celebrate the wins, big and small, each step of the way

Since kicking off my 2013 365-Days-of-Sweat New Year’s Resolution, I’ve been taking it back to the basics. By this I mean, getting up close and personal with the Treadmill or Stairmaster until I’m dripping in sweat and quads have seized up, followed by approximately 15-30 mins of strength training (Upper body has been my focus).

And while I feel stronger every single day (well except for last Thursday, which fully sucked), it’s been hard to judge whether I’m improving and making progress.

51sy-LuH5zL__SL500_AA300_

Source: Amazon.com

Until 2 days ago, when I decided to revisit an old workout DVD I had in the drawer.

Jillian Michael. Need I say more??? It’s one of her older/original workout DVDs:  “Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism!” is the title. Great, sign me up, Jillian, I said when I first bought it!

I haven’t done this workout in a long time, probably a year or more. What I remember about it, clearly, is that I struggled right from the very first Circuit. The workout is essentially a 5 minute warm-up followed by 7 Circuits of 6 mins each, followed by a 5 minute cool-down.

On Tuesday (Day 15 of this journey), I worked out to this DVD, and guess what? I was able to keep up, step for step, punch for punch, kick for kick, with everything Jillian was doing.

Until circuit 4 of 7, that is. And even then, I simply made a couple of modifications — but I never stopped!

This is a WIN baby! This is progress. This means I’m stronger. I’m healthier. I’m that much closer to being the me I want to be.

So today’s post is all about embracing the win! Broadcast your wins, friends! Own your wins! Brag about your wins!

I am doing just that.

Get moving!

xoxo Nancy

IMG_3319

6 thoughts on “celebrate the wins, big and small, each step of the way

  1. Yaa! yaa! yaa! So amazing that you’ve done 15 consecutive days ( and counting)
    Congrats on your WIN 🙂 I agree it’s hard to stay motivated when you don’t see the progress – but it IS happening. I have a newer version of a Jillian video – haven’t gotten the guts to try it yet 🙂 Pauline, Linda and I hiked here in my town today – so great to catch-up. I’ll send you a photo!

  2. Go you! I’m sure by now you have many more victories like this under your (shrinking!) belt. As a runner, I can relate to the little triumphs. The first time I ran a mile without stopping, I felt like a total bad ass. This post reminds me that if I just keep moving, I will discover moments like this too.

    • Totally! One of my favourite memes I found on Pinterest goes something like this, “One of the greatest moments in life is realizing that two weeks ago your body couldn’t do what it just did.” Magic!

Talk to me

