of the over-the-top stereotypes in this short video strike a nerve because they are pretty damned true.

How many times have you gone to the gym and seen women in full makeup, preening in the mirrors? I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, if you still look cute at the end of your workout, you didn’t train hard enough. Period.

Besides the silliness of the primping, preening and downright sleazy pick-up stuff shown in the video, the scenes that hit home for me were less gender-specific and more about how some of us are wired to think and behave.

For example, the bit where the girl is jogging outdoors, dying — out of breath — ready to call it quits, but then she sees two people walking towards her and straightens right up to run cheerfully past them.

I laughed, but I also recognized the stupidity in this. I do this.

When I’m out jogging, I will literally avoid taking a [necessary] break when I see people approaching. I refuse to start walking until I am well past them. Why? I don’t know them. I will likely never see them again. But, for some inexplicable reason, I need for them to see me running, not walking. Their opinion, beyond logic, is that important to me.

Yes, I’m still a little cray-cray. But I’m working on it.

And then my other favourite, the bit where the two guys are talking about grabbing some frozen yogurt when they leave the gym, since they’ve “earned it”.

We all know people who do this, right? Rewarding themselves for a trip to the gym by following it up with a trip to McDonalds.

Heck, we might have even done this ourselves. No…of course not…we’re better than that. Right?

I know I am guilty of working out extra hard when I know a couple of big social outings are on the calendar. Call that the pre-emptive strike.

And of course, I’ve also been known to jump on the elliptical in my basement (this after a solid gym workout earlier in the day) because I had a bigger dinner or a decadent dessert. So, let’s call that the post-pig-out redemption.

In the end, it is a cute and funny video – one that plays up on some of the [perhaps justifiable] stereotypes. It’s up to us what we do with it, now that we’ve seen ourselves in action.

Get moving!

xoxo nancy

5 thoughts on “it’s funny because it’s true… sometimes

  1. “When I’m out jogging, I will literally avoid taking a [necessary] break when I see people approaching. I refuse to start walking until I am well past them. Why? I don’t know them. I will likely never see them again. But, for some inexplicable reason, I need for them to see me running, not walking. Their opinion, beyond logic, is that important to me.”

    This is SO me! What is UP with that? So weird. At least we admit it.

    Love this post. Love all your posts, actually…

Talk to me

