my year[s] of sweat!

After wasting a lifetime chasing quick fixes, I finally put my big girl pants on and took accountability for my health. I exercised every single day of 2013. And it didn't kill me. So now I'm continuing my journey of well-being into 2014. Please join me!

on horses, good luck and new beginnings

http://www.chinesenewyearin.com/2014-year-of-the-horse/year-of-the-horse-2014/

Source: chinesenewyearin.com

Chinese New Year arrives this coming Friday, January 31st: the Year of the Horse.

I was born in 1966, making me a horse, so this is to be my lucky year!

At the risk of sounding incredibly entitled, I’ve gotta say…I’ve earned it!

The outgoing year, the Snake, was a tough one for me.

Yes, I accomplished something very cool in completing my “Year of Sweat” goal, but other than that, 2013 delivered a lot of bad luck.

A. Lot. Of. Bad. Luck.

So, good riddance Snake. Don’t the door hit you in the ass on your way out.

And although the Horse has not yet even made its entrance, it has already delivered a huge gift. Effective today, Monday January 27th, I am officially rejoining the working world! And I couldn’t be more excited.

I love you, Horse. Stick around a while, won’t ‘ya? :-)

Two years ago I knew I needed to take a whole bunch of time off. I needed to reconnect to everything that was important to me. Things I had been woefully neglecting. Chief among them, my health and my family.

The main problem with taking the time to fix everything that needed fixing is that I grew to realize that I didn’t want to go back to my previous life.

I was not prepared to go back to a work situation that would rob me of my health and my happiness, regardless the size of the paycheque, ever again.

I came to realize that everything comes at a price, and there are certain prices I’m no longer willing to pay.

And so the search for a job that would meet a giant list of “must-haves” proved to be a tall order. In fact it took me one year of serious searching to find the perfect fit. But I can assure you that I would have looked for another year still, rather than fall back into the comfortable/known evil again.

I need to keep this post short, because, well… I have a day job now, folks!

Know that I’m thrilled to be joining a quality group of people, in a company infused with entrepreneurial spirit, in an area where I feel I can deliver a lot of value by growing a new line of business.

And I can do all of this while maintaining the work-life balance I’ve come to prioritize so heavily.

I chose happiness. Or maybe happiness chose me. Either way, colour me happy!

“Whoever is happy will make others happy too.”  ~Anne Frank

Keep moving!

xoxo nancy

45 comments on “on horses, good luck and new beginnings

  1. Ice_Badger
    January 27, 2014

    That is really awesome news :-D

    the ability to maintain a sensible work-life balance is so important…and often not taken into account by employers!!
    :-D

    • nancytex2013
      January 27, 2014

      They are fantastic Sam, as evidenced by their flexibility in allowing a work-from-home set up, whether that home is Toronto or Vegas.

      I have a great opportunity here, one that allows me to continue to make time for, and focus on, health and physical fitness goals, as well as family and other personal priorities. I’m stoked!

      • Ice_Badger
        January 27, 2014

        It sounds ideal :-) I am envious :-)

        • nancytex2013
          January 27, 2014

          It’s been a long time coming. Too bad more employers aren’t so forward thinking.

        • Ice_Badger
          January 27, 2014

          Hehe some employers are decidedly not forward thinking…I am glad you found one if the good ones!

        • nancytex2013
          January 27, 2014

          Me too!

  2. Carrie Rubin
    January 27, 2014

    Congratulations on the new job! I know you’ll be a huge asset to the company and a great role-model for others. I know this because after following your blog, I see how committed you are to the projects you take on, all while maintaining an upbeat outlook and a great sense of humor. Best of luck to you!

    • nancytex2013
      January 27, 2014

      Thank you so much, Carrie. I am a throw-everything-I’ve-got-at-it kind of girl, and in the past that has bitten me in the ass, working for employers that will take and take and take.

      I’m super excited to be joining this group. They appear to be the real deal! (And they seem to dig my crazy sense of humour, too.) :-)

  3. Winding road
    January 27, 2014

    Yay!! Congratulations Nancy! Can you tell us what you’re doing? This is definitely going to be a great year for so many people, I can feel it! Enjoy your first day :)

    • nancytex2013
      January 27, 2014

      Thanks Kerry! I’ll share more as I get more settled, but for now, the basics: I’ll be Director of Product Management for a line of business they see as strategic and a high-growth area. I get to take something in it’s embryonic stage and build it out, which has always been a passion for me!

  4. Kate @ Did That Just Happen?
    January 27, 2014

    Congratulations! I’m very excited for you and can’t wait to hear more about it!

    • nancytex2013
      January 27, 2014

      Thank you kindly, Kate! I’m sure I’ll end up sharing some work stories at some point!

  5. joannesisco
    January 27, 2014

    Congratulations! That is really inspiring. I think you’ve described a situation that many people feel and you broke away from what wasn’t working. Best wishes – I hope the Horse continues to be very good for you :)

    • nancytex2013
      January 27, 2014

      Thanks Joanne. I’ve had enough bad luck for a long, long time. :-)
      Really looking forward to this new challenge, and being surrounded by smart, fun and supportive people. Great combination!

  6. Ingrid
    January 27, 2014

    I couldn’t agree more…..snake out, horse in. Congrats on your new venture and I look forward to hearing more about it in future posts.

    • nancytex2013
      January 27, 2014

      Thanks so much Ingrid! I’m excited to jump back into the working world, in a kinder, gentler environment. :-)

  7. Expat Eye
    January 27, 2014

    Congratulations! The company sounds great! They will be lucky you have you all up in their bidness ;)

    • nancytex2013
      January 27, 2014

      Thank you, lovely! If I’m gonna be up in anyone’s bidness, I’m glad it’s theirs. :-)

  8. NW Frame of Mind
    January 27, 2014

    I am so happy for you Nancy! You absolutely deserve a fantastic job and it sounds like this new company will be a perfect match to your commitment, drive and lifestyle. Congratulations!

    • nancytex2013
      January 27, 2014

      Thanks so much Lisa! I really appreciate your well wishes. It’s been a long road. I’m excited to enter this new chapter.

  9. Kathy @ SMART Living 365.com
    January 27, 2014

    Hey Nancy! Good for you and your starting a new year with such great opportunities! This new company is so fortunate to have you with your incredible energy, commitment, enthusiasm, humor–and a whole host of talents you have that we have yet to witness! As you say, life is much too short to work at a job that feels joyless and to work for people who don’t appreciate you. I look forward to hearing where and how this new “year of sweat” unfolds :-) ~Kathy

    • nancytex2013
      January 27, 2014

      Thank you for your kind words, Kathy. I feel pretty lucky to have them. They are very forward-thinking, with numerous remote/WFH employees. I’m only one day in so far, but feeling pretty great about the decision.

  10. Andra Watkins
    January 27, 2014

    I think this is just great. It pays to hold out for what we want (and go to interviews and be our bright, shiny selves.)

    • nancytex2013
      January 27, 2014

      Luckily I didn’t have to kiss too many frogs. One of the only good things to come with age is knowing what you definitely don’t want. That saved me a bunch of unnecessary interviews. :-)

      Hope your admin work is going well this week. Missed your posts the last couple of days.

  11. PinotNinja
    January 27, 2014

    Fantastic!! And I’m so glad you put a priority on what makes you happy above all else.

    I ditched a biggish paycheck for a job that paid a lot less but where I can serve my community and still have plenty of free time for my health and family. Despite occasionally whining about not being able to spa and travel as much as I would like, I have not regretted that decision for one single second.

    • nancytex2013
      January 28, 2014

      The truth is, I never expected (in a lifetime) to earn the obscene amounts of money I made with the previous company. And it was like crack, once I was pulling that in, I felt paralyzed to change the situation. Looking back now, I’m actually glad that my hand was forced through the re-org downsizing, because I’m not sure I ever would have had the fortitude to voluntarily walk away from stupid, stupid amounts of money like that.

      This new company is still paying what anyone would consider to be a great salary – just not the crazy amount that I previously made. The truth is, once you’re at a certain level, how much more do you really need, you know what I mean? After that it just starts to feel like golden handcuffs.

      I’m so glad to hear that you’re really happy with your decision. I hope to be able to say the same thing a year from now.

  12. Rachael @ mummyflyingsolo
    January 28, 2014

    Yayayayay! I’m so pleased for you Nancy! Congratulations! I had a full on jpb pre baby and don’t intend on going back to it or anything like it EVER. The life I live now is soooooo much better. Btw..I love that song :)

    • nancytex2013
      January 28, 2014

      I feel really blessed, Rachael. I’ve found a strategic role, as part of the leadership team, where I can grow a new line of business, and make a great salary – all while working from home (whether than home is Toronto or Vegas). What more could I ask for? I almost want to pinch myself. Some things are worth waiting for, and I’m so glad I did. xoxo

      • Rachael @ mummyflyingsolo
        January 28, 2014

        Wowowowow! Talk about flexibility! That’s amazing. Do you get to skype in for meetings and the like? The internet has added so much flexibility to the workplace for those orgs willing to use it to its potential!

        • nancytex2013
          January 28, 2014

          We don’t use Skype, but the technology is similar. I had a lot of flex in WFH previously (when I was with the big company) but when you’re working 70 hrs a week, it doesn’t really matter if it’s in your pajamas. Your family still doesn’t see you. :-) These guys really are terrific though.

        • Rachael @ mummyflyingsolo
          January 28, 2014

          Yeah 70 hours per week sucks balls no matter where you are. I’m so pleased you have found something amazing and not so full on!!

        • nancytex2013
          January 28, 2014

          Me too! Thanks lovely! xoxo

  13. whichwaynow101
    January 28, 2014

    Congratulations! You deserve it. Are you back in Canada?

    • nancytex2013
      January 28, 2014

      Thanks Carol! No, I’m in Vegas through the end of February. They are allowing me total flexibility in a WFH situation – regardless if that home is Toronto or Vegas. They are wonderful!

  14. Tiny
    January 29, 2014

    Great news! Congratulations! I jumped off my stressful career just over 3 years ago and started my own business. On my terms. Balanced. I couldn’t be happier. You will too :)

    • nancytex2013
      January 29, 2014

      That is so great Tiny! I’m hoping this is the exact right fit for me at this stage. Day 3…so far, so good. ;-)

  15. Homemade Experience
    January 29, 2014

    I’m a horse too and had no idea it was my year! Glad I saw this. Thank the Jade Emperor!

    • nancytex2013
      January 29, 2014

      Sweet! Enjoy your year! Remember to get all your cleaning done today and tomorrow! No housework Friday. You’re not even supposed to wash your hair Friday, according to my sources! Go 2014! Go Horse!

  16. Pingback: have I mentioned how much I hate snakes? | my year[s] of sweat!

  17. palden lepcha
    February 1, 2014

    I was born in 1978 earth horse,so this year is to be my lucky year or not.

    • nancytex2013
      February 1, 2014

      I am no expert in the Chinese zodiac, but I assume if it’s your year it should be a good one.

Talk to me

If you enter your email address in that little box below, and click the follow button, you will get a short email notifying you each time a shiny, new post is available. Oh, and I promise that I won't share your email address with anyone ever. Like never ever.
xoxo nancy

Join 717 other followers

I’m all a’twitter

Copywrite

© Nancy Teixeira and My Year of Sweat, 2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Nancy Teixeira and My Year of Sweat with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 717 other followers

