even if fat = fit, it doesn’t mean I have to aspire to it

As it turns out, my last post was quite polarizing. A few readers appreciated the fact that I owned up to my bias of having assessed someone who was heavy as therefore being unhealthy [and later admitted to my error in judging that book by its cover].

Others took the view that while the heavy BodyPump instructor turned out to be fit, she still didn’t represent a body image that I wanted for myself. And they would be right.

I spent the weekend pondering this topic and decided it deserved a bit more exploration on my part, both to address the feedback I received, as well as to help me sort through my own feelings and questions on the matter.

My previous feeling was:  Fat ≠ Fit

I did a wee bit of research on the question of “Can you be fat and fit?” and what I learned is that yes, you can. [Shannon had already proven this to me last week, but it was good to get some scientific data to back up the anecdotal evidence.]

Research done by the Harvard School of Public Health on 100,0000 people reflected the following:  lots of people are both heavy and unfit (no surprise here); far fewer are thin and unfit (backs my claim that just because someone is skinny doesn’t make them healthy); some are both lean and fit; and a very small number are heavy, but fit.

It’s important to note though, that where you wear your heavy has a lot to do with your overall health. Those “fat but fit” individuals tend to carry their excess body fat in places where it does less harm from an overall health perspective. That is, in the hips, butt and thighs, as opposed to around the mid section, where fat is most dangerous. [And, notably, where I stored my fat, hence the fact that I was so unhealthy, despite not looking that big.]

Another article I read in Fitness Magazine suggests that there is a new way to think about weight. The author cites the vicious slams against a number of female athletes at the 2012 London Olympic Games, among them Leisel Jones, for being too heavy to represent their countries. What does this say about our culture when, rather than cheer on our representing athlete, we spend our energy critiquing their physique? Sweet Mother of Pearl, we have work to do as a society, don’t we?

tumblr_lty8r6tIoh1qbma4ko1_500

Source

The entire article is very eye-opening read, but one paragraph was particularly compelling to me:

“What we’re learning is that a body that exercises regularly is generally a healthy body, whether that body is fat or thin,” says Glenn Gaesser, PhD, a professor of exercise and wellness at Arizona State University and the author of Big Fat Lies: The Truth About Your Weight and Your Health“The message should really be that if you are exercising regularly, you shouldn’t necessarily be looking at the scale to determine how healthy or fit you are,” Gaesser says.

Ahh, so now I understand that [sometimes]: Fat = Fit.

Okay, so now that we’ve got that sorted out, and it’s clear that a person can be both fat and fit, I want to tackle the other element: the aesthetic, the physicality, the pure vanity-based side of things.

The truth is that while I embarked on this journey in order to get healthy and strong – I also hoped that it would lead to a leaner, tighter and more toned physique.

Losing weight for the sake of looking better was not my primary goal. Losing weight to lower a dangerously high BMI and to wean myself off the blood pressure medication was the chief motivator. That said, I won’t even pretend that it doesn’t feel amazing to be down two dress sizes, to feel and see how much better clothes hang from my body, and to hear “Nancy, you look so great!” when I meet up with someone I haven’t seen in a while. I love that I’ve achieved better health and a better looking body as a result of this commitment and hard work.

One of the first pieces of feedback I received following last week’s post was to say, “Hey, I think it’s great that Shannon is a big girl and teaching a tough class, but the truth is, you wouldn’t want to look like her.”  And that person was right. The truth is, fit and healthy or not, I wouldn’t want my body to look like that.

If that makes me vain, then let’s call a spade a spade. I am more than comfortable, thanks to this journey, to admit that I’m striving for both health and beauty. And just like the fat versus fit topic above, it need not be an “or” thing. It can, and is, an “and” thing.

Get moving!

xoxo nancy

13 thoughts on “even if fat = fit, it doesn’t mean I have to aspire to it

  1. You’re right–visceral abdominal fat is more dangerous than saddlebags and booty. And I agree–although my number one motivation for exercising is to maintain good health and ward off disease, the ‘side effect’ of enhanced aesthetics is always nice. Especially when age is determined to take its toll…

  2. You surely can be heavy and fit! When I first started going to the gym about 2 years ago I found myself doing a test to see how fit I was. It turned out that I was one of the fittest girls/ladies in the gym even though I weigh more than most of them. Skinny girls are often not fit at all because they don’t feel the pressure of the society to really work out cause they have the body that seems to be accepted in society. I think that’s the reason that heavier girls can be fitter!
    Please check out my blog and maybe we can follow each other!
    http://prettylittletreasures.wordpress.com
    xo

    • Hi Julie,
      Thanks for taking the time to visit and comment! I really appreciate it. I agree 100% that skinny does not automatically equal fit. This is why I’ve written several posts about why dieting is not the answer in a quest to become healthy. If you get skinny from just starving yourself, that doesn’t mean you’re capable of running a mile or climbing 5 flights of stairs or doing 10 push-ups! I’m all for getting to better health through exercise — hence “My Year of Sweat”! 🙂 I’m so glad you found my blog. I’ll be sure to check yours out. I look forward to getting to know you!

    • Thanks Rose — Truth is I did struggle with how to present this post. I didn’t want to discount the fact that someone heavier can also be healthy, because the evidence shows it is possible (although this is the exception, not the norm), but I also needed to be honest with everyone (including myself) that I want both: health and a thinner body. Thanks for taking the time to comment — much appreciated!

  3. Hi 🙂
    I am living proof that you can be both heavier and fit, I am fitter than a lot of people I know who are smaller than me…but you are right…I do not aspire to stay this way…I want to be much fitter and smaller…a person can be fit and heavy…but think how much fitter they could be if they lost the extra weight and could move even easier!
    on a similar note…I went to a zumba class with a stand in teacher who was not your stereotypical zumba teacher shape…it did not fill me full of confidence…I am sure that says slightly more about my psyche than I would care to admit!

    • I hear you, sister, on the psyche comment. My immediate reaction was one of disbelief (and the assumption that the class would be less advanced based on the size of the instructor). It was a good wake-up call for me to see that size does not equal level of fitness, a good lesson indeed.
      Still, like you, I would rather be thin and fit — so here’s to a healthy dose of daily sweat! Rock on friend!

      • I think there are some professions we expect to be exceptional at what they do…police officers need to be beyond reproach and law abiding, teachers are expected to be knowledgable about their subject, and fitness professionals are expected to be and look fit…it may not be entirely right bit I tho k that is how it works in my head!
        Yes! Here’s to daily sweat! So we can be fit and look fit 😀

  4. Pingback: pssst…let me tell you a little secret | my year[s] of sweat!

Talk to me

