And this little piggy ran wee, wee, wee all the way home.

Today I had my best run ever. Ha! Never thought I’d type those words. Like ever.

It wasn’t the best because I ran super fast, or for a super duper long time. It was the best because when I was finished, I didn’t feel like puking or fainting. I wasn’t coughing up a lung. My heart wasn’t racing; in fact it never got higher than 156.

In short, it was the best run ever because I didn’t hate it every second that I was doing it. Now this…this, my friends is quite the victory.

images0QZX9S17

Source

I know running is not the be-all, end-all exercise in the weight-loss and fitness journey, but it certainly is the one activity that people seem to take the most pride in.

Think about it. When was the last time you heard someone talking about their killer workout on the elliptical? Or the rowing machine?

Arguably you can get a tougher workout on either of those machines [because you are engaging your upper body as well as your legs] yet, people never brag about those workouts.

Oh but they love boasting about their runs. You know exactly what I mean. We all know these people. If they’re not syncing their Nike +iPod doo-dads in their shoes to their facebook account for status updates with annoying frequency, they’re tweeting about how many miles, in how much time. Blah, blah, blah. Oh bite me.

And then there are the “funny” running quotes that you see on Pinterest, or on their t-shirts. You know the ones:

  • “Your pace or mine?”
  • “Fast girls have good times.”
  • “Does this shirt make my butt look fast?”
  • “Running: Cheaper than plastic surgery.”

Hardy-har-har. Blech.

The worst is the people who claim to love running. “Ooohh… I hate when I can’t run for a day or two. I miss it so much!”

Who are these freaks people??? They can’t be normal. What normal person enjoys the sensation of having their full body weight slam against concrete (or grass, or sand, or a treadmill) over and over again, at a high rate of speed? It’s simply not normal to like this.

These people are not to be trusted. Trust me.

So, imagine my surprise shock to find that during my 40 minute run (full disclosure, 2 minutes running, 1 minute walking at a 2.0% incline for the duration), I wasn’t ready to die [as I normally would be during even a 5 minute run].

No, I wasn’t whistling a happy tune or channeling Oliver Twist, asking “Can I have some more please?” in my best British accent. On the other hand, I wasn’t in pain. I wasn’t unable to speak due to shortness of breath. My heart wasn’t operating in the red/danger zone. In fact I felt like I had a lot more gas left in the tank. What??

And as I started to realize all this, I felt even better. I grew stronger, mentally, in the face of this empirical evidence that my body had grown stronger and more capable of doing this thing: running.

As I got to the end of my 40 minute run [still can’t believe I did that…], I decided to climb a mountain for the hell of it. At minute 40 I cranked my incline to 10.0% and dropped my speed to 3.5. Then at minute 45 I pushed it to incline 15.0%, dropping speed to 3.2. At minute 50 I brought it back down to 10.0%, back to 3.5 speed, and finished the final 5 minutes at 5.0%, 3.0 speed as my cool down.

I have never had that much sweat pouring from my body. I mean, face drenched, salty sweat in my eyes, forearms/elbows dripping. Dude, I had knee sweat. And please, I’ll spare you the details of the abundant boob sweat. My hair was so wet it looked like I just stepped out of the shower.

What the what? Who is this person?? And… she doesn’t hate running??? She might even actually kinda like the feeling of accomplishment she gets from running???

Blasphemy.

She is not to be trusted. Trust me.

Get moving!

xoxo nancy [aka Runner-in-Denial]

p.s. If I must have a favorite running quote, it would have to be, “You would run much slower if you were dragging something behind you, like a knapsack, or a sheriff.” ― Lemony Snicket

41 thoughts on “And this little piggy ran wee, wee, wee all the way home.

  1. this is AWESOME! i can only image… its like a ninja style move you pulled off at BLR showing up on a treadmill during the cardio class. SOOOO amazing! Keep it going… before you know it, you and I will be signing up for a 5K 🙂

  2. Hahaha “No, I wasn’t whistling a happy tune and playing like Oliver Twist, asking for “more please” in my best British accent.” You’re a funny one. And good for you, by the way!

  3. Reblogged this on my year[s] of sweat! and commented:

    I was looking for some motivation today. Feeling like I should probably go for a run, but lacking the energy or desire. Something told me to go into my old blog files and see what I was up to this time last year. I wasn’t blogging quite so frequently back then, so imagine my surprise when I found a post dated 03/29/13.

    This is what I was doing exactly one year ago today.

    A 40 minute run at 2 minutes running, 1 minute walking seems like no big deal today, but reading my words back, I see how proud of myself I was for having accomplished something big.

    Today I’m training for a 10k. Oh. Em. Gee.

    I’ve come a long way baby. Even if my run is slow as molasses. I am running.

    Happy weekend, everyone. Keep moving!
    xoxo nancy

  4. Congrats 🙂

    I’m not one for running outside, I’ve got two left legs and I tend to fall over things. On a flat surface. Yup.

    But I don’t feel quite right when I don’t exercise for a few days. My body needs it. And my mind even more.

  5. I agree with both the trusting and un-trusting people about running. It is like a rocky relationship. When you really put the work in, it can be awesome. I have been there …where I love running and look forward to my next. But the minute I get out of the habit, I hate it again.

  6. Did you know that I almost signed up for a 10k run? I almost did! I was telling my husband about it and guess what? dead stare. Pffft. Honestly, the only reason why I wanted to join is because it was a COLOR run. People throw paint atcha. Sounds cool! And it would make a great blog post. And I’d take photos of myself at the finish line and post them on facebook. Of course I never really thought about HOW I would get to the finish line considering I live a sedentary life. Big dreams. Thankfully, the registration was closed. The universe decided for me. Tsk.

  7. Pingback: speaking of letting things go, it may be time for a break-up | my year[s] of sweat!

Talk to me

