’cause baby you’re a firework

Yesterday my homeland, the True North Strong and Free, celebrated her 146th birthday. And man oh man, does she look good for her age! 😉

I arrived back from my impromptu camping trip in the early afternoon, and after a quick workout [and a real shower], I enjoyed a lovely dinner out back, poolside. As I happily chomped on my baby back ribs and sipped a fantastic Shiraz (The Hedonist 2009), I started to realize how lucky I truly am.

Looking back on the previous day I saw that I not only survived, but thrived, during my back-to-nature, no-electricity, camping trip. I was able to pack up and go, knowing I had forgotten things (important things like towels and pillows!), knowing we would be doing without some creature comforts. And …I was at peace with that.

Yes, me, Ms. Control Freak.

I was also at peace with being a make-up free, bad-hair-day, mess.

I stumbled upon a real bathroom [with showers and flush toilets] about 15 minutes from my campsite, while returning from a long hike Sunday evening. I went in to use the facilities and, while washing my hands, I spied a middle aged woman, 3 sinks down, who was using a flat iron on her bangs.

I wanted so bad to tell her she looked great with frizzy bangs! We’re camping! But I realized that she was doing what she needed to do. Just like I did what I felt I needed to do for so many years. 46 [and 3/4], to be exact.

But now I’m finally in a place where I’m comfortable with not having everything perfect. Not needing to be made up and dressed up to feel pretty.

After I cleaned up the dinner dishes last night, I asked Mr. Enthusiasm if he wanted to go watch the fireworks by the lake. He did. Then I asked if he was good with walking there (about 40 minutes to the East of us). He was!

He thought to bring a blanket (to avoid coming home covered in sand) and a flashlight for the trek home through the unlit Petticoat Creek Conservation area which links Frenchman’s Bay (my fireworks viewing spot) to my home. Good thinking on his part!

We arrived to find tons of people already camped out, many with little bonfires going.

IMG-20130701-00143We plunked down and waited for the show to start. And the City of Pickering did not disappoint last night! I only wish I brought a better camera. My Blackberry just doesn’t cut it for picture-taking.

IMG-20130701-00230IMG-20130701-00297IMG-20130701-00273And as I lay back on my blanket, propped up on my elbows, enjoying the beautiful show in the sky, I started humming the Katy Perry song, and realized how fitting her lyrics are for my journey:

Do you know that there’s still a chance for you

‘Cause there’s a spark in you

 You just gotta ignite the light

And let it shine

Just own the night

Like the 4th of July

I smiled so big as I realized all that I had to celebrate on this Canada Day:

  • I live in an amazing country, one that I’m so proud of for so many reasons: from universal healthcare to gay marriage to a woman’s right to choose. I love this country and the respect it has for ALL its people.
  • I hit the halfway mark of this “year of sweat” journey with 6 months of uninterrupted daily workouts. And the daily motivation that comes from deep within, which tells me there is no doubt that I will finish what I’ve started.
  • I have lost 20 pounds “the healthy way”; without deprivation. Eating real food [and that includes ice cream!] because I hold myself accountable to work my ass off to counter-balance the calories I put in.
  • I have found so much happiness and joy in trying new experiences; even the ones I don’t necessarily like or would do again.

How lucky am I? Very!

Baby, you’re a firework! Come on let your colours burst!

Get moving!

xoxo nancy

5 thoughts on “’cause baby you’re a firework

  1. you make me teary-eyed every time cause I know how hard you work to keep moving, how hard you worked to get you here… inspirational…:) xxoxoxo

    • aww my love…thank you! And it’s super extra sweet that we share this connection because we started this crazy journey together. Can’t wait to see you when you’re back home later this month! xoxo

  2. Pingback: happy birthday canada! | my year[s] of sweat!

    • Ha! Me too (but mostly as a means to hike to more inaccessible places. Some trails require an overnight because they are too long to complete as a day trip. Hiking with a full pack (tent, sleeping bag, etc) adds a whole other layer of fitness because of the weight you’re carrying in your back as you climb. Scares me and excited me at the same time.

Talk to me

