love your car, love yourself

This morning started like every morning this week: dark, grey, raining. The perfect type of day to hunker down, throw the covers up higher and tighter, and just sleep in. I’ve resisted that urge every day. Today was a little tougher though, as I felt, before I had even opened my eyes, that I was coming down with something.

imagesT19GG6HW

Source

That tell-tale tickle in my throat, a nose that was a little stuffy/runny, and a head that just felt… cloudy. It’s nothing, I told myself, and kicked my legs over the side of the bed, to get my day started.

By the time I made it downstairs to the kitchen, it was clear that I definitely had something. A cold? It’s probably just a cold. I cursed silently, frustrated that I had managed to get through the entire winter, including flu season, unscathed. Others around me dropped like flies, but I escaped all that nastiness. I have been the healthiest I’ve been in my entire life these past few months.

So why today, when I’m still on this road to better health through exercise and improved diet, has my body allowed germs to suddenly invade? Grrrrr. Not fair, I pouted.

Around this time I realized today is April 10th, making this the 100th day in My Year of Sweat. Oh hell no!  There is NO WAY I’m going to let a cold get in the way of me delivering on my 100th day of sweat. Not.Going.To.Happen.

So, in an effort to banish the crud from my throat, the never-ending runny snot from my nose and the dull ache at the base of my skull, I formulated a plan. I will kill these germs with vitamins. Lots and lots of vitamins from the source. And I will drown them in water. Gallons of water.

As luck would have it, my fridge was stocked (as of last night) with:

  • strawberries
  • blueberries
  • pomegranates
  • oranges
  • fresh figs (which I never need any excuse to eat)

I started my morning by eating a whole orange, drinking 16 oz of water and then a big mug of Spring Dragon Longevity Tea from Dragon Herbs.

I was drinking this stuff every day, a couple of months ago, and then for some reason I stopped. Drinking it this morning reminded me how amazing it is, and I definitely plan to have more today, and get back into my daily routine with this stuff. Full of amazing goodness and anti-oxidants.

Remember the old adage, “Feed a cold, starve a fever”? Well, I decided to take that advice literally, and after eating 2 slices of buttered rye toast and more tea, I decided to make some real oatmeal. The kind from steel-cut oats. The kind that takes 30-40 minutes to make, not the instant crap. I drizzled a bit of agave on it for sweetness, and then threw a handful of blueberries and pomegranate seeds on it.

a6ede050b72245489df30e36c9866f83

I was seriously feeling better immediately after eating this. Psychosomatic? Maybe. Whatever it was, I was just thrilled that I wasn’t feeling as sick as I was earlier.

After downing a lot more water (with pomegranate seeds and fresh mint leaves), I changed into my workout clothes, washed my face and decided to face my elliptical. I thought about doing 30 mins, and then just finishing up with some stretching, or perhaps try a Yoga DVD.

Not gonna lie: the first 20 mins were gross. Every leg extension/rotation felt like a struggle, but then I just fell into a groove. Either that or my body just realized that I wasn’t going to stop and it stopped fighting me. I put in 70 mins total for a distance of 5.2 miles, and ended up drenched in sweat but feeling pretty good.

The headache is still stubbornly lingering, but the hours post-workout are the best I’ve felt all day. My plan is to keep downing the fancy water (switching up to blueberries, lemon and mint leaves now), keep munching on those fantastic anti-oxidant berries, and allow myself the luxury of a nice hot bath and some good rest for the balance of the day.

Will I get rid of the cold? Who knows. I’m not naive enough to think that a bunch of fresh fruit and veg is going to cure everything that ails me. But, I do know that I’m really grateful that I feel better than I did when I woke up this morning. And I’m super thankful that my body allowed me to push it with a 70 minute cardio workout on a day it was telling me it wasn’t at its best.

I am in awe of this body, and what it has shown me it’s capable of. Well, capable of, if I care for, love, and respect it that way it deserves.

It occurred to me today as my legs pumped vigorously for 70 mins that if we just treated our bodies the way we treat our new cars, we’d all be just fine.

I just picked up a new car a week or so ago. It’s a nice car, a luxury vehicle. And I wouldn’t – for a minute – consider putting anything but premium gasoline in it. I wouldn’t imagine skipping an oil change or a maintenance appointment. I wouldn’t drive it with the parking break on. Or leave the panoramic sunroof open during a rain storm.

Yet, not so long ago, I wouldn’t hesitate to skip a meal because I was “too busy”. I routinely found myself swallowing my first bite at or after noon. I have let myself become dehydrated many times just by not taking the time to drink enough water. And I would literally go days without moving. As in really moving. The kind of moving that makes you break an actual sweat.

How could your body possibly function at its best when you abuse it like that?

This is truly not rocket science people. Treat yourself like you’d treat your car. You deserve at least as good as your car gets, right???

Off to make some fresh tea now, and then to take that bath I’ve been craving (and have earned!).

Be good to yourself. And…

Get moving!

xoxo nancy

2 thoughts on “love your car, love yourself

    • Thank you lovely lady! I got into the Dragon Herbs on the recommendation of another blogger I’m a fan of. I bought their tea, which I love, and also 2 of the tonics. Check it out and let me know what you think. I find the stuff awesome and affordable. Good combo! (And up til today, I’ve been 100% healthy since the New Year — so something is contributing to that!)

Talk to me

