get moving. no, really, just move!

When people talk about weight-loss, obesity problems and the health-issues impacting the overweight population, inevitably the conversation centers on food, diet, consumption, over-indulgence.

I’ve commented many, many times since the inception of this blog that I’m frustrated that so little weight [no pun intended] is placed on exercise, and the impact that just moving your body can have on the issue of obesity.

I’m not suggesting for even a second that diet isn’t a vital part of overall good health, but to place all the focus on that one side of the equation is irresponsible, in my opinion.

If someone managed to lose 50, 60…100 pounds dieting, but didn’t exercise at all, would that person be healthy?

The last time I checked, one’s ability to climb 10 flights of stairs or run 5k wasn’t the by-product of eating an apple versus a bag of chips, it was the result of having good cardiovascular health. Then again, I’m not a doctor or scientist, so please feel free to correct me if I’m wrong in this assumption.

My worry is that so many people are so focused on just addressing the food/diet issue, without even having a conversation about physical fitness and exercise.

I know plenty of people who are well within their healthy/ideal body weight (or at least within 15-20 lbs), who are just about as unhealthy as they come. Those people do not look obese or in poor health, yet they get winded climbing two flights of stairs. Or just one.

I should know. I was one of them.

I believe that only when our age starts to really advance [i.e. when we’re in our upper 60’s, 70’s and beyond] is when the full effect of how sedentary versus active a lifestyle we’ve lead will finally catch up to us.

Why is it that some 70 year olds are running, biking, living active, vibrant lives while others are virtually bed-ridden? Was that because of their diets during their younger years – or was that because of how active a life they led?

Again, I’m not a scientist — I don’t have empirical evidence to support my beliefs. But I have a strong, strong gut instinct that the work I’m doing now is work that will keep me active and healthy in my old age.

And perhaps, if I’m right, I’ll still be getting a decent daily sweat in, while rewarding myself with a big ol’ glass of Syrah, some creamy French Brie and a crusty baguette.

imagesCA2SFSXE

Because a little fat and carb never killed anyone who worked their ass off at the gym… 😉

Get moving!

xoxo nancy

4 thoughts on “get moving. no, really, just move!

  1. Hi Nancy! I found your blog through your comment on Andra’s post this morning and I’m glad I stopped by. Daily exercise is so important to me and I agree completely that a little fat and carb never killed anyone who worked their asses off at the gym. 🙂
    Lisa

  2. When I’ve read articles about people who have lived to be a hundred, they all seem to have one thing in common: they walk every day, and they’ve done some form of exercise throughout their life. I remember reading about one centenarian who said, “The day I don’t go walking is the day I’ll probably die.” For her sake, I certainly hope not, but it gives one food for thought. 🙂

    • So glad to have you weigh in on this Carrie! Unlike me, you actually have the medical background and credentials. Happy to hear I’m not completely full of it! 🙂

Talk to me

